Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: interface

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    interface

    Each time I unplug the wireless interface, or close the program, I have to re-test the interface and save it. The VCDS will not remember it, is there a setting to correct this.
    Thanks, Chuck

  2. #2
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,409
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by German Motors View Post
    Each time I unplug the wireless interface, or close the program, I have to re-test the interface and save it. The VCDS will not remember it, is there a setting to correct this.
    Sounds like it may have trouble writing to its configuration file.

    First things first: any chance you've installed the program in a non-default directory, anything other than C:\Ross-Tech\VCDS? Installing it into the Program Files directory is known to break things.

    If that's not the problem, do you have any domain/policy security controls we should know about? Virus or malware scanners?

    Jason

  3. #3
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,437
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by German Motors View Post
    Each time I unplug the wireless interface, or close the program, I have to re-test the interface and save it. The VCDS will not remember it, is there a setting to correct this.
    Are you clicking the [Save] button on the Options screen? [Apply] will just use the settings temporarily, without saving them...

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    No it's loaded on C drive, it's on a new toughbook lap top, we just got, and it's the only thing on it. Nothing else is loaded.
    Chuck

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes save button

  6. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,437
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    What version of Windows?

    Does your user account have rights to the folder VCDS is installed in?

    Try installing in a sub-folder of your Documents..

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    I resolved the problem, I un-installed the system and reinstalled it, it is working fine now.
    Chuck

  8. Likes Santos, jyoung8607, Uwe liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •