Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: 09A to 02M transmission swap on my 05 jetta with new fault codes

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question 09A to 02M transmission swap on my 05 jetta with new fault codes

    Well after a very interesting weekend for me and my father, swapping out my automatic 09A and replacing it with the manual 02M transmission, we have some interesting new fault codes that have shown up. So far everything seems to run fine in the car with the manual (except the fact that I currently have no speedometer at the moment because of a missing plug). we ran vcds to see how pissed off the vehicle was for throwing all sorts of gizmo's at it and surprisingly it was only these two codes.

    Code:
    Sunday,19,April,2015,18:04:51:31462
    VCDS -- Windows Based VAG/VAS Emulator
    VCDS Version: 14.10.2.0 (x64)
    Data version: 20150311
    www.Ross-Tech.com
    
    
    VIN: 3VWSR69M25M033882   License Plate: 
    
    
    
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    
                    Address 01: Engine       Labels: 038-906-016-BEW.lbl
    Control Module Part Number: 038 997 016 R    HW: 028 101 181 2
      Component and/or Version: R4 1,9L EDC G000SG  0282
               Software Coding: 0150031
                Work Shop Code: WSC 05232 444 85902
                          VCID: AD124E4B356B5849759-5184
    2 Faults Found:
    
    19460 - Relay for Low-Output Preheating of Coolant (J359) 
                P3004 - 000 - Open or Short to Ground
                 Freeze Frame:
                        RPM: 882 /min
                        Torque: 44.0 Nm
                        Speed: 0.0 km/h
                        Load: 0.0 %
                        Voltage: 13.91 V
                        Bin. Bits: 00101000
                        Load: 48.2 %
                        Bin. Bits: 11000001
    
    19462 - Relay for High-Output Preheating of Coolant (J360) 
                P3006 - 000 - Open or Short to Ground
                 Freeze Frame:
                        RPM: 882 /min
                        Torque: 44.0 Nm
                        Speed: 0.0 km/h
                        Load: 0.0 %
                        Voltage: 13.91 V
                        Bin. Bits: 00101000
                        Load: 48.2 %
                        Bin. Bits: 11000001
    
    
    Readiness: 0 0 1 1 1
    Now I have no idea what these fault codes mean or if it is something easy or hard to fix. Either way I would very much appreciate some helpful info as to what this is. Thank you in advance.

  2. Likes Uwe liked this post
  3. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA Canton Ohio
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like
    If memory serves me, and it may not as I'm getting old, but the 09a never had any codes. Just sayin.

  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User roth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    259
    Post Thanks / Like
    Engines with manual transmission used to have those 2 relays and coolant glow plugs controlled by them. Your car was automatic. Now you recoded it to manual so ECM is looking for those relays.

    Andy
    Skype ag6167

  5. Likes Uwe liked this post
  6. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,325
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by obamachicken View Post
    Now I have no idea what these fault codes mean or if it is something easy or hard to fix.
    My guess is something's unplugged. Someone here probably knows exactly where that stuff is on a BEW.

    -Uwe-

    Edit: I make bad guesses sometimes.
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA Canton Ohio
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by roth View Post
    Engines with manual transmission used to have those 2 relays and coolant glow plugs controlled by them. Your car was automatic. Now you recoded it to manual so ECM is looking for those relays.

    Andy
    For my own curiousity, could you explain what that system did? Also, if those parts are not there, what would be the best fix? Thanks.

  8. #6
    Verified VCDS User roth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    259
    Post Thanks / Like
    System heats up coolant for heater core in low temperatures. Used on engines with manual trans, not on engines with automatics. You can see if the wiring has the place fore those relays. If so you can put the relays there. If not you can make the wiring and install the relays.

    BR, Andy
    Skype ag6167

  9. #7
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    2,050
    Post Thanks / Like

    Don't know for you guys, but not all manuals used these. For instance i have seen these things only in cars that were made for colder countries like Finland or Estonia etc... .
    Also my old MKIV(ASZ engine) didn't have these as it came from Italy, but my friends Leon(ARL engine) has these. Unsure where his car came from.

    So my guess is, that they can be mapped out by tuner.
    I am a VW Freak - Le WV Freaks OR Come visit me at my work with ODIS concerns - FORSS ODIS GeKo/FaZit access for VW/AUDI/Škoda
    The world is my oyster...

  10. Likes Zenerdiode liked this post
  11. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA Canton Ohio
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mapped out by tuner but not coded out with VCDS correct?

  12. #9
    Verified VCDS User roth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    259
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Locoelectrician View Post
    Mapped out by tuner but not coded out with VCDS correct?
    Right, code might be possibly disabled by tuner. See if you got place / plugs for those relays 1st. Left rear of engine compartment, on firewall.





    Andy
    Last edited by roth; 04-20-2015 at 04:27 PM.
    Skype ag6167

  13. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Something else that I have noticed with my car is that the fuel tank sensor is really sensitive to any motions. Like from a stop to accelerating the fuel gauge will drop near the bottom and set off the fuel alarm, then go away after everything is leveled out. This is also with a half tank of fuel.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •