Status
Not open for further replies.

jweirnik

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=230390
I am a technician at a VW dealer. I use my Hex net on our wifi network. The wifi network they have setup for us in the shop is setup for DHCP. The IP address changes every night (the last digit only) Every morning when I come in I hardwire my hex net to my laptop and go into the configure utility. From there I go to the overview tab and observe what the IP address is at the time. I then take that and enter it into program options screen in VCDS. After this the hex net works wirelessly throughout the day. I was wondering if there is some settings that would allow me to not have to manually set it up every day. If I have the IP parameters on autodetect on the program options screen it never connects to the hex net. I only wonder if this is possible because our vas6154 wifi dongle connects to the wifi network without having to manually input the IP address daily.

PetrolDave

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=1423
I have setup IP address reservation in the DHCP setup of my router, this ensures that my HEX-NET always has the same IP address.

Shaun

Ross-Tech Employee
Reaction score
You might want to try running the VCDS installer again and make sure the "Open windows firewall for HEX-NET" option is checked, and then see if auto-detect works after.

jweirnik

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=230390
You might want to try running the VCDS installer again and make sure the "Open windows firewall for HEX-NET" option is checked, and then see if auto-detect works after.

When you say running the VCDS installer again do you mean reinstall vcds on my computer? Or resetting up the Hex-net? Thank you!

Shaun

Ross-Tech Employee
Reaction score
Yes reinstall VCDS and check the box in the installer, this will automatically set up some firewall settings for you.

jweirnik

Verified VCDS User