Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Can VCDS code a 5F or is that a dealer only job?

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Can VCDS code a 5F or is that a dealer only job?

    Hi,

    My 5F (nav/radio/brain/gubbins) died on my Audi A6 C7. It actually emitted smoke out the dashboard!

    A replacement from Audi is frankly stupid money (>£2k), but many it seems are available used on ebay etc.

    I am told a 'new' unit requires coding to the vehicle. does that have to be done by a dealer or can it be achieved with VCDS?
    I phoned my local dealer today and asked them and they told me "They recently tried to do this and were unsuccessful" but for £135/hr they were willing to try!!!!

    Please tell me i can do this, with a little help from you guys, i'd much rather bung you money than an audi dealer!

    Also, My 5F part number is 4G0.035.193.F I can't find an exact match but i'm guessing the "Flaming Death" version i have was superseded?
    Last edited by ramis17; 05-22-2020 at 10:19 AM. Reason: Added part detail

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    850
    Post Thanks / Like
    if the old unit is still accessible (not sure if this is the case...) then you can surely read the old coding and admap and manually set it on the new unit.

    the most important question is if the 5F has COMPONENT PROTECTION on the A6 platform, and I would guess it does. that will need to be unlocked by a dealer. period.

    ETKA says that for that part number there is an EXCHANGE PART with part number 4G0 035 193 FX... not sure what it means.
    my Golf left the factory with 18 ECUs. now she has 27. and counting

  3. Likes Uwe, downtime liked this post
  4. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by darkchina811 View Post
    if the old unit is still accessible (not sure if this is the case...) then you can surely read the old coding and admap and manually set it on the new unit.

    the most important question is if the 5F has COMPONENT PROTECTION on the A6 platform, and I would guess it does. that will need to be unlocked by a dealer. period.

    ETKA says that for that part number there is an EXCHANGE PART with part number 4G0 035 193 FX... not sure what it means.

    Thanks for the part ref, i'll have a look for one of those
    unfortunately mines as dead as a dead thing, so no reading anything out of the old one unfortunately. i had a garage run i diag and it just comes back with 5F not responding

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    850
    Post Thanks / Like
    then it's a dealer job. ODIS has a guided function to replace a defective module and will take care of everything.

    if you have a good relationship with the dealer they should accept to do the installation only if you buy a used unit online.
    my Golf left the factory with 18 ECUs. now she has 27. and counting

  6. Likes downtime liked this post
  7. #5
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    3,399
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by darkchina811 View Post
    ETKA says that for that part number there is an EXCHANGE PART with part number 4G0 035 193 FX... not sure what it means.
    AFAIK a part number with an X on the end is factory refurbished to full original spec.

  8. #6
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by darkchina811 View Post
    then it's a dealer job. ODIS has a guided function to replace a defective module and will take care of everything.

    if you have a good relationship with the dealer they should accept to do the installation only if you buy a used unit online.

    Bummer. I was hoping to have this done if req by an independent specialist, as i pointed out earlier, my audi main dealer said "they couldn't do it" {probably because the want the two grand for new one}

    Out of interest. does anyone know what happens when an alternative is plugged in? does it just lock-up solid and do nothing, or demand dealer etc or is it possible you could get lucky and it does some things but not others? eg no Nav but radio works? I could live with that.

    Also does anyone know where i can look up which parts are compatible as I can't find an 4G0 035 193 F anywhere, closest i got was an 4G0 035 193 E
    Last edited by ramis17; 05-23-2020 at 07:41 AM.

  9. #7
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    28,446
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    There likely are some independent specialists in the UK who have properly licensed factory diagnostic software and have jumped though the hoops to get access to the factory servers and thus, at least in principle, can do this.

    -Uwe-
    Lock-down of sick people: Quarantine
    Lock-down of healthy people: Tyranny

  10. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    850
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by PetrolDave View Post
    AFAIK a part number with an X on the end is factory refurbished to full original spec.
    I suspected something similar. probably means that unit is now discontinued.
    my Golf left the factory with 18 ECUs. now she has 27. and counting

  11. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    850
    Post Thanks / Like
    OP, we cannot know for sure what happens with another unit.

    the E index MIGHT be updatable to F index but don't take it for granted.

    as Uwe said, when I said dealer job, it does not necessarily mean you have to go to a dealer
    my Golf left the factory with 18 ECUs. now she has 27. and counting

  12. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  13. #10
    Verified VCDS User golfi_vend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    2,121
    Post Thanks / Like
    With mmi 3g(p) it's not needed to go to dealer IF you're able and have needed tools to read/write eeprom.

    These units have CP data in eeprom that can be transfered.
    I am a VW Freak - Le WV Freaks OR Come visit me at my work with ODIS concerns - FORSS ODIS GeKo/FaZit access for VW/AUDI/Škoda
    The world is my oyster...

  14. Likes MartinsX liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •