Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Product Activation/Use issues

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Product Activation/Use issues

    Hi all.
    I just purchased a HEX-V2 from USP Motorsports I have installed the proper software (Reinstalled twice) Version 18.9. When trying to activate it I fill out all information and get the popup saying that they will be emailing me the final code and to wait a minimum 20min. I have waited over a week and tried multiple times with no luck to receive the final code to complete my activation. I have watched multiple first start up videos and have reinstalled and restarted my system multiple times without any luck. I have been unable to call the company directly due to my work schedule so any help would be great... at this point I am at a loss

    My second issue-
    When connecting my unit to the car I got a k1 short to ground - I disconnected the short to grounded wire. Which I did by going to the passenger side under the foot well cover where all the wires meet to go to the obd2 plug. Everything then came back saying K1 OK K2 OK I then went to scan my vehicle a 2004 audi a4 b6 and it is unable to scan or connect to any of the Modules such as the transmission. When running the basic Auto-Scan It comes back with no information other than a elapsed time. Even though the windows pop up and close as if it attempts to read the various modules. I've read other forum posts and other peoples issues but haven't found anything of use.

  2. Likes Uwe liked this post
  3. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,934
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by 04avant1.8t View Post
    Hi all.
    I just purchased a HEX-V2 from USP Motorsports I have installed the proper software (Reinstalled twice) Version 18.9. When trying to activate it I fill out all information and get the popup saying that they will be emailing me the final code and to wait a minimum 20min. I have waited over a week and tried multiple times with no luck to receive the final code to complete my activation. I have watched multiple first start up videos and have reinstalled and restarted my system multiple times without any luck. I have been unable to call the company directly due to my work schedule so any help would be great... at this point I am at a loss
    Weird! There are no registration requests in our internal system, but I see that the customer-facing server got one on 2019-04-19, which seems to be "stuck" there. I've never seen anything like that before and I have no idea how to get it un-stuck. Will have to discuss that with who know those systems better than I do in the morning.

    Quote Originally Posted by 04avant1.8t View Post
    My second issue-
    When connecting my unit to the car I got a k1 short to ground - I disconnected the short to grounded wire. Which I did by going to the passenger side under the foot well cover where all the wires meet to go to the obd2 plug. Everything then came back saying K1 OK K2 OK I then went to scan my vehicle a 2004 audi a4 b6 and it is unable to scan or connect to any of the Modules such as the transmission. When running the basic Auto-Scan It comes back with no information other than a elapsed time. Even though the windows pop up and close as if it attempts to read the various modules. I've read other forum posts and other peoples issues but haven't found anything of use.
    B6 A4... Is the radio stock or aftermarket? If stock, does the radio work? Audi radios of that vintage have been known to pull the K-Line to ground if they have no power.

    It's not clear to me what you've disconnected.

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sounds good strange glitches happen ( just my luck) lol.

    Radio is not stock i read the guide posted by ross-tech and checked over my radio that i installed. From what i read is that your supposed to have the k-line on the stock harness not connected to anything if you have removed the stock radio? I checked over my wiring and nothing is connected to my stock k line wire behind the dash. Should i connect it to something? I am not clear what I disconnected either i actually am sitting beside the car as i type this with my laptop. I will take a picture. Its strange i received a short to ground disconnected one by one and it was still saying short to ground. I then turned the car back off unplugged and replugged in the ross-tech device and now no more short to ground....Let me snap a few photos of what I have going on. Thank you for a speedy reply!

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    These are the screens that show when I run a auto scan. and what I end up with after its done.
    https://imgur.com/a/jSfcaVB

    This is The location that the different K1 signal wires all meet up to then go to the K1 pin out the OBD2 connector. The one connector out from the 6 is the wire to the OBD2 (verified by my multi-meter) I read that disconnecting which ever is shorted will remedy the problem as long as its a system you do not need to scan. These used to be crimped together but I spiced on connectors so I can disconnect and reconnect the different wires to help find my short to ground issue. I previously soldered them all back together and my short to ground issue came back. As it sits right now in this picture I am getting no short to ground code anymore as it seems to come and go... as of now its staying away. But am still unable to access any controllers.
    https://imgur.com/a/bJpeL0p

    This car has been on a scanner before the previous owner had a nice snapon type of scanner. I have since after working on this car changed my Climate control head unit and installed a aftermarket radio (following a install guide on another forum as there was not one in the car when I bought it).
    I am sure this is very confusing ill do my best to reply with information its a new to me car whole reason I need this scanner is I am trying to access my transmission to refill it after replacing the trans..
    Last edited by 04avant1.8t; 04-29-2019 at 08:16 PM.

  6. #5
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,934
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well, if you're sure the K-Line that's supposed to go to the radio isn't connected to anything then the problem isn't there. My next most likely candidate would be the ABS module.

    VCDS isn't finding anything it can talk to. Do you have the K-Line stuff all reconnected now?

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yep all wires are reconnected. Now and showing K1 OK K2 OK. Radio, climate, etc plugged in I was wondering if i have some how a bad ross-tech device? Unlikely but I am somewhat skeptical since I even am having activation issues.. Car starts idles revs drives fine. So it does operate fine.

  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    I decided to test run it under generic OBDII. Tried on a 1999 grand am and a 2000 chevy silverado both which I know to have working OBDII ports. All of which it failed to connect to. Shows a green light when plugged in same as on my Audi
    Last edited by 04avant1.8t; 04-29-2019 at 09:40 PM.

  9. #8
    Ross-Tech Employee
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Near Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    935
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by 04avant1.8t View Post
    Tried on a 1999 grand am and a 2000 chevy silverado both which I know to have working OBDII ports.
    That's great but VAG and VCDS never had the "Stuff" to talk to that generation of OBDII on GM cars. They used the other flavor of OBDII which is not implemented in the interfaces we supply. The only indication you would get is that the port had power - the Green LED would light. Test is complete and spot on.

    If you want to verify the interface, it needs to be tested on a VAG car that is known to have a working OBDII DLC connector - where K-Lines are functional.

    As Uwe said, often the ABS module fails and pulls the K-Line down. Unplugging the module might allow you to talk to other control modules.

  10. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    If you want to verify the interface, it needs to be tested on a VAG car that is known to have a working OBDII DLC connector - where K-Lines are functional.

    As Uwe said, often the ABS module fails and pulls the K-Line down. Unplugging the module might allow you to talk to other control modules.
    I have no other vehicles that I can scan on any other vag cars right now.. This is the only one I own as of right now near me if itís absolutely nessecary I can pull some strings and find another Audi to try...

    I can try unplugging the abs module after work and attempt to scan it but if the abs module is bad I would assume there would be a dash light on? Which there is not for abs.. If the k line was getting dragged down wouldnít it come back saying something wrong with k1 when I test it under options? I could be totally wrong.

    Is there a test to actually see if the tool I bought works correctly.. I find it very strange that itís unable to verify itís self with Ross tech and I also have all these issues following that I canít seem to find anyone else having... I checked the usb options and drivers everything seems to be correct laptop is running windows 10 and is known to be working properly.

    I did just get a email at 5:08 am sending me the rest of the registration information finally so I will punch that in after work also!
    Last edited by 04avant1.8t; 04-30-2019 at 09:14 AM.

  11. #10
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,934
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by 04avant1.8t View Post
    Is there a test to actually see if the tool I bought works correctly.. I find it very strange that it’s unable to verify it’s self with Ross tech and I also have all these issues following that I can’t seem to find anyone else having... I checked the usb options and drivers everything seems to be correct laptop is running windows 10 and is known to be working properly.
    Only on another car that it's capable of communicating with, and a 1999/2000 GM vehicle doesn't qualify because those vehicles did not use K-Lines at all.

    If you can't find any other K-Line cars, we can certainly give you an RMA and (re)test it for you.

    Did you get your registration code? It looks like that (server side) problem got sorted this morning and you should have it in your gmail.

    -Uwe-

    PS: Since you're Verified now, I'll move this to Product Support.
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  12. Likes Dana liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •