Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: New to this forum

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like

    New to this forum

    Hi, I have just joined this group as it may help me with my new project.
    I have been using VCDS for a while to datalog my own cars to help with mapping but I have never coded anything.
    My project is putting a RSQ3 engine and running gear in my VW T5 van.
    I have the complete RSQ3 as the donor.

  2. Likes Uwe liked this post
  3. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,377
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    That sounds like a challenging project.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  4. Likes apial liked this post
  5. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    It will be a lot of work, the easy option would be use something like a Syvecs stand alone ECU for the engine, DSG box, Haldex etc but it's very very expensive.
    As I have the complete Audi donor car I will try and use the OE system first.

    Do you know if VCDS can code out modules I won't be using?, like aircon, electric parkbrake, rear air bags etc.

  6. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,377
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by martin33100 View Post
    Do you know if VCDS can code out modules I won't be using?, like aircon, electric parkbrake, rear air bags etc.
    Whether or not it can depends on what the software in the various modules allows.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Whether or not it can depends on what the software in the various modules allows.

    -Uwe-
    that was my wory as the RSQ3 donor is a 2014.
    Do you think most of the modules will have components protection on them?

  8. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,377
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by martin33100 View Post
    Do you think most of the modules will have components protection on them?
    CP should not be an problem if you move them all.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  9. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Do you know how to use VCDS to take a copy of the coding for each module currently on this Audi?.
    Somebody recommended I take a copy of the coding before I start to strip this car, they said if the car gets powered up by mistake when a some modules are disconnected you could loose some of the coding for that module.

  10. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like

    Engine swap and can you code out modules not used?

    Hi, I may be doing an engine conversion puting a 2014 RSQ3 2.5TFSI engine in a 2004 VW T5.
    I have the complete RSQ3 so if I try and use all the electronics can VCDS code out modules that aren't going to be used?, stuff like rear air bags, auto handbrake, air con etc as my T5 has none of this.

    Thanks in advance.

  11. #9
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,552
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by martin33100 View Post
    Do you know how to use VCDS to take a copy of the coding for each module currently on this Audi?.
    Somebody recommended I take a copy of the coding before I start to strip this car, they said if the car gets powered up by mistake when a some modules are disconnected you could loose some of the coding for that module.
    Just doing an Auto-Scan will save the coding of all the modules in the Log and Scan files that VCDS automatically saves.

    What that won't do is save the values of the adaptation channels in the modules, ... to save them you'll need to save the adaptation maps.
    Last edited by PetrolDave; 11-15-2019 at 10:19 AM.

  12. Likes Uwe liked this post
  13. #10
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,377
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Threads merged.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •