Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: "Too many communiction errors to continue!"

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    "Too many communiction errors to continue!"

    Hi everyone, just received my lead, and tried a few scans, but getting [too many communication errors to continue!] on instrument cluster and immobiliser, other elements communicating fine.
    Here's the autoscan
    Code:
    Wednesday,18,June,2014,20:50:04:24290
    VCDS -- Windows Based VAG/VAS Emulator
    VCDS Version: 12.12.2.0
    Data version: 20140212
    
    
    VIN: WAUZZZ8Dxxxxxxxxx
    
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    
    Chassis Type: 8D - Audi A4/S4/RS4 B5 (1995 > 2001)
    Scan: 01 02 03 08 15 16 17 25 35 37 45 55 56 57 67 75 76 77
     
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 01: Engine        Labels: Redir Fail!
       Part No: 038 906 018 S
       Component:  1,9l R4 EDC   00SG  1630  
       Coding: 00002
       Shop #: WSC 00355  
       VCID: 2643E2BFC2B9EF2EC1B-4B00
    
    1 Fault Found:
    17978 - Engine Start Blocked by Immobilizer 
                P1570 - 35-00 - 
    Readiness: N/A
    
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 03: ABS Brakes        Labels: 8E0-614-111-ABS.lbl
       Part No: 8E0 614 111 AB
       Component: ABS 5.3 FRONT       D00  
       Shop #: BB 24548  
       VCID: 5EB38A5FDA6977EEC9B-5140
    
    1 Fault Found:
    00283 - ABS Wheel Speed Sensor; Front Left  (G47) 
                30-00 - Open or Short to Plus
    
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 08: Auto HVAC        Labels: 8L0-820-043-2D.lbl
       Part No: 8L0 820 043 D
       Component: A4 KLIMAVOLLAUTOMAT_D75  
       Coding: 04144
       Shop #: WSC 06325  
       VCID: 2959E983D3A7C056EC9-25A0
    
    5 Faults Found:
    00779 - Outside Air Temp Sensor (G17) 
                30-00 - Open or Short to Plus
    00603 - Footwell/defroster Flap Positioning Motor (V85) 
                41-10 - Blocked or No Voltage - Intermittent
    01273 - Fresh Air Blower (V2) 
                17-10 - Control Difference - Intermittent
    01206 - Signal for Duration of Ignition Off Time 
                27-10 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    01582 - Signal for Coolant Temperature 
                30-10 - Open or Short to Plus - Intermittent
    
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 15: Airbags        Labels: 8D0-959-655-AI7.lbl
       Part No: 8D0 959 655 L
       Component: Airbag 7 Audi      0503  
       Coding: 00106
       Shop #: WSC 06325  
       VCID: 3F8D57DB3D235EE6A2D-5140
    
    2 Faults Found:
    01218 - Side Airbag Igniter; Passenger Side (N200) 
                32-10 - Resistance Too High - Intermittent
    01217 - Side Airbag Igniter; Driver Side (N199) 
                32-10 - Resistance Too High - Intermittent
    
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 17: Instruments        Labels: 
       VCID: 55A19573AC5FB4B6981-5140
       Note: Excessive Comm Errors
    
    
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 25: Immobilizer        Labels: 
       VCID: 55A19573AC5FB4B6981-5140
       Note: Excessive Comm Errors
    
    
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 35: Centr. Locks        Labels: 8D0-862-257.lbl
       Part No: 8L0 862 257 G
       Component: ZV-Pumpe, DWA, Funk D08  
       Coding: 13130
       Shop #: WSC 06325  
       VCID: 397939C3230770D69C9-4ECE
    
    1 Fault Found:
    01372 - Alarm triggered by Door Contact Switch; Rear Passenger Side 
                35-00 - -
    
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 45: Inter. Monitor        Labels: 4B0-951-173.lbl
       Part No: 4B0 951 173 
       Component: Innenraumueberw.    D03  
       Coding: 00102
       Shop #: WSC 06325  
       VCID: E0CF34A7601DC11E7B7-4B4C
    
    No fault code found.
    
    End   ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    Any ideas of how to get them clearly communicating with each other?

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,420
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Most often that's due to something else running on your PC preventing VCDS from answering modules in the real-time manner that they insist upon. What kind of PC are you running this on (CPU, RAM, version of Windows)? What else is running on it (particularly nannyware like virus scanners and such)? Have you looked at our FAQ Entry 2.5?

    Of course it could also be a dodgy instrument cluster (the Immo being a virtual controller that's part of the cluster).

    -Uwe-

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Uwe,
    yes, I have done most of what's on faq2.5, running MSCONFIG shows only the cornucopia of microsoft services running.
    In answer to your question [Dell, intel P9400@2.4GHz, 2gRam, 32bitWin7] + no virus scanner running. Fresh windows install less than a year ago, and all os updates applied since.

    If you like to recommend which microsoft services i should turn off.

    Cluster key symbol behaves normally (disappears after approx 1second) and can be made to flash if reader coil is disconnected and rest of cluster behaves normally otherwise.

    When selecting 'instruments' can hear small relay methodically clicking in cluster. (selecting 'immobiliser' identical behaviour)

    Start
    (short pause)
    energised (approx 2second pause) relaxed (longer pause)
    energised (approx 2second pause) relaxed (longer pause)
    energised (approx 2second pause) relaxed (longer pause)
    energised (approx 2second pause) relaxed (longer pause)
    energised (approx 2second pause) relaxed
    End

    is there a way to debug? still saying "too many communication errors to continue!"

  4. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,420
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    OK, there's nothing obvious wrong with your computer or how it's configured. That doesn't mean it's not the source of the problem, so if you can beg, borrow, or steal another one to try temporarily, that would help trouble-shoot by process of elimination. I don't recall any instance where any MS service had to be turned off to allow VCDS to function properly.

    This being an 8D car, it's in its teens in terms of age. Have you pulled the cluster and inspected the connectors for corrosion? It sure couldn't hurt to do that, and it would doing so would also reboot the cluster, which normally always has some unswitched power going to it.

    -Uwe-

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Uwe, thanks for suggestions, and thanks for persisting with this one.
    I have tried another pc, but unfortunately the same problem.
    Then i pulled the cluster.
    The cluster connections look okay, a little oxidation evident on very close inspection, but nothing excessive. Even so, i spent a good while cleaning both the male and female sides. Alas, after all that same problem.

  6. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,420
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Then I think by process of elimination, the cluster being flaky is now the most likely explanation.

    -Uwe-

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    sorry to drag this up again, but having difficulty letting this car go.
    too many communication errors implies some communication, but not enough.
    i have been very persistent trying at different environment conditions multiple times.
    can i try changing the 'Port and Protocol Options' on the about screen to up the chances?
    is the security shutting down effective communication?
    Is flaky a euphemism ?

  8. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,420
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by gottacar View Post
    sorry to drag this up again, but having difficulty letting this car go.
    too many communication errors implies some communication, but not enough.
    i have been very persistent trying at different environment conditions multiple times.
    Just for laughs, have you tried a different PC?

    Quote Originally Posted by gottacar View Post
    can i try changing the 'Port and Protocol Options' on the about screen to up the chances?
    is the security shutting down effective communication?
    Assuming those settings are all at their default values, I can't think of anything there that's likely to help.

    Quote Originally Posted by gottacar View Post
    is the security shutting down effective communication?
    I don't think so.

    Quote Originally Posted by gottacar View Post
    Is flaky a euphemism ?
    Since you're from the UK, "flaky" is American for "dodgy". Since it's an 8D chassis, this car is at least 13-14 years old. Stuff sometimes goes bad.

    -Uwe-

  9. #9
    Ross-Tech Employee Dana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    3,820
    Post Thanks / Like
    The Instrument cluster could be faulty but .... the factory 56-Radio isn't communicating. If this is a 1997/1998 (or newer) I believe you should have a diagnostic capable radio in that vehicle on the same K-line. Please let us know what year this is (the 10th digit of the VIN is edited so I can't tell) and if it has a factory or aftermarket radio installed.

  10. Likes Uwe liked this post
  11. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Dana, 10th digit is 'X', arrived in UK near the end of January 1999.
    'Concert' radio factory fitted.
    Autoscan will prompt radio to display 'diag' at the appropriate stage of scanning. CD changer in the trunk/boot area has previously physically been removed and coding reflects this absence, module is reporting no fault codes. I have no idea why 56-radio is not in the autoscan, but have been reading about unpredictability of all installed module appearing in the 'final report'

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •