Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: HexNetConfig on MacOS

  1. #21
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,558
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Limalex View Post
    I using VCDS on my MacPro with a Bootcamp Win 10 64bit and it works brilliantly. I sacrificed 80gb of my SSD and you can boot whatever OS you like
    IMHO running BootCamp is a lot simpler than a VM provided you specified your Mac with a large enough SSD to to able to sacrifice 80GB.

  2. #22
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by PetrolDave View Post
    IMHO running BootCamp is a lot simpler than a VM provided you specified your Mac with a large enough SSD to to able to sacrifice 80GB.
    Depends what you mean by "simpler". It is certainly more compatible. No worries about which device is assigned to which OS and no hypervisor or host OS to slow down hardware accesses. However, it is also less convenient because you must shut down MacOS in before you can run Windows.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  3. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  4. #23
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,558
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    However, it is also less convenient because you must shut down MacOS in before you can run Windows.
    True, but you don't have to be some kind of computer guru to setup BootCamp, I looked into the VM route and even though I've worked with PCs since the mid 1980's decided to walk away.

  5. Likes Uwe liked this post
  6. #24
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    I got 1TB SSD so 80 Gb not really an issue.

    I tyried VMWare befor but the new version does not support RossTech's new USB controler program and whatever i did it just does not recognised the interface.

    There are must be a good VM program which supports VCDS as VMWare did it , but if there is a new wersion there is no guarantie it would wok.
    I bougt VMWare just to use VCDS to avboid dopuble boot,but basicly throw out my money.

    If I would be dealing vith VCDS on a daily basis a separte laptop would be much better option.

    Bootcamp does not perfect and Windows already killed one of my older MacAir. Many times I need to reboot to be able to use it properly. Sometimes Win bots, but cannot see the cursor or getting error massages.

    I cannot imagine what would happen if someone would manage to run a config file straight on OSX. Even if it possible the two system does not like each other and I belive many issues would come up down the road.

  7. #25
    Verified VCDS User rlarsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    288
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Limalex View Post
    I got 1TB SSD so 80 Gb not really an issue.

    I tyried VMWare befor but the new version does not support RossTech's new USB controler program and whatever i did it just does not recognised the interface.

    There are must be a good VM program which supports VCDS as VMWare did it , but if there is a new wersion there is no guarantie it would wok.
    I bougt VMWare just to use VCDS to avboid dopuble boot,but basicly throw out my money.

    If I would be dealing vith VCDS on a daily basis a separte laptop would be much better option.

    Bootcamp does not perfect and Windows already killed one of my older MacAir. Many times I need to reboot to be able to use it properly. Sometimes Win bots, but cannot see the cursor or getting error massages.

    I cannot imagine what would happen if someone would manage to run a config file straight on OSX. Even if it possible the two system does not like each other and I belive many issues would come up down the road.
    I'm - still - using WMware Fusion running a Windows 10 Pro (v1909) without any problems.
    Rene Larsen

    Audi A4 Avant 3.0 TDI quattro tiptronic MY2009 - sold
    VCDS 19.6.2
    (HEX-V2)

  8. Likes Uwe liked this post
  9. #26
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,558
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by rlarsen View Post
    I'm - still - using WMware Fusion running a Windows 10 Pro (v1909) without any problems.
    With what macOS version, 10.15 (Catalina) seems to have many security related changes that have required updates to many utilities.

  10. #27
    Verified VCDS User rlarsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    288
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by PetrolDave View Post
    With what macOS version, 10.15 (Catalina) seems to have many security related changes that have required updates to many utilities.
    macOS 10.15.1 Catalina on a 2018 MacBook Pro
    WMware Fusion Pro 11.5.1
    Rene Larsen

    Audi A4 Avant 3.0 TDI quattro tiptronic MY2009 - sold
    VCDS 19.6.2
    (HEX-V2)

  11. #28
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    89
    Post Thanks / Like
    Bootcamp MBP with 64 bit win 10! Just works with no issues!!

  12. Likes Uwe liked this post
  13. #29
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by premium View Post
    Bootcamp MBP with 64 bit win 10! Just works with no issues!!
    Back close to 10 years ago, when the MacBook Air was by far the slimmest, lightest laptop computer around, I got one as my travelling machine. I immediately sent it to Boot Camp and it made a damn fine Windows machine from then on, including for VCDS. I never used MacOS on it. It lasted six years before the SSD gave up the ghost on the last night I was in Germany for the Automechanika in 2016. I was debating replacing the SSD, but since the machine only had 2 GB of RAM that couldn't be upgraded, I decided it was better to get something newer and went back to Dell.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  14. Likes PetrolDave liked this post

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •