Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: How to read wiring diagrams - the videos (final version)

  1. #31
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,804
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Zenerdiode View Post
    Battery positive; i.e. '+' hence 'plus'. With reference to ground.

    Jef excellently illustrates how it is physically constructed, they're then insulated and buried deep in the wiring harness.
    Zenerdiode: without intending anything of a negative nature and with my full acknowledgement of your obvious expertise in matters electrical (which is abundantly clear from your previous writings ) - are your sure?

    And I preface my assertion by reminding us both that German engineers are renowned above all else for their clinical efficiency. So - if the good Burghers in Germany intended PLUS to be a synonym for the add symbol, then why wouldn't they just use the symbol (WDs are replete with the "+" symbol, elsewhere)?

    Therefore, whilst I admit that I find much in these WDs to be arcane and very non-intuitive, and because the term "plus" is invariably used at what Jeff calls "weld-points" which are places in the loom where multiple wires connect together - why doesn't PLUS in WDs have its other meaning "also" - perhaps?

    Quote Originally Posted by DicknNancy View Post

    Also on page 15 of the PDF that goes with the two videos it shows an A15 in a circle. I'm wondering how this connection with the letter designation differs from the other connections (no letters) described as "weld connections"

    Can someone enlighten me?
    What a f#^cking good question!!!!

    From the perspective of a complete amateur, my uninformed observation is that the these notations do not have a leading alpha if they relate to earth points - but I'm not sure that this explains it. Perhaps the alpha relates to a wiring loom identifier, or maybe it's a code identifier for the ciruit function (like DIN 72552)-I'm guessing?

    Don
    Last edited by DV52; 06-04-2019 at 10:48 PM.
    VW Golf MkVII (MY13) - A3 8V hatch (MY17)

  2. #32
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Could somebody help me with trying to understand something on the wiring diagrams...
    On the screenshot below it shows a 2.5 red and a 1.0 black/green both going to terminal 5 of the fuse holder.
    Having 2 different coloured wires on the same terminal doesn't sound like a good idea to me...I've looked at the fuse holder shown and the solid red wire is nowhere to be seen.
    Am i being daft and missing something obvious?!

    https://imgur.com/a/yPGzvt0


    cant for the life of me embed this image either
    Last edited by Uwe; 08-29-2019 at 09:13 AM. Reason: Added image in-line

  3. #33
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,613
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by MAJones89 View Post
    Having 2 different coloured wires on the same terminal doesn't sound like a good idea to me...
    Me either, but ze Germans, vell, zey do vhat zey do.

    Quote Originally Posted by MAJones89 View Post
    I've looked at the fuse holder shown and the solid red wire is nowhere to be seen.
    Are you sure you've the correct diagram for your particular car?

    Quote Originally Posted by MAJones89 View Post
    cant for the life of me embed this image either
    You should be able to click EDIT on your own post to see what I did to make that happen.

    In short, I went to the imgur URL you posted, which is a web page. I right-clicked on the image itself, and told my browser (Firefox) to "Copy Image Location". In Chrome, it would be "Copy Image Address". That got me this: https://i.imgur.com/kWKYtN3.png, which I then put between IMG tags.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  4. Likes PetrolDave, MAJones89 liked this post
  5. #34
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Are you sure you've the correct diagram for your particular car?
    I'm as sure as I can be!
    None of the fuse holders I checked had more than 1 wire on their terminals. Do pins exist that will accommodate 2 wires?

    Could it be that the red wire is connected to the black/green somewhere else in the loom?

  6. #35
    Ross-Tech Employee Jef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    HQ
    Posts
    2,011
    Post Thanks / Like
    While not "normal", it is very possible to have 2 wires crimped into a single terminal. But I would find it odd if the wires were different colors.

    Some other reasons it was drawn that way... it may be trying to show 2 different possibilities. In other words, if the car has the VR6T engine, then you would find the 2.5mm red wire. But if the car has the W8T engine, then a black/green wire is used. When something like that is done, there tends to be * or maybe # and footnotes about it.

    * only with VR6T
    # only with W8T

    I've can't say I recall any cases of 2 different color type wires in a terminal, but have seen many cases of 2 wire colors shown as and depending on what car you are working with, one or the other, not both.
    Jef
    Ross Tech Support Team, Alpha Squad
    Auto-Scan, learn it, love it, live it... then check the fuses.

  7. Likes Uwe, PetrolDave liked this post
  8. #36
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jef View Post
    While not "normal", it is very possible to have 2 wires crimped into a single terminal. But I would find it odd if the wires were different colors.

    Some other reasons it was drawn that way... it may be trying to show 2 different possibilities. In other words, if the car has the VR6T engine, then you would find the 2.5mm red wire. But if the car has the W8T engine, then a black/green wire is used. When something like that is done, there tends to be * or maybe # and footnotes about it.

    * only with VR6T
    # only with W8T

    I've can't say I recall any cases of 2 different color type wires in a terminal, but have seen many cases of 2 wire colors shown as and depending on what car you are working with, one or the other, not both.
    I know what you mean about the different model versions highlighted with an asterisk, but there aren't any for those wires. On the fuse assignment pages of the schematic for my car, there are a few which show the black/green and red wires onto the same fuse terminal. The full page below shows some marked with an asterisk but not the black/green and red wires.
    Could it just be that the asterisk has been missed off by mistake?


  9. #37
    Ross-Tech Employee Jef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    HQ
    Posts
    2,011
    Post Thanks / Like

    So I have found what looks to be the same thing in a different version of the wiring diagram, No. 3.

    What I think is really going on... the wiring diagram is wrong. And with the way VW/Audi work, mistakes in the factory repair manual WILL NOT BE CORRECTED... EVER.
    Jef
    Ross Tech Support Team, Alpha Squad
    Auto-Scan, learn it, love it, live it... then check the fuses.

  10. #38
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jef View Post

    So I have found what looks to be the same thing in a different version of the wiring diagram, No. 3.

    What I think is really going on... the wiring diagram is wrong. And with the way VW/Audi work, mistakes in the factory repair manual WILL NOT BE CORRECTED... EVER.
    I think you were right first time with them being from different versions/options.
    Following the black/green (B308) circuit back to its source, it's shown as only on stop/start versions. So I presume without stop/start there would be no voltage stabiliser and the red cables would be there instead.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •