Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: What version to use? 64bit or 32bit?

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    What version to use? 64bit or 32bit?

    Hi All!

    I have downloaded latest version of vcds from official site.
    I see that 32bit version still works under XP. Great that software developers still support XP OS.
    I plan to migrate to Windows 10 OS.
    What is the best version for Windows 10 64 bit? 32 or 64?
    I heard that 64 bit versions are faster but VCDS was always a bit laggy software. But i don't really care.
    So does 64 bit version gives any advantages or 32bit version is a good decision under Windows 10?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,003
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    The fact that VCDS still works on XP doesn't mean XP is "supported". We haven't considered it "supported" in quite a few years, meaning we don't do any testing on that OS.

    If your Win10 system is 64 bits, we recommend using the default 64 bit version that the installer will give you.

    As for VCDS being "laggy", what are the hardware specs the XP computer you've been using?

    -Uwe-

    PS: I didn't realized there was a place called "Nebraska" in Lithuania.
    Last edited by Uwe; 10-22-2019 at 05:29 PM.
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  3. Likes Bruce liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    75
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by ususer View Post
    What is the best version for Windows 10 64 bit? 32 or 64?
    Thanks
    If you have the 64 bit version of Windows 10, there is normally no good reason to run the 32 bit version of VCDS. I am pretty sure that the reason for the installation option to "install the 32 bit version on a 64 bit computer" is a holdover from a time when there were a few 64bit Windows 7 computers that had issues with the 64bit version of VCDS (I had one of these computers). I am quite certain that this problem has been fixed the later versions of VCDS and Windoze.

    Have Fun!

    Don

  5. Likes Dana, Uwe, jyoung8607, Bruce liked this post
  6. #4
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,454
    Post Thanks / Like
    I run 64-bit VCDS on a W10 tablet with a pretty low spec (of processor, RAM & SSD) and don't find it 'laggy'?

  7. Likes Bruce, Uwe liked this post
  8. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    PS: I didn't realized there was a place called "Nebraska" in Lithuania.

    Hello Uwe! I am sure you had 10/10 points for geography at school. My IP address speaks for myself.
    I have no reason to hide that but whenever i see registration fields on an internet asking for real information i always lie (habit). If that is not against the law of course.

    As for VCDS being "laggy", what are the hardware specs the XP computer you've been using?

    It is 10 years old pc. I am using it to check my 1998 Audi. I have realized it that i have not vcds but vag-com software (but it looks the same). I bought the Klite cable in our local electronics shop with a cd. It works fine with my car and works fine on WInXP. It seems a bit laggy but i guess the problem that it takes some time to connect to controllers and there is an illusion that it is a laggy software. I don't really care.

    Sooner or later i will buy a new car and for newer cars vcds is necessary. I will have to upgrade to vcds and probably to update to newer os.

  9. Likes Uwe liked this post
  10. #6
    VCDS Distributor Mike@Gendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Swansea, UK
    Posts
    554
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    PS: I didn't realized there was a place called "Nebraska" in Lithuania.
    It wouldn't surprise me if the one in Lithuania existed long before the one in the USA.
    American settlers seemed to like a lot of familiar place names
    Apparently I should put something witty or profound in here.....

  11. Likes Bruce, Uwe liked this post
  12. #7
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,003
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ususer View Post
    Hello Uwe! I am sure you had 10/10 points for geography at school. My IP address speaks for myself.
    I have no reason to hide that but whenever i see registration fields on an internet asking for real information i always lie (habit). If that is not against the law of course.
    In this forum, I am the law!

    I like to have real locations (at least the country someone is located in) because cars do vary, as do the resources available to customers in different countries.

    Quote Originally Posted by ususer View Post
    It is 10 years old pc. I am using it to check my 1998 Audi. I have realized it that i have not vcds but vag-com software (but it looks the same). I bought the Klite cable in our local electronics shop with a cd. It works fine with my car and works fine on WInXP. It seems a bit laggy but i guess the problem that it takes some time to connect to controllers and there is an illusion that it is a laggy software.
    VAG-COM was the original product name, but VWAG objected to our attempt to register that name as a trademark, so it got changed to VCDS in 2008.

    On K-Line cars, it takes an absolute minimum of 2 full seconds just to send the initialization request to each control module. There is no way around that. And then they "talk" at a maximum speed of 10,400 bits/second. Some are even slower..

    -Uwe-
    Last edited by Uwe; 10-23-2019 at 12:58 PM.
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  13. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    25,003
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike@Gendan View Post
    It wouldn't surprise me if the one in Lithuania existed long before the one in the USA.
    American settlers seemed to like a lot of familiar place names
    Uhm, not in this case:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nebraska#Etymology

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  14. Likes Mike@Gendan, Bruce, grant@gendan liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •