Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: KEY-COM Dual-K VAG-COM Dongle Interface KC110135 Rev.B problems

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User ToddK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Exclamation KEY-COM Dual-K VAG-COM Dongle Interface KC110135 Rev.B problems

    To Whom It May Concern,

    I have been trying to get my KEY-COM Dual-K VAG-COM Dongle Interface KC110135 Rev.B scanner to work with my 2001 Jetta VR6, but it doesn't seem to want to cooperate. I am using a Ross-Tech SEC25 Serial Extension Cable - 25'(7.5m) to use with a Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit computer with a serial connection. I made sure I detected and had the correct COM port for the serial connection in the Options / Port and Protocol Options and tried multiple auto scans with 9M - VW Jetta IV (1998 > 2014), but it doesn't seem to find any addresses. I also noticed the scanner tool would blink red and then go back to solid green. My device is found, but it can't seem to communicate with my vehicle. I am using the latest version of the VCDS 64-bit software 12.12.2 x64. I believe I can change the COM port to 1 on the serial port, but I didn't think it mattered as long as the correct port was chosen before scanning. There don't appear to be any IRQ conflicts with the serial port. I did not turn off the COM ports FIFO buffers, but I didn't have significant amount of time to troubleshoot because the PC was outside and it was getting ready to rain on me. Any help would be appreciated.

    ToddK

  2. #2
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    173
    Post Thanks / Like
    What happens when you go into VCDS and hit options/test?

    What is status of both K-Lines?

  3. #3
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,906
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    You're using a desktop PC? With a real serial port? Any chance the PC is over-clocked? We've seen some cases where an over-clocked desktop won't work with serial interfaces because the serial port has the same timing/clock source as the CPU, and when you change that frequency, it shifts the serial port's baud rate by the same amount.

    What exactly do you get when you click [Options] -> [Test]?

    -Uwe-

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User ToddK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Uwe,

    Yes it is an Asrock 4coredual-sata2 r2.0 and it is overclocked about 20%. I am running an intel E5700 3.0Ghz at 3.6Ghz.

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User ToddK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Santos,

    I am not at home to test it, but from memory, they were both okay.

  6. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,906
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Todd, how easy is it for you to get it back to normal clock speed? Is it something in the BIOS, or do you have to do something with actual hardware?

    -Uwe-

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User ToddK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Overclock

    Uwe,

    Yes, I can just go into the BIOS and change the FSB to 200 from 240. I'll do that when I get home tonight and update this post with my findings. Thanks Uwe and Santos
    Last edited by ToddK; 03-11-2014 at 02:25 PM.

  8. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,906
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    It would be cool if you'd post the exact results you get when you do [Options] -> [Test] both overclocked and at rated speed.

    -Uwe-

  9. #9
    Verified VCDS User ToddK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Will do. I can't do screen captures and paste them into the body can I?
    ToddK

  10. #10
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Lansdale, PA
    Posts
    173
    Post Thanks / Like
    not within the forum. You can paste directly into Imgur.com (image host) then post here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •