Gearbox issues and worn out clutch and other issues ... Need advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

newnorth

Reaction score
Hi i am new on this forum...sorry for the lengthy post. kinda lost right now, Hopefully some of you guys can advise me on what to do. This few days has been kind of a nightmare. It is my first time buying a car and it is kind of tragic. So 5 days ago I bought a car from a broker and the transaction and transfer was made from the direct owner of the car to me , so all the repairs isnt covered under the lemon law in my country (Singapore) . An 2009 AUDI A5 2.0. Paid the full amount.. and got the car. The car worked fine for 2 days , however on the 3rd day when i was driving on the expressway , the car had loud vibrations and it jerks from time to time when i step on the accelerator. The jerking got worse and eventually the car came to a halt.. i restarted the engine. The car came back to life.. I could drive the car at a slow speed as i was hoping to stop a place with lesser traffic , the problem got worst and the car eventually stopped and i couldn't start it again and all the electronics seemed to not work. During all this there was a malfunction message stating "Gearbox malfunction (No reverse) but you may continue to drive." Got the car tow-ed... to VAG singapore .. along the way the guy towing my car dropped my A5 and the front bumper came loose.. (such luck) they agreed to pay for the damage. They did a scan and gave me a few options of repair.. to my horror it'll set me back at least $9000 USD .. thats a lot of money. Is there any other solutions for fixing the gear box without replacing the mechatronic? ..Hopefully some of you guys can help me out here.. Not a great week for me. I'll appreciate any advice or help i can get. i have also attached images of the VAG malfunction scans for my car.

This was his solution for my car.
" A) Gearbox fault replacement parts recommendation :-
- Found fault on Mechatronic and Input shaft