Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: VCDS Limitations when replacing new moules on a MQB Platform

Verified VCDS User
    Post Thanks / Like

VCDS Limitations when replacing new moules on a MQB Platform

This is just a general question for more experienced users. I have been looking into few retrofits on MQB platform and noticed that there are some real limitations when adding brand new modules into the system. For example, I would like to update door modules to add more functionalities(folding mirrors, ambient light, 360 camera etc) but it appears I would need more advanced VW tools(odis). I have been using VCDS for 9+ years and I feel like there were not as many limitations in the past. Of course security related modules, like immobilizer or instrument clusters always had some limitations.
    Anyway, I still love my VCDS and I think its worth every penny but I would like to understand its limitations on a MQB platform. The more I know the less chances to screw up (component protection, bricked modules etc)

Thank you
    Last edited by OEMplusCC; 09-30-2019 at 10:53 PM.

2. Likes Bruce liked this post
    Verified VCDS User
    Post Thanks / Like
    MQB is a first step to more VAG controlled aftersales. Even ODIS won’t be the solution as parameterization and coding of retrofitted modules online is not possible (at least not in conventional way).

In coming platforms I read somewhere that VAG is introducing encrypted diagnostic connection to the car which will make things even more difficult.

4. Likes Bruce, OEMplusCC liked this post
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Thank you OEMplusCC for being a long time user of VCDS. We appreciate your support.

Unfortunately, as Downtime has said, the trend is toward more restriction by VAG (and all other OE's).