Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Strange error- oil sensor workshop 1

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like

    Angry Strange error- oil sensor workshop 1

    Hi folks the above msg appears momentarily on the dash and the temp sensor shows 0degrees C. The Climatronic unit 's display is blank. Car is a mk4 Golf pdi year 2000. Have just purchased an OBD cable and downloaded the Lite freeware version. Not sure whether freeware version will identify the issue. Any guidance would be appreciated.
    Car runs fine ....
    Regards

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,688
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    With the unregistered free version, you'll have to check for fault codes in each module individually. If a module has more than one fault code, you won't get descriptive text for all of them.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question Frustrated

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    With the unregistered free version, you'll have to check for fault codes in each module individually. If a module has more than one fault code, you won't get descriptive text for all of them.

    -Uwe-
    Hi , I have installed ( sort of ) the VCDS on my laptop but am struggling to get it to work. I am in communication with the ebay supplier in an attempt to get it to work. I was wondering though, as these 3 errors appeared at the same time ,oil sensor workshop 1, Climatronic display blank and dashboard temp saying 0 degrees , there could be a common problem like a relay causing this. F5 and F25 are good. Engine is working fine, oil level good and faults ( except the display and temp0 go after a few seconds.

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Marathon View Post
    Hi , I have installed ( sort of ) the VCDS on my laptop but am struggling to get it to work. I am in communication with the ebay supplier in an attempt to get it to work.
    What problems are you having with getting VCDS to run on your laptop?

    What did you purchase from the eBay supplier - just a cable, or a cable and a CD?

  5. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like

    VCDS not working with car OBD port

    Quote Originally Posted by PetrolDave View Post
    What problems are you having with getting VCDS to run on your laptop?

    What did you purchase from the eBay supplier - just a cable, or a cable and a CD?
    This is what I bought. ( see below )

    The install instructions say to check what serial ports are shown in device manager ( I have a Sony Vaio with Windows XP which doesn't have any serial ports only USB connectors.. I have taken pictures of my screen after installing the software on the supplied CD. It shows a USB port configured with a serial port driver when the OBD II cable is connected. I can run a test from VCDS to port 3 without errors but it won't connect to any of the displayed options. Thanks petrol Dave
    Regards Pete

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Auto-Diag...72.m2749.l2648

  6. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  7. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,688
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    If it has an FTDI chipset, you can adjust what COM port the virtual port is on as shown here:



    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  8. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  9. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    If it has an FTDI chipset, you can adjust what COM port the virtual port is on as shown here:



    -Uwe-
    many thanks Uwe
    I did some investigation regarding the driver and there was a note saying the driver didn't load correctly with a code 39 error. I de-installed them and re-installed via the internet. Drivers loaded without error. Will try to see if VCDS connects to my Golf this afternoon.
    Once again many many thanks for your help.
    Regards

  10. #8
    New User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Marathon View Post
    many thanks Uwe
    I did some investigation regarding the driver and there was a note saying the driver didn't load correctly with a code 39 error. I de-installed them and re-installed via the internet. Drivers loaded without error. Will try to see if VCDS connects to my Golf this afternoon.
    Once again many many thanks for your help.
    Regards
    Hi Uwe,I don't get the port options when I select the USB serial port. Anyway, after updating the drivers I thought it was sorted. However when I tried to connect I still got errors. When I tried the OBD II test it failed saying the vehicle is not OBDII compliant ! According to search yr 2000 Golf engine code AJM is well within spec. I have messaged the guy who I purchased it from and sent some screen shots. Hopefully he is able to sort. Is there a way I can send you the pics ?
    Regards

  11. #9
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,688
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Marathon View Post
    Hi Uwe,I don't get the port options when I select the USB serial port. Anyway, after updating the drivers I thought it was sorted. However when I tried to connect I still got errors. When I tried the OBD II test it failed saying the vehicle is not OBDII compliant ! According to search yr 2000 Golf engine code AJM is well within spec. I have messaged the guy who I purchased it from and sent some screen shots. Hopefully he is able to sort. Is there a way I can send you the pics ?
    A MY2000 EU car was not required to be OBD-II compliant. Try individual control modules that you know exist in this car; 01-Engine would be the prime candidate.

    Beyond that, start-up support for a VCDS-Lite cable that you bought on fleaBay is the responsibility of the seller.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •