Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Bench Testing 2003 A6 2.7t Cluster

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Bench Testing 2003 A6 2.7t Cluster

    Hello guys new to Ross Tech i got the new Hex V2 and i can read the cluster and everything else in car i take the cluster out (ill explain in a sec) and hook it up and i get failed to initiate vcds tests and reads in options... ok back story my battery went dead in the car changed my battery and good ole immo came on (reflashed ECU Epromm to immo off, to drive car)lol went to redapt and cant .... so hooked up cheapy ftdi ft232r cable and read cluster its in shambles totally corrupt so take it out to try and recover eeprom on bench and k-line (which 10000 sites say its pin 25 on blue) will not read, hook it back in car it reads put it back on bench it will not .... pin 1,23 +possitive, 7,9,24 -negitive, k-line 25, every site i go to which have been doing for days i have done literally over 100 searches each in a different format and still come up the same thing. What am missing or people that do this, what secret step are they keeping to them selves.... no one around here does eeprom burning anymore and i dont want to buy a burner for just one time use, PLEASE HELP. I am register owner of my Hex v2 if you need to check email is [redacted].. thank you
    Last edited by Uwe; 10-24-2019 at 01:25 PM. Reason: e-mail address redacted

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Are these clusters that suseptable to dead batteries that itll currupt the cluster eeprom? Thats kinda messed up and cheap on audis part and really f'd up for a person that does know about tuning and eletronics(most people that drive these cars)

  3. #3
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,412
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeb1223 View Post
    I am register owner of my Hex v2 if you need to check email is [redacted].. thank you
    Verified. But this would have been easier if you'd used the same e-mail address to join the forum and buy your VCDS.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeb1223 View Post
    Are these clusters that suseptable to dead batteries that itll currupt the cluster eeprom?
    As a general rule, no. But let's not lose sight of the fact that this cluster is 16-17 years old now. That's like 90-somethig in people years.

    As for it "in shambles", I have a fuzzy recollection that these late-mode 4B clusters always gave the typical mileage and immo tools fits.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    I figured that too, but the bench test perplexese ... it works in the car but not on the Bench, what am i missing or does it actually use the can busses

  5. #5
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,412
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would be very surpised requires any CAN bus connection to "talk".

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  6. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Riga, Latvia
    Posts
    883
    Post Thanks / Like
    Those clusters may have 2 K-lines, one for diagnostics, another one to communicate with ECU. Aren't You trying to connect to second one on the bench? Just a thought, I'm too tired after 6 days and some nights working this week to get up and start another computer with wiring diagrams right now, sorry. I never had any problems connecting A6C5, A4B5, Golf4, PassatB5 etc similar clusters on bench. They all are similar, but pinout may have some differences. Post an autoscan with cluster connected to car.

  7. Likes Uwe, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    147
    Post Thanks / Like
    Code:
    blue/7	  gnd
    blue/9	  gnd
    blue/24	  gnd
    blue/1	  +12v
    blue/23	  +12v
    green/28  K
    This is what I have used in A6 C5 facelift clusters.

  9. Likes Uwe, MartinsX, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  10. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thats the pins i have used and it just will not read lol its got me flustered im driving the car with immo off code but i have no clue how much gas i have .. i have never had rhis much trouble with any eletronics ive played with

  11. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    What gauge wire or what are you using for k-line... there is a w-line but im not using that pin

  12. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Riga, Latvia
    Posts
    883
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeb1223 View Post
    .... pin 1,23 +positive, 7,9,24 -negitive, k-line 25, every site i go to which have been doing for days i have done literally over 100 searches each in a different format and still come up the same thing.
    Quote Originally Posted by _Val
    green/28 K
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeb1223
    Thats the pins i have used
    Then 25 or 28?
    Where is autoscan with cluster in car?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •