Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: Estimated Data Usage?

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User romad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Oroville, California People's Republic
    Posts
    169
    Post Thanks / Like

    Estimated Data Usage?

    Anyone have an estimation of what might be the amount of data used for updates, VCDS Cloud connections, etc? I'm trying to figure out if I should get a dataplan for my iPad so I can use it to connect away from home and have full capability. My iPhone plan doesn't allow it to be used as a hotspot - I'd have to change to a higher priced with reduced data plan if I want to have hotspot capability.

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    There's no way to predict that. It depends on how much and how often you use the cloud-based parts of it. But I really don't think it will be much. I would start with the minimum plan you can get and see how it goes.

    -Uwe-

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User romad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Oroville, California People's Republic
    Posts
    169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well, the smallest is 250 MB, then it jumps to 3 GB.

  4. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well, if you're really only going to use that data for VCDS-Mobile, I expect 250 MB would be more than enough.

    -Uwe-

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by romad View Post
    Anyone have an estimation of what might be the amount of data used for updates, VCDS Cloud connections, etc? I'm trying to figure out if I should get a dataplan for my iPad so I can use it to connect away from home and have full capability. My iPhone plan doesn't allow it to be used as a hotspot - I'd have to change to a higher priced with reduced data plan if I want to have hotspot capability.
    You might be best off putting the iPad on a family data plan (that's what I did with my iPad) and vs having 2 iPhones w/separate data plans +1 iPad I know have all three on one data plan (where the data is SHARED between all three devices) for the exact same as I used to pay for a 4GB + smallest plan for my wife for all three, this is on AT&T though looks like you're no on A&T from the plan sizes you're talking about.

    P.S. I'm the one who PM'd u on the other forum that they're in stock now

    Quote Originally Posted by romad View Post
    I'm trying to figure out if I should get a dataplan for my iPad so I can use it to connect away from home and have full capability. My iPhone plan doesn't allow it to be used as a hotspot - I'd have to change to a higher priced with reduced data plan if I want to have hotspot capability.
    FYI though you would not be able to do what you are thinking of doing. I am in the exact same hw setup. iPhone, iPad (mini) & Hex-Net.

    So in order for you to have full capability (well as full as it gets with VCDS mobile for now) you will need to have one of the devices to work as a hotspot, because the Hex-Net has to be able to connect to the internet!

    When you are connecting the Hex-Net to your iPhone or iPad via (AP mode) wifi that device will not be providing internet to the Hex-Net it is merely using wifi as a way to connect the two. So in reality to do what you are considering to do you would need this:

    1. Hex-Net (duh!)
    2. Something to provide internet access to the Hex-Net (your iPhone or iPad as hotspot) and in reality the device in nr 3 needs to be connected too!
    3. AND last but not least, a second device that now can access the Hex-Net over the network your mobile hotspot device is creating, this because the device that is creating the hotspot will not be able to connect to the same network it is creating so when/if you go to the browser on your iPhone and it is creating the hotspot it will use the LTE network to access the browser which will not see the Hex-Net

    Hope that all made some sense? This is all about iPhones and iPads not sure how it works in Android world?
    Last edited by BaraJag; 02-28-2014 at 08:53 PM.

  6. #6
    Verified VCDS User romad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Oroville, California People's Republic
    Posts
    169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yeah, I stopped by the AT&T Store in Chico today and found that for me to do what I wanted would require a more expensive plan with fewer features. I have my original plan that I started with in 2007 with my first iPhone. I have 1 iPhone and 1 iPad; I changed phones going to a 3GS in 2009 to a 5 in 2012 and I went from an original iPad in 2010 to an iPad 3 in 2012. That is the total number of devices I have (my wife has a Jitterbug). So I'll try to use Infrastructure Mode and my WiFi network at home and also try it near free WiFi hotspots if I can get a good signal; otherwise it'll have to be AP. I'm hoping eventually R-T will figure out a way to load the full VCDS into a Hex-Net so that an Internet connection won't be required for full use.

    On the plus side, the AT&T rep I talked with has a 2012 TDI and another one also has a TDI, so I was able to tout TDIClub and Ross-Tech to them!

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by romad View Post
    Yeah, I stopped by the AT&T Store in Chico today and found that for me to do what I wanted would require a more expensive plan with fewer features. I have my original plan that I started with in 2007 with my first iPhone.
    I was in the situation a few years back where I abandoned my "unlimited" (that really wasn't unlimited anyhow, they never are if you read the fine print), because
    I went over my data usage for the months prior to making the change and saw I never had even been close to the "new" limit so yeah...



    Quote Originally Posted by romad View Post
    I have 1 iPhone and 1 iPad; I changed phones going to a 3GS in 2009 to a 5 in 2012 and I went from an original iPad in 2010 to an iPad 3 in 2012. That is the total number of devices I have (my wife has a Jitterbug).
    Well you can still use data share between the two devices
    http://www.att.com/shop/wireless/dat...id=AwLBoUsuXn6

    Quote Originally Posted by romad View Post
    So I'll try to use Infrastructure Mode and my WiFi network at home and also try it near free WiFi hotspots if I can get a good signal; otherwise it'll have to be AP. I'm hoping eventually R-T will figure out a way to load the full VCDS into a Hex-Net so that an Internet connection won't be required for full use.
    Yeah me too until then I just ordered one of these:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Venue-8...item4ad031bb64

    Since I have ETKA and full ELSAWIN on my virtual XP machine anyway, it'll be nice to not have to use LOGMEIN from my iPhone/iPad (which works very nicely actually over LTE) nor haul around my $2000 laptop into the cars all the time, I think it's worth the $245 to have an 8" device I can haul with me, at least no wires for VCDS hexnet

    Quote Originally Posted by romad View Post
    On the plus side, the AT&T rep I talked with has a 2012 TDI and another one also has a TDI, so I was able to tout TDIClub and Ross-Tech to them!
    Funny small world, I am a TDI & Eurovan nut myself combining the too also

  8. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by romad View Post
    So I'll try to use Infrastructure Mode and my WiFi network at home and also try it near free WiFi hotspots if I can get a good signal; otherwise it'll have to be AP.
    Why not just use the phone as a hotspot? Keep the HEX-NET in infrastructure mode, and tether both the HEX-NET and iPad to the phone as their source of connectivity? That way you don't need a data plan for the iPad. My wife uses her tablet in the car all the time when we're on the road. We just use my phone as a hotspot.

    Oh, wait, I missed it. You'd have to change that to a different plan. My guess doing so would still be cheaper than two separate plans, or adding a device to an existing plan.

    -Uwe-
    Last edited by Uwe; 03-01-2014 at 08:33 AM.

  9. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    74
    Post Thanks / Like
    The problem with AT&T is that you must give up your grandfathered Unlimited Data Plan to go to a plan that will let you set your phone up as a hotspot. I'm not willing to do that.

  10. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by JimG View Post
    The problem with AT&T is that you must give up your grandfathered Unlimited Data
    I did that and ended up regretting it, and my bill was astronomical.
    Switched to T-Mo pre-paid and now get everything including hotspot for $70.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •