Page 15 of 16 FirstFirst ... 513141516 LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 158

Thread: Testbench setup?

  1. #141
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,989
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by DV52 View Post
    OK - more questions to the knowledgeable folk here to get the BCM on my test-bench to stop lying about the doors being locked (post #130 above);

    First question
    (and it's a particularly fundamental question - the answer to which I hope does not impinge on any VCDS commercial secrets): Other than operating as the "Fat-controller", what other must-have data does the CAN Gateway provide for successful communications with the VCDS cable. More specifically, I'm trying to understand why when I plug-in the CAN high/low lines from the OBD port on my test-bench directly into the CAN pins on any other control module (with volts connected, of course) - I can't get my HEX-NET to talk. I'm thinking that perhaps the Hex19 module adds/subtracts data from the message header on the other modules - but I'm guessing.

    Second Question: Assuming that direct CAN (wiring) connection is possible, what software switch settings should I use on VCDS to maximize the chance of success?

    As usual, any response is welcomed - and thanks muchly in advance,

    Don
    Some modules will communicate directly, without a gateway in between VCDS and the module, and others won't (or may be somewhat flaky). I do not think the Gateway adds or subtracts stuff from/to the message headers, but it can do stuff like bit-rate shifting (not all the modules and CAN buses in the car use the 500 kbps expected on the diagnostic CAN bus!) and buffering / message timing adjustments. The normal sequence VCDS uses is to ask the gateway to open a channel to a particular module. The Gateway then responds with something to the effect of, "OK, I'll do that for you, and you should use the following timing parameters". If that negotiation with the Gateway fails, VCDS will still try the module directly (necessary due to the very few models such as the B7 A4 that have some modules that only talk via CAN but have no proper gateway), however this approach may result in less than optimal timing being used, and may not work at all if the module is using a bit rate other than 500 kbps.

    There's also an added consideration: Some modules won't power up (come out of sleep mode and accept a diagnostic session) without other modules being present and telling them, "hey, wake up and smell the coffee" first.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  2. Likes _Val, DV52 liked this post
  3. #142
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Great thread... Iīm wondering (question for Jack and it also can be partly an answer for DV52) what about the terminating resistor(s) and the connection of them? Which resistors are the best and has the positioning of them in a circuit something to do/influence on topology of the units(which themselves had theirs own)? The break-out box(-es) has(-ve) also itīs own?
    And about full BCM wake-up/coding change,etc. - when I see the faults in 17, isnīt the problem with coding change,etc. related with immo or CP? Or check the pinout again... (some other 31 or 30,...?)

  4. #143
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,593
    Post Thanks / Like
    ^^^ Fanda: many thanks for taking an interest in my problem and for making the time to put your thoughts in writing- very much appreciated!

    As to your question about terminating resistors, great minds think alike (let's not contemplate the other side of this saying). I asked this very same question way back on post #1 and based on the sage response of a very bright colleague, I proceeded without resistors with absolutely no adverse effects to date. I'm not sure if some (all?) modules on my test bench have internal impedance matching circuits on their CAN high/low pins - but I haven't observed any comms problems thus far from the absence of external resistors.

    As to your other observation about IMMO/CP errors, yes these have been evident since day 1 - but again (for CP errors at least) the fact of their existence hasn't (and as I understand from Sebastian, doesn't) stop access to the modules that are captured within the CP "constellation"
    Niether has (or, again from Sebastian's advice - does) CP errors stop my test bench from changing code-string values, or adaptation channel settings in the affected modules.

    Don
    VW Golf MkVII (MY13) - A3 8V hatch (MY17)

  5. #144
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Acton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like



    Is the above setup close?? I must be missing something
    Thanks Brett

  6. #145
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,989
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by 1975 Kombi View Post
    Is the above setup close?? I must be missing something
    Yes, you are. What's supposed to go to pins 6 and 14 on the diagnostic connector is the (dedicated) diagnostic CAN from the Gateway, not the Infotainment CAN itself.

    Data should flow through the Gateway, not past it.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #146
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Acton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like


    Any better? lol I still must be missing something.
    Last edited by 1975 Kombi; 06-10-2019 at 05:33 PM.
    Thanks Brett

  8. #147
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,593
    Post Thanks / Like
    ^^ Brett: Your wiring diagram is progressing well (see my latest PM for further suggestions), but I thought that I would mention here publicly (because it might help others thinking about doing the same) that a vital part of my test bench was the wake-up signal that trigger module turn-on (from a software perspective, rather than the voltage turn-on signal that happens via the T15 point on your WD).

    In the first incarnation of my test bench - I underestimated this aspect of the design. It's one of those logical things that all makes sense in hindsight, but it can be overlooked at the early stages of the build. Without intending any offense (and I apologize if you have already considered this of the design, but the wake-up facility ostensibly involves a simulation of the dynamic for the ignition key switch.

    I'm not familiar with the RNS510, but I assume that stuff doesn't happen until the key is turned in the lock. Yes, some of the signal to wake-up the infotainment module may come from the resulting T15 voltage which happens at ignition switch-on/off, but if the later model Golf is any indication, there is also dialogue that happens over the CAN bus at ignition switch-on (in the case of the 1K chassis, I suspect it's the Comfort CAN bus).

    On my Test Bench, the CAN dialogue to wake-up various modules necessitated installation of the steering wheel module @ address hex16 - because the ignition key barrel is directly connected to this module. I think from memory that RT folk found that they had to also simulate the ignition key on their test-bench - but I can't remember if they did this via the hex16 module.

    Anyhow, might be worth looking at the WD to see if the same applies for the particular vehicle that has the RNS510

    Don

    PS: the other thing that you might want to consider is the K line connection. From my scant understanding of the 1K chassis, I think that it uses this wire and it might not apply for just the 2 x modules that you are considering. But if you intend to increase the module count, it could be a confounded- perhaps
    VW Golf MkVII (MY13) - A3 8V hatch (MY17)

  9. Likes Uwe, mattylondon liked this post
  10. #148
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,989
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by 1975 Kombi View Post
    Any better? lol I still must be missing something.
    Yes. Now let's cover basics:

    Can you access the Gateway itself with VCDS?

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  11. #149
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Acton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Yes. Now let's cover basics:

    Can you access the Gateway itself with VCDS?

    -Uwe-
    Nope. It tries but does not connect to the gateway.
    Thanks Brett

  12. #150
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,989
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by 1975 Kombi View Post
    Nope. It tries but does not connect to the gateway.
    Well, getting it to talk to the Gateway is step number 1. But I don't see anything obviously wrong with the wiring you now have between the diagnostic socket and the Gateway.

    Is it safe to assume you have the switch for Terminal 15 closed?

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •