Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 94

Thread: VIN-Limited Interface FAQ

  1. #71
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,591
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Paulo Afonso bate fino View Post
    bom dia !
    eu consigo fazer a troca de uma ECU do motor de um FOX 2015 ref bosch ME 17.5.24 com meu VCDS HEX-V2 ?
    "Exchange of a motor ECU"?

    Unlikely. I expect this has to be done on-line to VW's servers.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  2. #72
    New User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    VE
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jetta ,97 View Post
    I guess you need to read it very careful all it again:

    Can I upgrade a 3-VIN license to 10 VINs, or a 10-VIN license to Unlimited?
    Yes, absolutely. There's a provision for that in our store.
    GOOD DAY, THAT GOOD NOTICE THAT IN HIS STORES HAVE THE PROVISION TO DO THAT UPDATE BECAUSE I ALSO NEED IT, SOON VISIARE GREETINGS.

  3. #73
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,345
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by ADRIANA DELGADO View Post
    GOOD DAY, THAT GOOD NOTICE THAT IN HIS STORES HAVE THE PROVISION TO DO THAT UPDATE BECAUSE I ALSO NEED IT, SOON VISIARE GREETINGS.
    I see this is your first post, welcome!

    Note: Posting in ALL CAPS is seen as shouting so please make sure your CAPS LOCK is turned off

  4. #74
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Yes. A HEX-V2 is functionally the same as a HEX-NET that is being used with VCDS via USB. Of course it lacks WiFi capabilities and VCDS-Mobile. There is also one other exception: The HEX-V2 does not support Lamborghini.

    -Uwe-
    Hi Uwe
    Can you please explain this ? If the functionality from the HEX-V2 is identical with HEX-NET (beside VCDS-Mobile & WLAN) why is the HEX-V2 not able to communicate with Lamborghini ?

  5. #75
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Near Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Onku View Post
    Hi Uwe
    Can you please explain this ? If the functionality from the HEX-V2 is identical with HEX-NET (beside VCDS-Mobile & WLAN) why is the HEX-V2 not able to communicate with Lamborghini ?
    Uwe did not say the HEX-V2 is "Identical" to the HEX-NET. He said it was "functionally the same" with the exceptions of lacking WiFi, VCDS-Mobile and Lambo support. Business reasons and product positioning are the reasons we do not support these with the HEX-V2.

    Best,

    Bruce
    Director of Operations, Marketing and Sales

  6. Likes Onku, Eric, Uwe liked this post
  7. #76
    Administrator Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Sector 7G
    Posts
    2,504
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here's some screenshots of the VIN dialog when using the Clear All DTC's function, for future posterity:










  8. Likes Uwe, Eric liked this post
  9. #77
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy View Post
    Here's some screenshots of the VIN dialog when using the Clear All DTC's function, for future posterity:









    This seems to conflict with this on the first post...

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    What functions are not VIN-Restricted?
    A VIN-Limited interface can do Auto-Scans, Clear DTCs, and look at Measuring Values on an unlimited number of cars. I think this is important because I wouldn't want to keep an enthusiast from doing basic diagnostics on his friends' cars, or to use his VCDS when evaluating used cars he's contemplating buying. You wouldn't buy a used car without doing an Auto-Scan on it first, right? In addition, you can make channel maps on an unlimited number of cars because sending us those maps helps us improve the product.
    Which is why I was confused when I went to clear the DTCs on my wifes car and had to register its VIN on my 3 VIN cable.

  10. #78
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    1,981
    Post Thanks / Like
    I believe this applies to "Clear All" command.

    Clearing each individual module doesn't lock vin?
    I am a VW Freak - Le WV Freaks OR Come visit me at my work with ODIS concerns - FORSS ODIS GeKo/FaZit access for VW/AUDI/Škoda
    The world is my oyster...

  11. Likes Mike@Gendan liked this post
  12. #79
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,591
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Even "Clear All" doesn't actually require you to register a VIN. You can [Cancel] and it will still work.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  13. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  14. #80
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    126
    Post Thanks / Like
    If its actually NOT required to register a VIN, why does the software ask to do so? One moment of inattention and you have lost 1 VIN... Luckily I have bought an unlimited VIN interface
    Golf VII, 1.6TDI BM Ed. 40 - 110 PK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •