Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Audi TT 8S virtual cluster power on on bench can wakeup message

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Audi TT 8S virtual cluster power on on bench can wakeup message

    hello

    Need help to power on on bench audi TT 8s vitual cockpit cluster

    i have tools to send can message and many knowledge

  2. #2
    Ross-Tech Employee DrPeter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    16.4905 S, 151.7375 W
    Posts
    1,017
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hello,

    You will need to consult with the Official Factory Repair manuals/wiring diagrams for Audi as these documents usually have the PIN out diagrams.

    Hope that helps,

    drpeter

    Oh yea, just one more thing..... when you get it hooked up, post an Auto-Scan

  3. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  4. #3
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,273
    Post Thanks / Like
    Virtual terminal 15 consumers on MQB appear to use a special CAN message Klemmen_Status_01 field ZAS_Kl_15:

    Code:
    BO_ 960 Klemmen_Status_01: 4 Gateway_MQB
     SG_ Klemmen_Status_01_CRC : 0|8@1+ (1,0) [0|255] "" Airbag_MQB,BMS_MQB,Motor_Diesel_MQB,Motor_Hybrid_MQB,Motor_Otto_MQB
     SG_ Klemmen_Status_01_BZ : 8|4@1+ (1,0) [0|15] "" Airbag_MQB,BMS_MQB,Motor_Diesel_MQB,Motor_Hybrid_MQB,Motor_Otto_MQB
     SG_ ZAS_Kl_S : 16|1@1+ (1,0) [0|1] "" Vector__XXX
     SG_ ZAS_Kl_15 : 17|1@1+ (1,0) [0|1] "" Airbag_MQB,BMS_MQB,Motor_Diesel_MQB,Motor_Hybrid_MQB,Motor_Otto_MQB
     SG_ ZAS_Kl_X : 18|1@1+ (1,0) [0|1] "" Vector__XXX
     SG_ ZAS_Kl_50 : 19|1@1+ (1,0) [0|1] "" Vector__XXX
    Link for other signals you may find useful: https://github.com/jyoung8607/opendb...w_mqb_2010.dbc

    The payload level CRC is moderately annoying to compute and I'm not sure the code I have will work for you. You would be best off recording and replaying a group of 16 messages (one for each message counter (BZ) value) from a working MQB vehicle. I can provide that for you if you need it.

    However, I don't think the instrument cluster is necessarily a virtual terminal 15 consumer. Source: on my 2018 Golf R with the virtual cockpit display, I once accidentally hooked up some wiring wrong and managed to go ignition-on (but not start) and the instrument cluster woke up, with the CAN gateway entirely unplugged. So, I think you should observe wiring diagrams as DrPeter recommended.
    Silence gives consent.

  5. Likes Uwe liked this post
  6. #4
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    be shure i connect corecct the cluster, i can diagnose on bench and do some output test
    i need a virtual terminal 15 teminal can messager send

    found on youtube one guy that wakeup virtual cockpit cluster but not want to helpme https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zm_PX0FJfkI

  7. #5
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    960 dec is 0x3c0 id of gateway

    I send can message id 0x3c0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff

    I know is incorrect and i need also crc but with this message cluster wakeup for 40seconds and standby again

    Even if i periodic send this messsage same thing , jyoung8607 need some help

  8. #6
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,273
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by CrackerX View Post
    960 dec is 0x3c0 id of gateway
    0x3C0 is not the "ID of the gateway", but the ID of this particular message which contains ignition and start on/off info, which MAY be observed by the instrument cluster.

    Quote Originally Posted by CrackerX View Post
    I send can message id 0x3c0 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff

    I know is incorrect and i need also crc but with this message cluster wakeup for 40seconds and standby again
    The message needs to be sent at 10Hz, and needs to be 4 bytes long instead of the typical 8, and it needs to be correctly structured.

    Did you also look at wiring diagrams to see if the instrument cluster expects terminal 15 ignition-switched power as well as terminal 30, as DrPeter and I outlined above?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrackerX View Post
    Even if i periodic send this messsage same thing , jyoung8607 need some help
    You can easily obtain replayable messages with correct CRCs easily from a running car. Are you a licensed VCDS user? Anyone with VCDS and an OBD Y-cable (to simultaneously connect a CAN sniffer) can observe these messages at the OBD DLC of an operating car without any disassembly or modification, it's an easy procedure. And, depending on what you're trying to do on the bench, this may not be the only message you need to send.
    Silence gives consent.

  9. Likes Uwe liked this post
  10. #7
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    jyoung8607 if you helpme with correct message i willbe so happy.i not have any MQB car to use can sniffer

    my project is to "adapt" TT 8S cluster virtual cockpit to my TT 8J 2009 car

    i connect the new cluster to my TT 8j and nothing works engine speed / wheels speed nothig but now i discovered something new
    my old TT have "special" cluster can output from gateway and the new tt 8s cluster connect on convenience CAN.will do more experiments in weekend

    my second question is ?
    -what will happening if i connect tt 8s gateway on same powertrain can (have two gateways in same time my old gateway and new tt8s gateway)

  11. #8
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,273
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by CrackerX View Post
    jyoung8607 if you helpme with correct message i willbe so happy.i not have any MQB car to use can sniffer

    my project is to "adapt" TT 8S cluster virtual cockpit to my TT 8J 2009 car
    That is... ambitious. Has anyone else done that before?

    Quote Originally Posted by CrackerX View Post
    i connect the new cluster to my TT 8j and nothing works engine speed / wheels speed nothig but now i discovered something new
    my old TT have "special" cluster can output from gateway and the new tt 8s cluster connect on convenience CAN.will do more experiments in weekend
    Yes that's true, the CAN gateway and cluster interconnect changed with MQB.

    Quote Originally Posted by CrackerX View Post
    my second question is ?
    -what will happening if i connect tt 8s gateway on same powertrain can (have two gateways in same time my old gateway and new tt8s gateway)
    I'd pay $5 to see an Auto-Scan from a car with that kind of schizophrenia. I don't think it would end well.

    Speaking of Auto-Scans, let's see some: an Auto-Scan from the car with the factory cluster, and another with the AID installed, to see what kind of mess we're dealing with. Then let's get you Verified and discuss this further in the Retrofits subforum.
    Silence gives consent.

  12. Likes Uwe liked this post
  13. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Today i connect virtual cockpit cluster to 2016 gateway and the powertrain can of gateway to my 2009 tt powertrain can

    Nothing happened

    the tt 8s cluster working on 500kbps from convenience CAN and the tt 8j have 100kbps on this bus

    I think the single solution to make this retrofit is to translate 8s to 8j messages and find solution for component protection.the 8s gateway i think is solution because the cluster standalone on table automatic component protection after 1 hour

    jyoung8607 you can helpme with some can dbc files for audi ?

    I have to make working at least rpm and speed



    Many thanks

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •