Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41

Thread: ACC not available / RS3 2018

  1. #11
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,179
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by tetskoma View Post
    Hi
    I couldn't get Auto Scan as the system kept getting 'not responding'.
    The guy who helped me has got a genuine cable (Hex+Can) with the latest version of VCDS.
    "The latest" is not terribly informative. Please have him look in his Scans sub-folder to see if anything got saved there, and if so, pass it along and post it here.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  2. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  3. #12
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi.

    He said he updated VCDS very recently (but bought his cable in 2016).
    It was 18.x.x something as far as I remember. I contacted him again but nothing is left there, unfortunately.
    The problem was his PC, not VCDS or cable, I believe. It looked he had relatively new PC (Windows 10), though.

    I am trying to find someone more local via VW Audi forum now, but two of them I contacted have got only HEX+CAN cables, not HEX V2.
    My ACC radar will be calibrated and fixed next weekend by the garage anyway.

    But I still want to know if the latest VCDS can do 'reset ACC radar misalignment' and clear the fault code (sensor incorrectly positioned) on my car.
    Just out of interest, how can you tell if this is possible or not from Auto scan?
    If it is the part number, I already gave you here. What else would you like to see?
    I just want to have a clarification before buying VCDS from Gendan.

    Thank you.

  4. #13
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    182
    Post Thanks / Like
    Unfortunately, you're asking questions without providing anyone with the data required to make any sort of answer. You might think this is counter intuitive, but that's the way it works. Any number of people arrive here looking for a simple answer to a complicated question, backed up by the statement "I don't have VCDS yet, but I plan on buying it soon.". But the forum procedure is "Buy VCDS, then ask questions based on the data it produces." not the other way round. A get by procedure is to provide a scan from someone who already has VCDS and will do a scan for you.

    Unfortunately, neither of these options has been completed, so it's unlikely you'll get anyone putting their time and effort into decoding your issue just because you ask. Too many variables present I guess, or maybe just no one believes you're going to be a Ross Tech customer any time soon. After all, a 2018 RS3 with tuning mods isn't going to come cheap, so what's a couple of hundred quid spent on a very comprehensive diagnostics tool which you'll use most months of the year I guess.

  5. #14
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi.

    Thank you for your reply and clear statement. I didn't know the rule. I was told to ask these question here by Gendan as they couldn't answer my question but maybe I should have been done in a different section.
    It is not unfortunate at all. For the moment, I would like to buy VCDS for a very specific purpose as enquired.

    If this is the reason why UWE is asking me to post a full auto scan, he should have told me so, but this is my fault I didn't understand the rule.
    So my question won't be answered even if I get a full scan by someone else (unless he, as a registered VCDS buyer, posts the question for me).

    As I mentioned, I will get it fixed by the garage next weekend anyway.
    Purchasing VCDS is the extra thing I would like to do anyway and I will do it later.

    Thank you.

  6. #15
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Near Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    1,021
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by tetskoma View Post
    But I still want to know if the latest VCDS can do 'reset ACC radar misalignment' and clear the fault code (sensor incorrectly positioned) on my car.
    Just out of interest, how can you tell if this is possible or not from Auto scan?
    The Autoscan gives us module part numbers and software information by which we can then examine things further. With that information, we should be able to tell if VCDS is going to do what we think it may do.

    If it is the part number, I already gave you here. What else would you like to see?
    The software revision numbers, the other control module part numbers and so on. If you think these systems function independently, then you do not know the complexity of the machine you now own.

    I just want to have a clarification before buying VCDS from Gendan.

    Thank you.
    Yep, and we would be glad to give you the assurance you want provided we have the information by which we feel we can justify that assurance.

    VCDS should do the same as the VAG factory tool in this matter. That said, we cannot be absolutely sure without additional information.

  7. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  8. #16
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,731
    Post Thanks / Like
    ^^^ hmm....... perhaps I'm misunderstanding the central question that tetskoma asked on the previous page (post #3) - which I believe was eloquently (and correctly) answered in the initial responses.

    Even given the very likely possibility that VCDS will be able to communicate with the hex13 module - it's almost certain that as a stand-alone device none of the current HEX series products (and incidentally, none of competitor devices on the market) is sufficient to undertake the misalignment procedure for j428.

    The basic process for radar alignment needs the special VAS tool - which I haven't personally priced as an outright purchase but which I fully expect will cost somewhere near the annual budget of a small African nation!

    So, forgive the directness of my response - but isn't the question about purchasing a VCDS device somewhat academic if the single objective of radar misalignment is the the sole imperative for proceeding?

    Of course, if testkoma has other uses for a diagnostic tool - then there can be no doubt whatsoever what purchase to make IMO!

    Don
    VW Golf MkVII (MY13) - A3 8V hatch (MY17)

  9. Likes Uwe, PetrolDave liked this post
  10. #17
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you for your reply.
    DV52 - You are right. I think I messed up my post before sending then, sorry.

    Yes, my core question is that the latest VCDS can let us do 'reset misalighnment angle' in basic option on Module 13, not trying to calibrate or alighn the radar by myself at all.
    (There should be a option there as some people managed to do it with VCDS).

    Because I haven't done anything to change the angle of the radar, the alighnment should be fine, I belive.
    So I wanted to do 'reset misalignment angle', and hopefully that clears up the fault code (incorrectly position or something like that).

    I don't have any other use of VCDS at the moment, but I am thinking of ordering it later, maybe later today or tomorrow.
    If I cannot achieve my objective, I will still own a genine VCDS for future use (I don't know what it will be...you never know or I can help others who needs it at least).
    I just wanted to take a chance to clear the fault code by doing this before I take the car to the garage to rader calibration next Saturday.

    Thank you.

  11. #18
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have ordered VCDS from Gendan, so will try it myself first (maybe on Wed evening). I will report the result here.
    If it is not sucessful, I will create/post in a new fresh thread then as this thread was not started by myself.

  12. Likes Uwe liked this post
  13. #19
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi.

    Thank you for your help with registering the cable yesterday, UWE.
    I managed to try it last night, but no joy....

    In Module 13, I entered a security code 20103 (accepted), but Basic Option doesn't show 'reset misalignment.
    So I will create a new thread and post my full scan tonight or over the weekend.

    My ACC was to be calibrated tomorrow, but I had to re-book due to work
    It will be done in 2 weeks time, so I have some time to play with it!

  14. #20
    VCDS Distributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,695
    Post Thanks / Like
    Please post the Autoscan, explaned here howto.

  15. Likes Uwe liked this post

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •