Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 2017 A3 e_tron speedometer correction

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Palmton, Ca
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    2017 A3 e_tron speedometer correction

    Added some new tires on my car and speedometer is showing about 3% to fast. I tried the tire circumstance adjustment in the instrument module but it says error when adjusting the number to anything but the default setting.

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    3% too fast is well within the acceptable tolerances for speedometers.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  3. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Palmton, Ca
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    So does that mean there is no way to correct it. Just gps'd the speed and it's 4.2 percent off.

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,969
    Post Thanks / Like
    The allowed tolerance for speedos is between 0% and 10% over reading, so 4.2% is about what the vast majority of cars will show.

  6. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Palmton, Ca
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    That I understand. But the A3 E-tron is limited to 85 mph in electric mode, which it around 79 for me. I see the golf platform can select other wheel sizes, why does it block this one?

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,969
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck.Dee View Post
    I see the golf platform can select other wheel sizes, why does it block this one?
    That can only be answered by knowing what changes VAG made in the firmware I suspect.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •