Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 83

Thread: hex net does not work well enough to trust. have to use hex can cable

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like

    hex net does not work well enough to trust. have to use hex can cable

    hex net is hit and miss. only use it with vcds. have tried mobile and web interfaces, seem ok. vcds is very slow to open, very slow to switch screens. at times vcds will freeze, screen goes light in color. when this happens I need to use task manager to kill the vcds process. need to use config. utility almost every time vcds is opened or I switch control modules. sometimes it just errors out or some times very slow. new cars, especially tdi get control modules not supported. not a tool at this point I can rely on. currently working on 2010 jetta tdi. the hex net will not check dtc in engine control unit, says it is not supported. hex can has no troubles with the car. is there a list of vehicles that the hex net does or does not work with? note- hex can works fine with the exception of errors in tcms at times
    Last edited by zach fowler; 08-10-2015 at 04:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    81
    Post Thanks / Like
    What are the specs of the computer you are using? What type of router?

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like
    asus laptop model u46e. windows 7
    net gear WNDR3700v3

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like
    asus windows 7 64 bit, I7 2.8 8 gigs of ram

  5. #5
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    81
    Post Thanks / Like
    I dont think this is a hardware issue. It sounds like Windows may have a non windows process slowing down the PC and causing problems ( TCM issues with HEX+CAN can be caused by this) .

    Under windows try the following:

    Click start
    search for Msconfig
    Click the Services tab
    Check the box that says "Hide All Microsoft services" Be sure to check this box, If you don't you will have bigger PC issues.
    Press the button that says "disable All"
    press ok, then restart the machine.


    Windows will now boot with only the required services running. Try the HEX-NET again and see if it's corrected.

  6. Likes Uwe liked this post
  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like
    will try. question- if I do have a process causing a problem, would I see this same problem using the web interface while still using my wireless network? in other words, when using the wireless and this problem occurs, if I open a web page and use the web based vcds will I see the same problems?

  8. #7
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    81
    Post Thanks / Like
    No, you shouldn't see the same problem.

    My recommendation is to treat them as two unique issues.

  9. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like
    hello,
    all non Microsoft process have been stopped. scanned 2 different vehicle, 2000 eurovan, 03 jetta. both vehicles vcds will continue to error, freeze. does not seems as though stopping the process has made a difference

  10. #9
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    81
    Post Thanks / Like
    was this over wifi, or usb?


    can you go into options, Set debug level to 1024, and scan again.

    Then once it freezes, close out of VCDS and go to C:/ross-tech/VCDS/Debug and email us the files.

  11. Likes Uwe liked this post
  12. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    49
    Post Thanks / Like
    will do. this is done over wifi using the vcds windows exe, not the web app. I do not see too many problems with autoscan, normally it is while watching mvbs or checking dtc in engine ecu. will upload file next it happens

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •