Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New VCDS Hex-Net User

Verified VCDS User
    Post Thanks / Like

New VCDS Hex-Net User

I am totally new to this type of device and have some questions. I figure I would try here before I call support.

Prerequisites:
    I have been able to connect to the Hex-Net and clear a few codes after doing a tune-up on my car
    I have a 2009 Audi A6 3.0T

Questions:
    Which manual should I use for the Hex-Net?
    How can I release my EPB so I can change the rear rotors and pads? The video for doing this is for the VCDS and not the Hex-Net and the fields are different.
    NOTE: This was costly for me to do yesterday because I had rented a garage heater to do this and now I have to pay for another days rental and I lost precious hours trying to figure it out.
    How can I DL the missing codes it says I will be prompted to do once the autoscan is complete?
    How can i clear the "brake" and "Service Due" on my dash?
    Do I plug this into my car when the car if off and then turn the key to the on position once this is done? I have done this so far with success.
    Do I have to have the car running when I perform certain diagnostics?

I look forward to hearing back from anyone that can assist.

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by brknhalo View Post
    There is no manual per se. As a Beta product, the documentation currently consists of the FAQs and some videos. Also, the HEX-NET is an interface, a piece of hardware. I suppose you are asking about a manual for VCDS-Mobile? Use of VCDS-Mobile is very similar to VCDS.

How can I release my EPB so I can change the rear rotors and pads? The video for doing this is for the VCDS and not the Hex-Net and the fields are different.[/quote]
    Have you been to our Wiki page for the EPB in your car? The only really significant difference should be a couple of extra button presses, for example:

[Select]
    [53 - Parking Brake]
    [Functions]