Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Convenience module coding

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like

    Convenience module coding

    Iím having to have the module replaced at a AUDI dealer , there saying the server has gone down and canít code it at the moment till itís fixed, so is that correct that they can only code it online and it has to be coded anyway and not just fitted

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,046
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by sticky 491 View Post
    I’m having to have the module replaced at a AUDI dealer , there saying the server has gone down and can’t code it at the moment till it’s fixed, so is that correct that they can only code it online and it has to be coded anyway and not just fitted
    Might help to know what vehicle you have

    The dealer tool will likely read the VIN and then ask the mothership servers what the vehicle configuration is and what the correct coding is for the modules in that vehicle (assuming it is as it left the factory with no retrofits...) - so no mothership connection = they cannot code the module.

    Most modules need to be coded to match the vehicle and its configuration.

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like

    Coding module

    Quote Originally Posted by PetrolDave View Post
    Might help to know what vehicle you have

    The dealer tool will likely read the VIN and then ask the mothership servers what the vehicle configuration is and what the correct coding is for the modules in that vehicle (assuming it is as it left the factory with no retrofits...) - so no mothership connection = they cannot code the module.

    Most modules need to be coded to match the vehicle and its configuration.
    Itís an A4 B8 2014, they kept saying the server was down and couldnít recode a new one, so I presume there correct then ?

  4. #4
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    15,688
    Post Thanks / Like
    It’s an A4 B8 2014, they kept saying the server was down and couldn’t recode a new one, so I presume there correct then ?
    Isn't this Incorrect speculation, offline coding identity or VIN/Immobilizer or CP alignments are always indeed possible & for all modules?

    Is it not a matter of course you must have the correct security clearance, this helps too and or make enough noise & so that any VAG/AUDI franchise will react or corporate will consider you to be of importance?

    JPPSG

    Post an auto-scan......pitch your bitch!
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    Isn't this Incorrect speculation, offline coding identity or VIN/Immobilizer or CP alignments are always indeed possible & for all modules?

    Is it not a matter of course you must have the correct security clearance, this helps too and or make enough noise & so that any VAG/AUDI franchise will react or corporate will consider you to be of importance?

    JPPSG

    Post an auto-scan......pitch your bitch!
    I canít put a scan up as they still have my car, they say the server had gone down which is my query do they have to use online. coding as thatís what they seem to be doing,

  6. #6
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    15,688
    Post Thanks / Like
    The OEM have the ability to do offline and online.......
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  7. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    The OEM have the ability to do offline and online.......
    The cars not at an Audi dealer but approved one, they service department recon that they could connect to the Audi server which raised my concerns

  9. #8
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,046
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    The OEM have the ability to do offline and online.......
    IF the technicians have been properly trained - it's not uncommon for dealers in the UK to claim that their tools ONLY work in online mode - which is simply not true (as we know).

  10. Likes Uwe liked this post
  11. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by PetrolDave View Post
    IF the technicians have been properly trained - it's not uncommon for dealers in the UK to claim that their tools ONLY work in online mode - which is simply not true (as we know).
    They are supposed to be trained yes, shall question it when I see the £750 bill !

  12. #10
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    15,688
    Post Thanks / Like
    IF the technicians have been properly trained - it's not uncommon for dealers in the UK to claim that their tools ONLY work in online mode - which is simply not true (as we know).

    They are supposed to be trained yes, shall question it when I see the £750 bill !
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •