Hi all, quick question regarding 18 - Aux Heater in VW Transporter T5GP 2012 (7H)

Status
Not open for further replies.

marcuspd

Pirate
Walking the Plank
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm a bit of a novice to this, so please bear with me.

Now that the weather in the UK has finally dropped below 10 degrees C, I fired up my camper conversion base vehicle to see how well the Webasto Top C Auxilliray coolant heater worked. Nothing, no noise and the engine took a long time to heat up.

I decided have a read with VCDS. There are no fault codes stored for 18 - Aux heating and a full scan only shows an error for the radio, as I've changed it for a non VW head unit. Running the sequential output tests on 18 -Aux Heating usually works and goes though all tests. I can hear the heater fire up, the only odd thing was that even though the recirculating pump test seems to produce a noise and comes up green, it's duty cycle stays at 0.0%.

If I go back in to test again, sometimes it gives an error along the likes of "not all pre requisites met" or similar, but I do here it fire up. On shut down of the engine, it carries on working as it should and everything seems normal.

Now the previous owners were a private hire firm, who rented it out as a 9 seater Shuttle bus. Because of this, I wondered if they had somehow disabled it with VCDS or some other diagnostic software, due to customers phoning them up alarmed that there was a noise and diesel fumes after turning off the engine.

In the measuring blocks I've seen 10 degrees C mentioned, so am guessing the activation temperature has not been lowered from standard.
Does anyone know of a way I can find out why the unit doesn't come on unless prompted by VCDS?