Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 2007/2008 VW Golf mk5 (1k) manual gearbox coding to engine ECU?

  1. #1
    Pirate
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Holywell, UK
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    2007/2008 VW Golf mk5 (1k) manual gearbox coding to engine ECU?

    Hi guys,
    I am new here
    My wife's car developed gearbox fault, in result I was pushed to replace the gearbox.

    Original gearbox was JCR with following gear ratios
    Mechanism 61 : 18 = 3,389
    1. gear 34 : 09 = 3,778
    2. gear 33 : 16 = 2,063
    3. gear 31 : 23 = 1,348
    4. gear 29 : 30 = 0,967
    5. gear 29 : 39 = 0,744
    6. gear - -
    Reverse 36 : 20 X 18 : 9 = 3,600

    I have bough matching second hand JCR gearbox but unfortunately gentlemen who sold it to me, send me wrong one.
    Gearbox he send me is KBL, which physically fits the car but got completely different gear ratios which are as follows

    Mechanism 61 : 18 = 3,389
    1. gear 34 : 09 = 3,778
    2. gear 33 : 16 = 2,063
    3. gear 30 : 24 = 1,25
    4. gear 27 : 32 = 0,843
    5. gear 30 : 48 = 0,625
    6. gear - - - -
    Reverse 36 : 20 x 18 : 9 = 3,600

    So as you can see final gear ratio is the same and gears: reverse, 1st and 2nd are the same.
    Gears 3rd, 4th and 5th are different.
    In result engine speed does not match wheels speed in ECU and cruise control in gears 4th and 5th does not work.
    Well... it works at low speed in 4th, but trips out when you accelerate, in 5th doesn't work at all.
    I would like to avoid changing gearbox again as it was nightmare to do it outside, in a rain, having only two axle stands and single hydraulic jack...
    If it is possible to input new values into ECU, please... tell me how.

    Any help really appreciated.
    Thanks in advance

    Marcin

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,834
    Post Thanks / Like
    Without knowing what ECU hardware and firmware versions are fitted to your Mk5 Golf (they're not all the same) it will be difficult/impossible to answer your question, so a full unedited VCDS Auto-Scan will be needed.

  3. #3
    Pirate
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Holywell, UK
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Please see auto-scan attached below.
    I am fully aware of dtc's stored and these are on their way to be resolved.
    Only this one mentioned before gives me a bit headache.
    Thanks
    Code:
    Removed.  Data from a clone/pirate copy of VCDS is not acceptable here.
    Last edited by Uwe; 12-21-2019 at 09:40 AM.

  4. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,449
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    No, this is not possible with VCDS. The ECU would need to be re-flashed with tables appropriate to the gear ratios in question.

    Getting more help than that n this forum requires the use of a legitimate VCDS system.

    They are available directly from us:
    https://store.ross-tech.com/shop/cat/VCDS

    ... Or from any of our authorized resellers:
    http://www.ross-tech.com/distributors.php#uk

    Let us know if/when you get one and we'll adjust your forum status.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  5. #5
    Pirate
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Holywell, UK
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    I am wondering how is this even possible that my piece is a clone. It has been bought from one of your dealers few years back… I think 2016 or 2017.

    https://ibb.co/BcjDN8c


    https://ibb.co/1z3TNq3
    Last edited by Uwe; 12-21-2019 at 11:54 AM. Reason: Fixed images

  6. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,449
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Wasyli90 View Post
    I am wondering how is this even possible that my piece is a clone. It has been bought from one of your dealers few years back… I think 2016 or 2017.
    Really? Which dealer?

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,834
    Post Thanks / Like
    Serial Number = 000000 means a clone; no ifs, no buts, no maybes

  8. Likes Uwe liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •