Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Newbie member, long time user, 1st post

  1. #11
    VCDS Distributor Mike@Gendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Swansea, UK
    Posts
    599
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by alexvr6 View Post
    Uwe,
    the last digits of the serial # is alphanumeric......please advise and thanks
    Try the short serial number from the interface label (Hxx-xxxxxx) instead of the long serial number from the software.
    The 2nd half of the short S/N should be numeric.
    Apparently I should put something witty or profound in here.....

  2. Likes Uwe liked this post
  3. #12
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,389
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike@Gendan View Post
    Try the short serial number from the interface label (Hxx-xxxxxx) instead of the long serial number from the software.
    The 2nd half of the short S/N should be numeric.
    Exactly. Everything after the dash in that serial number is numeric.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  4. #13
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike@Gendan View Post
    Try the short serial number from the interface label (Hxx-xxxxxx) instead of the long serial number from the software.
    The 2nd half of the short S/N should be numeric.
    THank you Gents,
    will try that

  5. #14
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by alexvr6 View Post
    THank you Gents,
    will try that
    That did it gents. i was able to code a few things.....However, not this one.

    Needle Sweep
    Description: Perform gauge / needle sweep test on startup.
    ● 17 - Dashboard
    ● Long Coding
    ● Tap on the 1 on the top right where it looks like two buttons that say [0][1] to expose the individual bytes. By default the app displays a list of items.
    ● It'll then display in hexadecimal for the selected byte. Tap on the second byte (byte 1 from left, zero-based) to display a list of each of the 8 bits with checkmarks next to them
    ● Check Bit 0
    ● Basically Byte 1 Bit 0 “Gauge Test/Needle Sweep” check
    ● Press and hold green check mark to save.
    ● Source: AW Link


    I just don't understand it perhaps.....

  6. #15
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,389
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Those instructions should change your intstrument cluster's coding from:
    Code:
    08A651C1288000080223E9401800000008000000
    to:
    Code:
    08A751C1288000080223E9401800000008000000
    You may want to go back and look to see if it has actually changed.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #16
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Those instructions should change your intstrument cluster's coding from:
    Code:
    08A651C1288000080223E9401800000008000000
    to:
    Code:
    08A751C1288000080223E9401800000008000000
    You may want to go back and look to see if it has actually changed.

    -Uwe-
    Uwe, current coding is 00E651C1288000080223EB401800000008000000, which is not what you have as the original code in your post.

  8. #17
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,389
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by alexvr6 View Post
    Uwe, current coding is 00E651C1288000080223EB401800000008000000, which is not what you have as the original code in your post.
    That's not what the scan you posted indicates:

    Quote Originally Posted by alexvr6 View Post
    Code:
    Address 17: Instruments (J285)       Labels:* None-SRI2
       Part No SW: 8W5 920 770 D    HW: 8W5 920 770 D
       Component: MMA4T19BENRW  H14 0612  
       Revision: 0612v4.0    Serial number:    U4ID51C6V
       Coding: 08A651C1288000080223E9401800000008000000
       Shop #: WSC 02391 785 00200
       ASAM Dataset: EV_DashBoardAU736 001032
       ROD: EV_DashBoardAU736_AU49.rod
       VCID: 41CA5BF7D0B6B847E8-8014
    So it looks like you've changed something else in the meanwhile.

    -Uwe-

    PS: Not all clusters actually support needle sweep.
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  9. #18
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    That's not what the scan you posted indicates:



    So it looks like you've changed something else in the meanwhile.

    -Uwe-

    PS: Not all clusters actually support needle sweep.
    I had disabled the seat belt chime and dash display

  10. #19
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    That's not what the scan you posted indicates:



    So it looks like you've changed something else in the meanwhile.

    -Uwe-

    PS: Not all clusters actually support needle sweep.
    Uwe, all is good, changing the 6 to 7 worked..
    Now I am trying to figure out how to disable the automatic door locks when in D or S/M....I did it in the B6 and B7, I am certain there is a way to do it in the B9....

  11. #20
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,389
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by alexvr6 View Post
    Now I am trying to figure out how to disable the automatic door locks when in D or S/M....I did it in the B6 and B7, I am certain there is a way to do it in the B9....
    I would think you could set that feature via the MMI controls without using a scan tool.

    However, there are Adaptation Channels for "Personalization settings" "Autolock" and "autounlock" for each key in the Central Convenience Module at address 46 as well.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •