Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2013 R8 Mileage check

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    2013 R8 Mileage check

    Hey guys,

    I am new to vcds, I havent used it before but I am an ecu tuner so fully understood about diagnostics and how everything works. I was wondering if anyone can help me in finding out if VCDS lite will be able to read the genuine ecu miles of the car? I am going to be using a 3rd party cable also... FT232RL chip base...

    I am in the market for an r8 and found one but want to confirm the mileage..

    Thanks guys sorry if this has been covered before, I searched but couldnt find anything definitive.

    Thanks,

    Mike

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    254
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm not absolutely certain, but I kinda think to read an Audi R8 you're going to need a full VCDS version and genuine cable. VCDS Lite is rather limited when it comes to CAN enabled vehicles.

  3. #3
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,743
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Viking View Post
    VCDS Lite is rather limited when it comes to CAN enabled vehicles.
    That's an understatement. VCDS-Lite doesn't support them at all; it can only communicate via K-Lines.

    There may be measuring values (for example in the transmission) where mileage is stored in this car, but I'm not certain of that without seeing a scan.

    Of course someone "in the market for an r8" can certainly afford $199 for basic, full VCDS system, and will surely find it useful, if not indispensable, no?

    -Uwe-

    PS: Moving to Pre-Sales Support.
    Lock-down of sick people: Quarantine
    Lock-down of healthy people: Tyranny

  4. #4
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    hey thanks for chiming in, of course i will buy the full version but if the odometer has been tampered its a waste of 200 bucks as I wont buy the car..

    Is there anything I can do at all to get an indication? Its a gen 1 model.. First R8

  5. #5
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,743
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Sorry, I misinterpreted "in the market for". I took that to mean that you had decided to buy an R8 and were trying to determine whether this particular one was the right one.

    -Uwe-
    Lock-down of sick people: Quarantine
    Lock-down of healthy people: Tyranny

  6. #6
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    3,201
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by mike_r8 View Post
    Is there anything I can do at all to get an indication? Its a gen 1 model.
    Find a friend in UAE who has VCDS and ask them to scan the car for you?

  7. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    No one will have it here, even if they did they would be too stupid to use it lol

  8. #8
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    3,201
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by mike_r8 View Post
    No one will have it here, even if they did they would be too stupid to use it lol
    Not even among the many ex-pats?

  9. #9
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,743
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by mike_r8 View Post
    No one will have it here
    According to our records, we have 217 customers with the two-letter country code of "AE".

    There are also 45 members of this forum with the 'location' field set to "UAE".

    However, our privacy policy does not allow me to make "referrals" beyond offering some forum user names. Try jawad. He has the highest post count of any of the members from the UAE, and was active here within the last weel.

    -Uwe-
    Lock-down of sick people: Quarantine
    Lock-down of healthy people: Tyranny

  10. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  11. #10
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    No, trust me on that lol

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •