Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: New Battery Coding- Help needed!

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    New Battery Coding- Help needed!

    Purchased a new Varta battery for my 2016 VW Tiguan 4WD 2.0L diesel. It is not from a dealer- but a genuine Varta item.
    My dilemma is this: The battery is stated as being BEM compatible but the numbers on the battery stickers do not seem to have the same format at the OEM BEM sticker.
    I need to code the new battery in VCDS and I'm not exactly sure which numbers to use. The only two numbers I have on the new battery are a serial number: 016987 144503 and a 'Varta Code' on a QR sticker, which is A 26 E39 902 8OC.
    Can anyone offer some guidance?

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User PetrolDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Molton, UK
    Posts
    2,039
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by niggly60 View Post
    Purchased a new Varta battery for my 2016 VW Tiguan 4WD 2.0L diesel. It is not from a dealer- but a genuine Varta item.
    My dilemma is this: The battery is stated as being BEM compatible but the numbers on the battery stickers do not seem to have the same format at the OEM BEM sticker.
    I need to code the new battery in VCDS and I'm not exactly sure which numbers to use. The only two numbers I have on the new battery are a serial number: 016987 144503 and a 'Varta Code' on a QR sticker, which is A 26 E39 902 8OC.
    Can anyone offer some guidance?
    If the battery is the same type (EFB or AGM) and the same capacity (AHr) then all you need to do is change 1 digit in the serial number - that's enough to "tell" the BEM that a new battery has been fitted.

  3. Likes niggly60, Uwe liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks PetrolDave. So I would leave the part number and manufacturer code the same and just modify the serial number by one digit?
    Curiously, the OEM battery is 68Ah and 680CCA, whereas the new one is 70Ah and 760CCA. Would I need to change these values as well?

  5. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by niggly60 View Post
    Thanks PetrolDave. So I would leave the part number and manufacturer code the same and just modify the serial number by one digit?
    Curiously, the OEM battery is 68Ah and 680CCA, whereas the new one is 70Ah and 760CCA. Would I need to change these values as well?
    The difference between 68 Ah and 70 Ah is basically insignificant. But there's an Adaptation channel in your gateway:
    Quote Originally Posted by niggly60 View Post
    Code:
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 19: CAN Gateway (J533)       Labels:| 5Q0-907-530-V1.clb
       Part No SW: 5Q0 907 530 AM    HW: 5Q0 907 530 F
       Component: GW MQB High   128 1265  
       Revision: --------    Serial number: 0005212445
       Coding: 030500041F087300FB07225E0A0F00010001050000000000000000000000
       Shop #: WSC 01357 011 00200
       ASAM Dataset: EV_GatewLear 013020
       ROD: EV_GatewLear_013_VW37.rod
       VCID: 7CA00149866BB617C25-8028
    
       Alternator: 
    
       Multi Function Steering Wheel Control Module: 
       Subsystem 2 - Part No SW: 5TA 959 442 B    HW: 5TA 959 442 B  Labels: 3C8-959-537.CLB
       Component: E221__MFL-TAT  H06 0023 
       Serial number: 2181604401300585AT2B
       Coding: 2C0000
    
       Battery Monitoring Control Module: 
       Subsystem 3 - Part No SW: 5QA 915 181 D    HW: 5QA 915 181 D
       Component: J367-BDMHella  H10 9070 
       Serial number: 7203401004          
    
    No fault code found.
    IDE03256-MAS06105 -- Battery adaptation - Rated battery capacity (Ah)

    that you could change from 68 to 70 if you really wanted to.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  6. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  7. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well I'm confused....
    Looked in the 19-Can Gateway, (protocol UDS) Adaptation. My original from new Varta 68Ah AGM battery is coded as JCB 68Ah Fleece with a serial number of 1111111111. Very peculiar?
    I thought about entering my new battery as VAO , AGM (if it's an option) and serial number 2222222222. What do others think?
    Last edited by niggly60; 05-22-2019 at 02:56 PM.

  8. #6
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by niggly60 View Post
    Well I'm confused....
    Looked in the 19-Can Gateway, (protocol UDS) Adaptation. My original from new Varta 68Ah AGM battery is coded as JCB 68Ah Fleece with a serial number of 1111111111. Very peculiar?
    I thought about entering my new battery as VAO , AGM (if it's an option) and serial number 2222222222. What do others think?
    I believe "Fleece" is a type of AGM, but I'm not sure what the difference between "Fleece" and "AGM" actually is.

    Is there anything resembling a serial number on your new battery? If so, I would be tempted to use it. It has no functional effect on anything, but using it (if available) would be the "professional" thing to do.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  9. Likes PetrolDave liked this post
  10. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Uwe- that's a good suggestion to use the serial on the battery rather than a generic one.
    Another oddity when I was checking the battery before replacing- under 19 Can Gateway, Measuring Blocks is greyed out so I couldn't read the battery parameters under Channel 04. Is that because my car uses UDS protocol do you think?

  11. #8
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    23,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Yes, modules that use the UDS protocol do not support the old-school Measuring Blocks function. Use Advanced Measuring Values instead.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  12. Likes Boki Ar liked this post
  13. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    New battery fitted with no problems.
    Coding was straightforward. Used 10 of the twelve numbers from the battery serial and it accepted it OK. Cleared all DTCs resulting from the battery disconnection and will check later if there are any new ones.
    A job that appeared daunting to the uninitiated, was- in reality- quite easy. Unfortunately, it didn't seem to fully fix the Auto Hold/electric handbrake issues......
    However, Thank You to everyone for their help and advice.

  14. Likes Uwe, Boki Ar liked this post
  15. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,643
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by niggly60 View Post
    Well I'm confused....
    Looked in the 19-Can Gateway, (protocol UDS) Adaptation. My original from new Varta 68Ah AGM battery is coded as JCB 68Ah Fleece with a serial number of 1111111111. Very peculiar?
    niggly: It's fantastic that your battery change experience has concluded so successfully. Just to add a final note to your "peculiar" observation above and whilst I wouldn't claim to be anywhere as experienced as most on this forum, I've looked at quite a few admaps over the years and invariably, the factory setting for the battery serial number is a string of ones. As Uwe has intimated, this suggests that the Gateway module gets no intelligence from the actual serial number. This notwithstanding, it seems prudent (to me, at least) to change this entry to something different as a message to the Gateway that a new battery is installed. I'm not sure if changing the entry actually does anything (perhaps someone here can comment), but it doesn't do any harm!!

    Don
    VW Golf MkVII (MY13) - A3 8V hatch (MY17)

  16. Likes Uwe, Boki Ar liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •