Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MQB cars - different manufactures for gateways

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    195
    Post Thanks / Like

    MQB cars - different manufactures for gateways

    Long story short...

    (Perhaps not directly relevant, however here's a log for my car: https://forums.ross-tech.com/showthr...tires&p=201558)

    My car was originally born with the following gateway:

    5Q0 907 530 AM (hardware 5Q0 907 530 F) - software 1265
    Manufacture: Lear

    Because of retrofitting Active Info Display (winter 2019) I've replaced it with the following:
    3Q0 907 530 AA (hardware 3Q0 907 530 C) - software 5362
    Manufacture: Continental
    Dataset from Touran was loaded onto the gateway - otherwise the alternator kept saying that the car was not charging - but it still did after 2-3 min with ignition on (engine off)

    Problems: Start/stop was working... hmm... totally random. Engine was working as normal, but still... Not the same as with the 5Q0 gw. Hard to explain, but it was not running as smooth as normal.

    Got a new gateway last month
    3Q0 907 530 AA (hardware 3Q0 907 530 C) - software 4368
    Manufacture: Lear
    Dataset from Touran was loaded onto the gateway

    Problems: None at all. Start/stop is working 100%, engine is running totally smooth and it seems like a brand new car. Again - it's hard to explain, but it's a new feeling when I've start the engine compared to Continental gateway.

    Upgraded to 3Q0 907 530 AC - still no problems and car is perfect.

    There is no information in ETKA, but for me it seems that gasoline cars uses Lear and diesel uses Continental gateway.

    I can see there is a quite difference in the software version 4xxx vs 5xxx

    Can anyone explain why?

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    852
    Post Thanks / Like
    I don't have a definitive answer for you, just a few observations:

    - in the few gateway upgrades I have done, I have always put the same brand without even wondering, and I never had a single problem;
    - ETKA actually does not say that you have to follow the brand AND
    - people here say that again no need to follow the brand...

    but you're proving both wrong.

    curious, at least.
    my Golf left the factory with 18 ECUs. now she has 27. and counting

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,783
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by diskoboy View Post
    There is no information in ETKA, but for me it seems that gasoline cars uses Lear and diesel uses Continental gateway.
    I have diesel and Lear gateway so that theory is not valid.

  4. Likes Uwe liked this post
  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    195
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by downtime View Post
    I have diesel and Lear gateway so that theory is not valid.
    Hmm. It was a good theory though

  6. #5
    Verified VCDS User Spacewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    848
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hmmm.
    AM was also my genuine GW
    Address 19: CAN Gateway (J533) Labels:| 5Q0-907-530-V1.clb
    Part No SW: 5Q0 907 530 AM HW: 5Q0 907 530 F
    Component: GW MQB High 128 1265

    and I swap AID cluster 2 years ago and no problem at all
    Address 17: Instruments (J285) Labels:| 5G0-920-XXX-17.clb-SRI3
    Part No SW: 5G1 920 791 HW: 5G1 920 791
    Component: KOMBI 405 2153

    so 100% no need to change that
    HOT HOT HOT VW Touran 2005 with ACC HOT HOT HOT

  7. Likes darkchina811 liked this post
  8. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    852
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have read this deceiving information before, and not only here. somebody spread the word around than AID requires 3Q0 gateway but it is incorrect.
    my Golf left the factory with 18 ECUs. now she has 27. and counting

  9. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,783
    Post Thanks / Like
    I also have the same gateway as Spacewalker and AID and works fine.

    The 3Q0 gateway is needed if you have a hybrid car and AID. So in some occasions the 3Q0 gateway is needed. The other occasions might be that you retrofit the newer AID, that does not work with 5Q0 gateway anymore. You will face the dreaded "Range calculation error".

    Code:
    Address 19: CAN Gateway (J533)       Labels:| 5Q0-907-530-V1.clb
       Part No SW: 5Q0 907 530 AM    HW: 5Q0 907 530 F
       Component: GW MQB High   128 1265  
       Revision: --------    Serial number: 0005002497
       Coding: 030500341F087300FB07225E1E0F00010001050000000000000000000000
       Shop #: WSC 01357 011 00200
       ASAM Dataset: EV_GatewLear 013020
       ROD: EV_GatewLear_013.rod
       VCID: 7CA1F4E3966FFC57961-8028
    
       Alternator: 
    
       Multi Function Steering Wheel Control Module: 
       Subsystem 2 - Part No SW: 5G0 959 442 N    HW: 5G0 959 442 N  Labels: 3C8-959-537.CLB
       Component: E221__MFL-DC1  H11 0040 
       Serial number: 29160001037370086211
       Coding: 2DFFFF
    
       Battery Monitoring Control Module: 
       Subsystem 3 - Part No SW: 5QA 915 181 D    HW: 5QA 915 181 D
       Component: J367-BDMHella  H10 9070 
       Serial number: 8958780404          
    
    No fault code found.
    
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 17: Instruments (J285)       Labels:| 5G0-920-XXX-17.clb-SRI3
       Part No SW: 5NA 920 790 A    HW: 5NA 920 790 A
       Component: KOMBI         405 2153  
       Coding: 07A500086F88000801883B0B1401000000000000
       Shop #: WSC 01357 011 00200
       ASAM Dataset: EV_DashBoardVDDMQBAB 009052
       ROD: EV_DashBoardVDDMQBAB_009_VW37.rod
       VCID: 40D94013BA0758B78A9-8014
    
    1 Fault Found:
    16777020 - Function Restricted due to Interrupted Communications 
              U1110 00 [008] - -
              [BAP_TEL_0x28 keine Kommunikation]
              Intermittent - Confirmed - Tested Since Memory Clear
                 Freeze Frame:
                        Fault Status: 00000001
                        Fault Priority: 6
                        Fault Frequency: 10
                        Reset counter: 208
                        Mileage: 79550 km
                        Date: 2019.09.27
                        Time: 18:37:07
    Last edited by downtime; 05-25-2020 at 02:45 AM.

  10. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by downtime View Post
    you retrofit the newer AID, that does not work with 5Q0 gateway anymore. You will face the dreaded "Range calculation error".
    gateway update fixed this for me, retrofitted facelift AID and gateway flashed from E or something to AM fixed range error.
    There are 3 kind of services
    GOOD CHEAP FAST
    But you can only choose 2:
    GOOD and CHEAP won't be FAST
    FAST and GOOD won't be CHEAP
    CHEAP and FAST won't be GOOD

  11. Likes downtime liked this post
  12. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,783
    Post Thanks / Like
    Seems that the gateway issue is concerning Seat virtual cockpit according to the other forum. VW does not seem to suffer from this problem.

  13. Likes m87a liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •