Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2007 Audi A6 ignition fault

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    2007 Audi A6 ignition fault

    Hi I have a 2007 Audi A6, with no ignition, so canít carry out a auto scan of the vehicle as thereís no communication with any of the modules. Terminal 15 missing as thereís no ignition when key is inserted. Iím guessing it may be the key itself.
    The customer said he drove it no problem parked up and when he went back to it no ignition.

  2. #2
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    RTFB WD would be the start with DVOM tests manually right?
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi sorry, not sure what you mean by RTFB.
    But guess WD=wiring diagram.
    Yes manual tests are where I started at the Ignition switch, but was a very quick test I have battery voltage on the 2mm wire and 2 other battery voltage on the 1mm wires.
    I am going to look at the fuse box relay box on Monday check for any water ingress in the box underneath.
    Last edited by Kam; 12-07-2019 at 03:20 PM.

  4. #4
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    How did you measure the voltage or current, do tell please?
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Measured the voltage with a digital volt meter, there is also a earth present at the ignition switch.

    I also tried bridging the terminal 15 relay see if I have got ignition lights come on the Dash. According to the wiring diagram the relay Earth is activated by the Immobilizer, but after bridging it there’s no ignition I believe the fault may be at the fuse box in engine compartment.

  6. #6
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    Did you know tests for voltage with DVOM are inadequate, tests for current are required?

    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bEHzvZ...ature=youtu.be
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  7. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Try Adress 05 for access start, you'll likely find something of interest in there. Columns are common to have issues with steering column motors (mainly the hall sensor)

  8. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    Did you know tests for voltage with DVOM are inadequate, tests for current are required?

    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bEHzvZ...ature=youtu.be
    Ah we call it a drop test here, or generally a load test, that I did not carry out.

    On the plus side it was the key that was faulty, tried the spare key and all working perfectly well

  9. #9
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well if you posted an auto-scan and looked at DTC's or blocks for key status you would of known faster, huh?

    Thank you for reporting your solution though.........
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  10. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well that was the issue it would not communicate with anything, I could not get VCDS to establish any communication with any modules. Hence I said in the first message that I couldn’t post a scan. Oh well I’m always learning so maybe I’ll get a complete auto scan and post it as I can now communicate with the vehicle and if there was something different I could do next time with something similar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •