Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to change kilometres to miles in auto scan log file for UK cars

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question How to change kilometres to miles in auto scan log file for UK cars

    Hi,
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this if not I do apologise. I'm fairly new to VCDS and only use it occasionally but I am having trouble finding anywhere in the settings were I can change the autoscan output to display the mileage in miles instead of KM. I've tried to search the forums but can't find a post. Maybe its just the way I am searching I don't know. Any help would be appreciated. I had a print out with some fault codes and the mileage reading is in KM which is not really helpful for us in the UK. Sure I can convert it but I thought VCDS would have the built in option without changing the odometer displays from miles to KM.
    Regards
    Jav

  2. #2
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Near Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    935
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    VCDS displays units in the units that VAG engineers use for the vehicles - being German these are shown in Kilometers. No there is no conversion function within VCDS.

  3. Likes Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  4. #3
    Professional User Jetta ,97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Dallas (McKinney) ,TX ,USA
    Posts
    658
    Post Thanks / Like
    In full Auto scan will show both , Km and Miles.

    Like this:
    "VIN: WVWXXXXXXXXXXXX Mileage: 219000km-136080miles"

    In log files like Bruce said no way to have Miles as Mother of birth is Germany for this cars
    Master Technician for German cars
    Immobilizer/ECU
    /Cluster Programing (Used or NEW) and Key Programing
    Mk6 COLOR cluster in Mk5 -CLIK

    email : marinmm2001@gmail.com

  5. Likes Uwe, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  6. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Many thanks guys for the answer, much appreciated. I had a feeling you may say that, well that's life!
    Thanks again

  7. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    151
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    VCDS displays units in the units that VAG engineers use for the vehicles - being German these are shown in Kilometers. No there is no conversion function within VCDS.
    But it could easily be done! Lots of VAG owners outside Germany use Miles rather than Kilometres, so VCDS could easily convert the kilometres it reads off the ECU into miles when it prints the log.

    Regards - Julian

  8. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,934
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Just because something CAN be done doesn't mean it SHOULD be done.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  9. Likes NZDubNurd liked this post
  10. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Just because something CAN be done doesn't mean it SHOULD be done.

    -Uwe-
    disagree. Rules are made to be broken

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •