Page 5 of 19 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 185

Thread: HVAC IN HELL please save me from heat :-) 2010 B8

  1. #41
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like
    Im not a noob in Diagnosing and fixing cars myself, I built my last daily driven TT 03 G35 to 630whp from the ground up almost all myself with just my dad and a 1 car garage.

    I am however EXTREMELY new to the whole LIN system and all of the electronic modules that AUDI uses,and considering I just got my vagcom two days ago, Id imagine most wouldn't know much more.

    All im asking for is a little guidance of what to look for and what I can do at home. I dont expect anything from anyone, and am most appreciative for every and any bit of help

  2. #42
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,418
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by B82010 View Post
    I did not know that a multimeter would not work on LIN, but when I used the multimeter on the 3pin connector itself, the ground was good, the 12v was good, and the LIN wire did read up to 10 on the DC setting of the multimeter.
    Quote Originally Posted by B82010 View Post
    when we then put the positive prong into the POWER port of the 3port plug, NOTHING showed up. Not when the car was on, or off, not when HVAC controls where on or off...
    Please elaborate. Are you saying you disassembled one of your spare G395 sensors and used it as a test harness to verify the vehicle wiring?

    It's entirely possible you have a power problem instead of a LIN problem, but your earlier post led us away from that direction.

    Jason

  3. Likes B82010 liked this post
  4. #43
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Jay, I should have explained it more, I was just excited that I might have found a least a little bit of the issue so I typed it in fast and short.lol


    The TSB said to pull the connector off of the pressure sensor, and test with Multimeter. So thats what we just did, that showed zero power to the 12v power wire that goes from the fuse to the connector.

    when I said earlier that the ground was good and the power, that was about us just checking if the actual connector part itself was good (tsb mentioned that if the connectors in the plug are corroded they wont make contact and can loose signal)

  5. #44
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like
    A power issue could explain why the G395 sensor has no communication, yet the air quality sensor does still.

    and would explain why when I used a temporary JUMP wire for the LIN wire, Like Dana mentioned, that nothing changed, because perhaps there was no power for the sensor at all?

  6. #45
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like
    1. CHECK PRESSURE SENSOR
    (a) Check the wire harness.
    (1) Disconnect the connector of the pressure
    sensor.
    (2) Measure the resistance of the wire harness
    side connector.
    Standard resistance
    Tester Connection Specified Condition
    1 - Body ground Below 1 Ω
    (3) Turn the ignition switch ON.
    (4) Measure the voltage of the wire harness side
    connector.


    Standard voltage
    Tester Connection Specified Condition
    1 - 3 4.7 to 5.3 V
    If the result is not as specified, replace the
    pressure sensor.

  7. #46
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,669
    Post Thanks / Like
    Im not a noob in Diagnosing and fixing cars myself, I built my last daily driven TT 03 G35 to 630whp from the ground up almost all myself with just my dad and a 1 car garage.

    I am however EXTREMELY new to the whole LIN system and all of the electronic modules that AUDI uses,and considering I just got my vagcom two days ago, Id imagine most wouldn't know much more.

    All im asking for is a little guidance of what to look for and what I can do at home. I dont expect anything from anyone, and am most appreciative for every and any bit of help
    Prepare to verify!

    OKAY then..............Your aforementioned WD POST #30 ...........didn't look ok when I looked at mine based on scan.

    Just which climatronic do you have?

    Do you have a G238 in the intake air area of blower motor?
    Air Quality Sensor -G238-
    Air Quality Sensor -G238- is installed only on vehicles with a Comfort version A/C system
    You were speculating here..........on LIN.


    G395 is in front of car on condenser.
    Are you sure the ground wire is capable of carrying the needed current since 4.0MM .........and not just a tone of the meter continuity tester? ( Current track 59 Junction 368/639 ok? (* T3t1 ) ( PIN 1 )

    LIN BUS WIRE Current track 58 from sensor to J519 ( PIN4 ) (*T16b/4) to Junction ( B549 ) PIN 2 (*T3t2 ) G395

    Have you observed the work around for this track? From wire being violet to Yellow/green?

    ( PIN 3) ( *T3t/3 ) Current track 60 to STARGATE 60 to ST FUSE Panel 1 and SC12 FUSE 12a on fuse panel C fuse 12

    That would be on a 2010 drivers side left hand drive ST1 panel furthest left of the three.

    G639 is in kick plate driver side if you wanna inspect it the other is buried in harness.


    What's the poop on the G107???????

    There are different versions of the Sunlight Photo Sensor -G107-, therefore make sure the allocation is correct, refer to the Parts Catalog. If a Sunlight Photo Sensor -G107- is installed that is not designated for that vehicle (there is a different signal than the one designated in this Climatronic Control Module -J255- A/C display and control head), the Climatronic Control Module -J255- A/C display and control head cannot evaluate the signal from the Sunlight Photo Sensor -G107- and the A/C system is not regulated correctly.

    00797 - Sunlight Photo Sensor (G107)
    009 - Open or Short to Ground
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01101001
    Fault Priority: 3
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 92
    Mileage: 87962 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2015.05.30
    Time: 19:09:55

    Freeze Frame:
    Temperature: 33.0C
    Temperature: 31.0C
    Output: 300 W
    Output: 300 W
    Looks like we have fault with a short to ground...........


    And then..............So what exact part # did you install for G395 ........hopefully not its look alike G65 with incorrect WAVE

    The cooling output cannot be checked when the A/C Pressure/Temperature Sensor -G395- is removed. The Climatronic Control Module -J255- display and control head does not switch on the A/C compressor.
    The refrigerant circuit remains closed, connection with valve.
    Only the A/C Pressure/Temperature Sensor -G395- may be installed on this vehicle (the data exchange occurs via the LIN Bus), refer to the Parts Catalog.
    A High Pressure Sensor -G65- cannot be installed on this vehicle (it only delivers square-wave signals), refer to Parts Catalog.
    Last edited by Jack@European_Parts; 06-01-2015 at 08:06 PM.
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  8. Likes B82010 liked this post
  9. #47
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yesir I do have the Air quality sensor Right under the windshield cowl, that is in the airbox that has the blower motor in it. (what didnt look ok on the diagram?)

    I installed G395 PN#4h0959126A pressure sensor(the one with black housing, not the grey housing which send the wrong signal. And replaced the Oring as well.

    As far as the Photo Sensor, I removed that when changing the cracked vent that hold it in place, and just have not received the new one yet. Audi Tech told me that it would not affect the AC, but is that not the case? (ac did not work even when the photo was in, and was not showing a fault for it)


    The TSB showed a VERY vague picture of only one of the 3 wires from the sensor. So I had to trace them myself with that crappy single page diagram I had access to before my FSM stopped working.

    So I manually traced the wires by taking the fender off.

    The violet Wire that is wire 2 in the G395 harness goes to the J519 unit.
    The Brown wire is a ground and goes to near the A pillar
    The grey with red striped wire is the Power which goes to that fuse you mentioned.

    So it not having power going through that wire on the plug side, does or does not mean that could be the entire issue?

    you are way way more advanced with every aspect of this, so some of the Lingo that you used I have not figured out yet, but I tried to answer your questions as best as I could with what I have and know right to this point.

    really thank you again,Im sure its not fun having to walk some stranger through this which probably is frustrating.

  10. #48
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,669
    Post Thanks / Like
    So it not having power going through that wire on the plug side, does or does not mean that could be the entire issue?
    Fuses are the first and foremost thing to check..........

    Okay great now we know what wiring diagram at least.

    Yes please check fuse 12 and verify the ground is adequate......for carrying current not just a tone.

    You will note the different ground positions in the WD and is why you didn't get a G238 fault as you speculated earlier.

    G238 uses 370 than to the A pillar.
    G395 uses 368 than to the A pillar. ( I would investigate this point )

    Let me know when you have a actual manual.....
    No one should be PM'ing me offering to pay for WD or repair manuals because the answer is NO.

    Go to Erwin and pay for it and download it yourself
    .
    Last edited by Jack@European_Parts; 06-01-2015 at 10:18 PM.
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  11. Likes B82010 liked this post
  12. #49
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    then I wasted my 400$ for the cable and a week of being hot in my car ya know
    you have spent this, offered to pay people, I just can't understand why this is not in a workshop & done by now ?

    When you're not in the car & it's 'hot' do you walk round in an air conditioned bubble ? , just asking because you seem to be using it as a sympathy tool.

  13. #50
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,061
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    There have been times in my life when I've been highly averse to taking my cars to shops to get worked on.

    Heck, the fact that VCDS exists is mostly due to that aversion.

    I've gotten over it though.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  14. Likes Jack@European_Parts liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •