Status
Not open for further replies.

shaggy

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=276063
i was having a discussion with someone of the merits of Hex Net Vs my Hex Can USB and he says that the Hex Net is superior because it will do the newer 2016/7 cars that my USB cable wont.

my questions are

1/ why when the plugs have the same pins and same software is there not enough room (or bytes) left for this on my cable but there is on the wireless system (that you can use via cable)?

2/ is it not software that governs how & what is read so could an update be given for the USB to be able to read the newer cars that they can't now?

3/ i am toying with the idea of a new UK spec Superb early in next year and would like to adjust settings etc but have been informed that the newer Superbs need the newer Hex Can to communicate ?

4/ would i lose some of the older cars i can scan with the USB cable i have now if i changed to the Hex Net?

i am not very good with electronics so don't understand how these things work regarding my cable and the newer Hex Net

thanks in advance

Sebastian

Ross-Tech Employee
Staff member
Ross-Tech Employee
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
HN0-nnnnnn
1) Yes, that's pretty much what it boils down to. We weren't able to add all the necessary functions into the old hardware to make it fully compatible.
2) While VCDS does a lot/most of the details, the interface does a lot of low-level communication. Meaning both need to work together in order for things to play out.
3) You may get along fine with a HEX+CAN on the MQB Superb but we cannot guarantee it due to some options/modules on the MQB models which will require the newer interface generation.
4) You wouldn't loose anything, the only thing currently not implemented is support VW Crafter (2E) which is high on our todo list - which means it will be added eventually.

Uwe

Benevolent Dictator
Administrator
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
HC100001