Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 2011 VW Jetta hood latch issues

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    2011 VW Jetta hood latch issues

    I may or may not have a issue that you guys can help me with.

    On my Jetta I am having a problem with the hood not latching when I dropped the hood down. I watch some you tube video's on how to remove the latch. So today I tough I would attack this issue. Well I was able to remove the latch assembly from the car and fix the issue on why the latch was not rotating freely inside the asm. But during the process of removing the latch asm from the car the 2 wires that plug into the switch on the latch asm pulled out of the switch. Now my issue is that the open hood symbol on the dash will not turn off when the hood is closed. I tried shorting out the 2 wires (connecting both wires together) that went to switch so as to try to fool the dash light. And that didn't work. So now my question is there a way to fool the dash light using the VCDS software by telling the light not to turn on?

    I haven't used the VCDS software a lot and I was hoping for some advice.

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    76
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Adecood View Post
    I may or may not have a issue that you guys can help me with.

    On my Jetta I am having a problem with the hood not latching when I dropped the hood down. I watch some you tube video's on how to remove the latch. So today I tough I would attack this issue. Well I was able to remove the latch assembly from the car and fix the issue on why the latch was not rotating freely inside the asm. But during the process of removing the latch asm from the car the 2 wires that plug into the switch on the latch asm pulled out of the switch. Now my issue is that the open hood symbol on the dash will not turn off when the hood is closed. I tried shorting out the 2 wires (connecting both wires together) that went to switch so as to try to fool the dash light. And that didn't work. So now my question is there a way to fool the dash light using the VCDS software by telling the light not to turn on?

    I haven't used the VCDS software a lot and I was hoping for some advice.
    How about if you do not jump the two wire, does the hood now show as closed. Based on the WD if I am reading it right that hood switch is open when the hood is closed and becomes closed and provides ground to module when the hood is opened, opposite of what you normally would think.

    Just when out and tried on a MK5 at the connector,with the switch connector unplugged the hood is shown as closed but when I jumping at the connector plug it then shows hood as opened.

  3. Likes Jack@European_Parts, Uwe, PetrolDave liked this post
  4. #3
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hey I have an idea OP & if you would indulge me, WTF happens if you fix the wires going into the switch or replace the switch?

    FOD!

    INDUCED FOD!

    JPPSG

    https://forums.ross-tech.com/showthr...uot-JPPSG-quot

    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you very much "MVB".
    I just went out to the car and pulled out the jumper wire from the plug. And tada no light on the dash. Daaaaaaaa didn't think out of the box on this one.

    Jack @ European parts. I can't fix the wires going into the switch because they broke off right at the base of the switch. And if all else fails my next move was to buy a new switch. But I was trying to avoid pulling everything apart again to replace the switch.

  6. #5
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    I was just busting your balls OP:
    Personally I hate this switch and unplug it.

    Here is why!
    If for some stupid reason in a snow storm you get into minor collision and the switch fails & while the hood can't be released for "some reason" , you need to get out of harms way, you still need wipers!

    To me It's a design flaw.

    Wiper VAG service position can kiss my ass.
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    76
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you decide to repair keep in mind that one way to fix this is to replace a small harness that goes from the hood switch to plug connector T2A about two feet long I believe. You can most likely pick this up at a "junk yard" for cheap.

  8. #7
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    Couldn't someone also just drill or find a hole in rad support and install a push pin switch & so it still functions and doesn't force disassembly of the vehicle?


    Example not endorsed!

    https://www.ebay.com/p/14004208716?i...caAjPXEALw_wcB
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  9. Likes MartinsX liked this post
  10. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Riga, Latvia
    Posts
    947
    Post Thanks / Like
    I understand it's just an example to show possible solution.
    Those in example are really bad quality, I'd suggest at least something like this:
    Or OE bonnet switch from older models, for example 191953236

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    Couldn't someone also just drill or find a hole in rad support and install a push pin switch & so it still functions and doesn't force disassembly of the vehicle?


    Example not endorsed!

    https://www.ebay.com/p/14004208716?i...caAjPXEALw_wcB

  11. Likes Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  12. #9
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    Funny you say that Mr. X I was thinking the same thing from early A4 with boot, must be telepathy or good HAM COM tonight in atmosphere.

    The other one had adjust-ability for poor skill levels, for us above Jedi, this is a trivial task.
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  13. Likes MartinsX liked this post
  14. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    76
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    Couldn't someone also just drill or find a hole in rad support and install a push pin switch & so it still functions and doesn't force disassembly of the vehicle?


    Example not endorsed!

    https://www.ebay.com/p/14004208716?i...caAjPXEALw_wcB
    Yes one could but you should only need to remove the front upper grille to gain access.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •