Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: This Function Requires a Licensed Interface

  1. #1
    Unverified
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    This Function Requires a Licensed Interface

    So all of a sudden my application is saying that "This Function Requires a Licensed Interface" and became unregistered / unauthorized.

    Can anybody help me out?

    Here's my serial number: [redacted]

    App version is 17.1.3.

    BTW can I use a newer version of the app with my cable that came for 17.x version?
    Last edited by Uwe; 12-04-2019 at 09:56 AM.

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Riga, Latvia
    Posts
    883
    Post Thanks / Like
    Where did You got Your cable? Can You post a picture of it?

  3. #3
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Near Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    1,064
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    Your interface has failed... seems it has lost its license... Happens with lots of the poor quality, cheap knock-offs.

    Genuine product can be purchased from our Polish distributor: http://www.vag-com.pl/

    -- or --

    from Ross-Tech: https://store.ross-tech.com/shop/cat/VCDS

  4. Likes Eric, Uwe, Zenerdiode, myounus liked this post
  5. #4
    Unverified
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    Your interface has failed... seems it has lost its license... Happens with lots of the poor quality, cheap knock-offs.

    Genuine product can be purchased from our Polish distributor: http://www.vag-com.pl/

    -- or --

    from Ross-Tech: https://store.ross-tech.com/shop/cat/VCDS
    Bruce, I bought an used one, looks genuine as well as the CD wit the software.

  6. #5
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Near Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    1,064
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    If it has a CD, it is likely a knock-off.

    We have given you the best information we have. Your purchase is not from one of our distributors nor is it from us. I would demand my money back.

    Sorry you have this problem. It's not a new one. We wish you luck.

  7. Likes Uwe, PetrolDave liked this post
  8. #6
    Unverified
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    If it has a CD, it is likely a knock-off.

    We have given you the best information we have. Your purchase is not from one of our distributors nor is it from us. I would demand my money back.

    Sorry you have this problem. It's not a new one. We wish you luck.
    I see, thanks for the information. Is there any way to validate the cable whether is legit?

  9. #7
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,358
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Wozik View Post
    I see, thanks for the information. Is there any way to validate the cable whether is legit?
    From the serial number you posted above, I am 100% certain that it is not legit.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  10. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  11. #8
    Unverified
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    From the serial number you posted above, I am 100% certain that it is not legit.

    -Uwe-
    Then it sounds that I have been scammed.

    Thank you for your support and information.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •