Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 102

Thread: Lost remote fob function (7L6 Touareg)

  1. #11
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Hmm, I wonder if Saving a 0 to channel 0 in the CCM at address 46 could have that effect? It would in a vehicle without a Kessy. But I'm not 100% certain how the Kessy and the CCM interact here.

    You didn't do anything with the Kessy itself, and you didn't change the CCM's coding, so that the only possibility that comes to mind.

    Do you have the owner's manual for this vehicle? If so, check if there's anything regarding "Remote Synchronization" or similar in there. It usually involves using one key on the ignition and ignition on while locking the vehicle from the outside with the other key and then doing stuff with the buttons on the remote.

    -Uwe-
    I tried the owner's manual recommendation first. Which is put the key in the ignition and run the car for a bit. Did not work. Tried one key in ignition and one in door procedure, no luck. Tried a couple more I found in online searches.

    I did reprogram 05 with all three keys including the valet key, after the fact. They will all start the car.

  2. #12
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    Are all antennas being seen for FOB's and Kessy?
    No clue. There are no KESSY codes. I DID unplug the small connector at the bottom of each door that supposedly goes to the door button for keyless entry months ago. Remotes worked fine after that. This was a suggestion I found on Club Touareg to try to prevent the battery drain. The only previous "issue" I have had with the remotes is they don't work so well at the tail gate, I have to wave it around the side to pop the trunk. My understanding, and I could be wrong, is the FOB remote antenna runs up one of the A pillars. The door antennas are only for keyless entry. I could be very wrong, but why would it cause an issue now, 6 or more months later? They worked fine before I got into VCDS.

    Now ONE thing I do recall. When checking fuses against the factory owner's manual, there was no fuse in the "individualisation" slot or one of the "key" slots. Those have been replaced. This just reinforces my thinking that the ECU "forgot" the remote function when I ran coding 07 on 19 to eliminate the TPMS warning. Below is the video and procedure I used to get rid of the TPMS warning:

    https://youtu.be/NNcoEvEdwy0

    It worked, maybe TOO well?

  3. #13
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    BTW the theory behind unplugging the connectors: The buttons fail closed. This keeps the KESSY awake waiting to sense a key. I did in fact have a code for one rear door when I unplugged them. I figured if one was bad the others would soon follow. After that things worked as expected but didn't help the battery drain at all. I have verified, with an ammeter from the negative battery terminal to the ground cable, that the radio circuits were drawing almost 3 amps. Pulled the two radio fuses and it dropped to about 0.150 amps or less. Apparently this is ALSO a common cause of dead batteries in the T1 Touaregs.

  4. #14
    Ross-Tech Employee Dana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    3,908
    Post Thanks / Like
    I agree with Uwe meaning Saving a 0 to Channel 0 in 46 probably cleared the remotes (that happens on B8 Audi models where 05 and 46 are one in the same module) but they should have re-learned when you matched all vehicle keys with the PIN.

    Even though the remote batteries aren't extremely old I'd be tempted to put a new one in the nicest key (the one that lived on the key rack rather than a key that was in-use daily). I would also change all of the 46 adaptation values back to the factory settings if you haven't done so already and re-match the keys to the KESSY to see if the remotes function.

    Additional thoughts would include checking 05 and 46 MVBs for the S-contact portion of the ignition switch and remotes/antennas (per Jack's suggestion). The Driver's door needs to be closed (with a proper micro-switch reading) in order to lock the vehicle via remote but it would unlock even with the LF door open or a faulty door latch switch. Likewise, the hatch and panic functions would work.


    Edit, P.S. Uwe or Jack may be able to shed light on this but I don't believe early T'reg support transport mode. That's a CAN thing as explained here but Transport mode would result in non-functional remotes. Another possibility is Factory Mode enabled in a module such as 46 .. but I don't think that applies to the vehicle/module type.

    P.P.S. Since there isn't a lbl file for your 05 module please take a look at the 3D0-909-13x-05.lbl located in C:\Ross-Tech\VCDS\Labels using Notepad. That's going to be extremely close, if not identical to, the module in your vehicle.
    Last edited by Dana; 03-20-2019 at 09:27 AM.

  5. Likes Uwe, Jack@European_Parts, Akron04 liked this post
  6. #15
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,092
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Akron04 View Post
    This just reinforces my thinking that the ECU "forgot" the remote function when I ran coding 07 on 19 to eliminate the TPMS warning. Below is the video and procedure I used to get rid of the TPMS warning:

    https://youtu.be/NNcoEvEdwy0

    It worked, maybe TOO well?
    Well, what that coding does is to cause the Gateway to re-build its installation list based on what it actually finds in in the car at that time. So if you had power pulled from something other than the TPMS module when you did that, it's possible the gateway is now missing an entry for that item too, but I'm not sure what that entry would be.

    In any case, if you're sure everything else is powered as it should be now, there's no harm in repeating that procedure.

    -Uwe-
    Lock-down of sick people: Quarantine
    Lock-down of healthy people: Tyranny

  7. Likes Dana, Akron04 liked this post
  8. #16
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Well, what that coding does is to cause the Gateway to re-build its installation list based on what it actually finds in in the car at that time. So if you had power pulled from something other than the TPMS module when you did that, it's possible the gateway is now missing an entry for that item too, but I'm not sure what that entry would be.

    In any case, if you're sure everything else is powered as it should be now, there's no harm in repeating that procedure.

    -Uwe-

    I just thought of a great way to test this, to see if it can relearn. Replace the TPMS fuse and see if the light comes back on after coding 19 with the same values. I will also do a continuity test on the fuses for CCM and keys. Could be a bad fuse that doesn't look blown. I've had that happen in the past on other cars. In one case it was corroded contacts in another it was broken but not in the normal break spot and hard to see without a magnifying glass. I figure if the TPMS code comes back then it's capable of relearning the installation list right? It wouldn't hurt to put the radio fuses back in either.

  9. #17
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,692
    Post Thanks / Like
    I just thought of a great way to test this, to see if it can relearn. Replace the TPMS fuse and see if the light comes back on after coding 19 with the same values. I will also do a continuity test on the fuses for CCM and keys. Could be a bad fuse that doesn't look blown. I've had that happen in the past on other cars. In one case it was corroded contacts in another it was broken but not in the normal break spot and hard to see without a magnifying glass. I figure if the TPMS code comes back then it's capable of relearning the installation list right? It wouldn't hurt to put the radio fuses back in either.

    No deletes........



    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  10. Likes Akron04 liked this post
  11. #18
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack@European_Parts View Post
    No deletes........


    Yep!

    Well I ran the test. TPMS came back but remotes did not. Checking fuses now...
    Last edited by Uwe; 03-20-2019 at 12:31 PM. Reason: Fixed QUOTE tags

  12. #19
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    18,692
    Post Thanks / Like
    Are Antennas somehow shared somewhere in TPMS with Kessy in tracks for remote functions or supply?

    TPMS deletes for shame dismissed treats?
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  13. Likes Akron04 liked this post
  14. #20
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well two hours at the dealer, charged for one, they cant figure it out. I have an appt with their touareg specialist in two weeks.

    Wondering: buy a used KESSY from eBay and install it and see if that solves it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •