Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Which gateway to choose

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Which gateway to choose

    When auto scanning my 16 golf r i get the message unable to find gateway, which gateway should i choose manually I don't see golf mk7 ,other golf? special golf?

    Thx

  2. #2
    Administrator Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Sector 7G
    Posts
    2,542
    Post Thanks / Like
    Got the ignition turned on? That message is not normal.

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    yes ignition is on

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User Zenerdiode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    968
    Post Thanks / Like
    Are you able to select an individual module? Such as ECU-01 or even the CAN Gateway-19?

  5. Likes Uwe, Dana liked this post
  6. #5
    Ross-Tech Employee Dana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    3,719
    Post Thanks / Like
    I see you noted a 2012 JSW in addition to the 2016 R. If the R won't communicate at all please try the JSW since that vehicle is also CAN.

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    jetta works i did some coding already trying to get R to work with VCDS uploading ASAM updates; hopefully that will do it

    thx

  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    BTW what is ASAM ?

  9. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    No luck on R

    In self test unable to ping network
    once i get to cloud functions i get server error or i get to coding (7) but there are no disruptions for codes like i see in jetta

    thx

  10. #9
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    108
    Post Thanks / Like
    What happens when you click [select] [Can Gateway] ? Does it display information?

  11. Likes Dana liked this post
  12. #10
    Verified VCDS User Zenerdiode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    968
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by bonoman68 View Post
    BTW what is ASAM ?
    See how ASAM is highlighted in green? Hover your mouse cursor over it and the description appears as a ToolTip.

  13. Likes Dana, Uwe liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •