Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 48

Thread: Modules missing, failure in comm, ASAM update issues

  1. #11
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,564
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    smoked a lot of cigarettes
    One of these days, I'm going to stop there in my travels and hook you up with some vape toys. I feel 10 years younger since I switched, and the switch was painless. In fact, I ended up with a new hobby.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    - every time I change modes (cable/net/mobile) the HEX-NET needs to be unplugged and the vehicle shut down or it will not get access to 19, at all
    Both? That makes little sense. I've run a lot of scans (recently including a bunch with debug level 2) and switch between USB and NET (typically AP) all the time, no muss, no fuss.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    bureau: Desktop jake$ grep -i none j.txt
    This makes us wonder whether you're running Windows in a VM with some other OS as a host?

    -Uwe-

  2. Likes jakematic liked this post
  3. #12
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    One of these days, I'm going to stop there in my travels and hook you up with some vape toys. I feel 10 years younger since I switched, and the switch was painless. In fact, I ended up with a new hobby.
    <Bangs head on desk thinking about another hobby>


    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Both? That makes little sense. I've run a lot of scans (recently including a bunch with debug level 2) and switch between USB and NET (typically AP) all the time, no muss, no fuss.
    This has been an issue since the last CB/FW update - not the current one, the previous one.
    Typically whatever the initial connection type is will work, but the next mode will fail - sometimes going into the module in question fails.

    I think there is a timing or some other issue talking to some of the modules on this vehicle.
    Did notice some low (?) sample rates today in the 4's compared to everything else in the 8-9 range.
    If I recall correctly this all started about the time the dual ECU conversation / fixes came about.
    09 has been troublesome all along, and now the CAN gateway has started.

    Really wish I hadn't let my VCHUC go at this point for comparative testing.
    For what it's worth I see this behaviour on both HEX-NETS but the last two have been the same one.


    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    This makes us wonder whether you're running Windows in a VM with some other OS as a host?
    I'm using a Dell Venue 8 Pro with Win8.1, 32bit I think.
    Once I run the scans the Venue goes back on my network and I have to hopscotch through a Win8.1 VM to retrieve the files because Winders gets pi$$y about the Mac.
    On the Mac I can use real tools to look at the raw data


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  4. Likes Uwe, jyoung8607 liked this post
  5. #13
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,564
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    <Bangs head on desk thinking about another hobby>
    Well, it doesn't have to be one, but for me, I think turning it into one was an important component. One of these days, I'll start a thread in the bar.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    This has been an issue since the last CB/FW update - not the current one, the previous one.
    That's good to know, thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    Did notice some low (?) sample rates today in the 4's compared to everything else in the 8-9 range.
    Sample rates are expected to vary dramatically between modules; this variation is due primarily to how quickly a particular module answers our requests.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    Really wish I hadn't let my VCHUC go at this point for comparative testing.
    I think it would be worth RTs while to fix that.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    I'm using a Dell Venue 8 Pro with Win8.1, 32bit I think.
    Right. Somehow I'd forgotten that. I picked one up not that long ago, 'cause they were heavily discounted with the purchase of a new desktop. We did some scans with it; it seemed to work well enough, but I haven't used it extensively since. I also don't have the correct USB adapter/cable handy; will have to find one. Then all we need is a current A8, a current Touareg, and old Phaeton -- that should give us the ability to duplicate most of the remaining substantial issues I can think of.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    On the Mac I can use real tools to look at the raw data
    Makes perfect sense.

    -Uwe-

  6. Likes jakematic, jyoung8607 liked this post
  7. #14
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    I also don't have the correct USB adapter/cable handy; will have to find one.
    This little $6 gem works very well, even with my YubiKey.
    I may order another one just in case the first gets lost.
    For now I'm leaving it attached to the HEX-NET cable in the door pocket.


    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Then all we need is a current A8, a current Touareg, and old Phaeton -- that should give us the ability to duplicate most of the remaining substantial issues I can think of.
    Let me know how I can help, and I may be your way next month if you want to use my A8.


    For some reason I missed this reply last night.
    Think it's time to empty the cache on Chrome as it is acting up with several forums lately...


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  8. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  9. #15
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,564
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    This little $6 gem works very well, even with my YubiKey.
    I ordered up some right-angle ones this morning.

    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    Let me know how I can help, and I may be your way next month if you want to use my A8.
    By all means let us know if you're in the neighborhood.

  10. Likes jakematic liked this post
  11. #16
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    I ordered up some right-angle ones this morning.
    Ooh, I like those.


    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    By all means let us know if you're in the neighborhood.
    Will do.


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  12. #17
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,564
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    - every time I change modes (cable/net/mobile) the HEX-NET needs to be unplugged and the vehicle shut down or it will not get access to 19, at all
    -- typically reports "Function Not Supported in Gateway"
    -- choosing the chassis does not help
    - in cabled mode module 62 did not reply - noticed it said K-Line Init in VCDS
    - several unplug/shutdown iterations require to switch to net mode
    -- tested fine in options every time
    - net mode hangs on 09, had to force quit/restart everything multiple times
    - never got anywhere in mobile mode after restarting multiple times
    -- could never get access to 19
    At your leisure, can you give 0.4015 a try for these issues? I'm by no means asking you to spend another couple of hour, just a quick check to see if there any improvement specifically with 19 and maybe with 09.

    Thanks!

    -Uwe-

  13. Likes jyoung8607, jakematic liked this post
  14. #18
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,381
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Then all we need is a current A8, a current Touareg, and old Phaeton -- that should give us the ability to duplicate most of the remaining substantial issues I can think of.
    For the Phaeton, I think we just had a dual ECU regression (which I think you can deal with in-house if you haven't already) and the infotainment / nav issue. My offer still stands to get you a nav computer for a few weeks; it's very easy to pull out. Also, I happen to know Michael is sitting on a complete working spare infotainment unit. He was willing to leave you his whole car, so I'll venture a guess he would discuss a far simpler and easier loan too.

    I'm surprised you have trouble getting access to current stuff. I had always imagined Ross-Tech would have relationships with local dealer service departments, some sort of "box of free interfaces for ongoing occasional test drives" type thing.

    Jason

  15. #19
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,381
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    The elapsed time is insanely long because I ran in Debug Level 2, smoked a lot of cigarettes, and wished I'd had a beer
    Maps emailed to support to go in the queue.
    Wow. Which modules does that car not have?

    Jason

  16. Likes jakematic liked this post
  17. #20
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    At your leisure, can you give 0.4015 a try for these issues?
    Certainly will - should be much quicker without level 2 this time

    I don't mind the time at all, it's just a matter of finding it.
    Betas are a two way street and it's the very least we can do to help.


    Quote Originally Posted by jyoung8607 View Post
    Wow. Which modules does that car not have?
    Night vision, topview, and RSE are the only ones I know of short of it being a W12.
    Those would likely bump it from 44 to over 50


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •