Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: HEX-CAN USB Interface not found

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    HEX-CAN USB Interface not found

    Iíve been using my VCDS for a while and I never ran into issue like this.I have windows 7 and 2 days ago I used VCDS no problem (it notified me that there is newer version but I wasnít at home and didnít have time to update).Today I wanted to use it on the same vehicle,when I opened VCDS it made me go to Options-Test with result USB interface not found.USB library 03.02.07.Interface not found
    So I thought at first that was weird that I had to go through test at all but then I updated to 19.6 but no change.In device manager when I plug The cable,it was showing ďserial interfaceĒ,no mention of Ross-Tech or nothing.Went through manual updating of the driver and now it changed to Ross-Tech Hex-... something but same issue comes up when I go to test it in VCDS.I tried reinstalling VCDS,drivers no difference.In device manager,when I open properties,it says driver works as it should,no issues.Even tried that VCP as described on Ross-Tech website but still same happens when I try to test it.Any ideas?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23,414
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Unplug interface from PC.
    Open Device Manager.
    With Device Manager open, plug interface into PC.
    Look for a new device to appear.
    Please tell us the name of this device and where in the "tree" it appears.

    Double-click on it to bring up its Properties sheet.
    Click the Details tab.
    From the Property drop-down, select: Hardware Ids
    Show us what that looks like.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  3. Likes Boki Ar, Dana liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here is what I got.Not sure how to upload the pics so here is link
    https://imgur.com/f70tOTG


    https://imgur.com/rfhGPVR[/QUOTE]
    Last edited by Uwe; 06-07-2019 at 08:23 PM. Reason: In-lined images

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Just tried to install VCDS on my other laptop with windows 8.1 and same thing happened.First In device manager it showed it like its SERIAL interface under USB controllers and after changing it to Ross-Tech Hex or Key USB interface still getting that 03.02.07 code,interface not found

  6. #5
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23,414
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Oliver C View Post
    Here is what I got.Not sure how to upload the pics so here is link
    Looks like somebody or something changed the USB PID (at least).

    Post up some pics of the interface itself.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Last edited by Boki Ar; 06-08-2019 at 10:25 AM. Reason: [url] = [img] tags

  8. Likes Uwe liked this post
  9. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Not sure exactly what USB PIDs are but can that be repaired/changed?

  10. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23,414
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Oliver C View Post
    Not sure exactly what USB PIDs are but can that be repaired/changed?
    They can, but if you don't know what they are, you're might not be in a position do do so.

    The tool one would use to do so is available here from ftdichip.com

    The question in my mind is: What other software have you been using that would have done this to our hardware?

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  11. Likes Boki Ar liked this post
  12. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like
    I think I figured it out.When I was using VCDS last time,right after that I was using AVDI but I didnít unplug VCDS from laptop so AVDI was giving me connection error to the interface.After realizing that they were both connected to my laptop,I unplugged VCDS and used AVDI no problem.I totally forgot that I did that but could that be the culprit of all this mess?

  13. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post

    The tool one would use to do so is available here from ftdichip.com


    -Uwe-
    If I understand this good,this program needs itís tool to program eeprom ,so I would have to open my VCDS and perform this programming?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •