Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: VCDScripter for automating coding tasks

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User hadez16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    610
    Post Thanks / Like

    Lightbulb VCDScripter for automating coding tasks

    Dear Community,

    It was already announced and released in the german VCDS community but I'd like to share it also with the RoW/NAR community.

    The VCDScripter to automate coding tasks



    The idea is to have an easy scripting language to write automation scripts that direct VCDS to do what you want.
    There exist the following commands:

    • StartVCDS
    • CreateAutoscan
    • CreateAdpMap
    • CheckForUnits
    • TestPartNo
    • TestComponent
    • TestAdpChannel
    • LoginToUnit
    • ClearDTCs
    • ClearAllDTCs
    • OpenUnit
    • CloseUnit
    • ChangeCoding
    • ChangeCodingInSub
    • ChangeAdpChannel


    The logical structure is to open a control unit, do something with the control unit, close the control unit, and maybe doing it again with other units, except for commands where the scope is not on a special control unit like ClearAllDTCs.
    An error handling logic is implemented to skip or exit the script if some requirements like part no or component string does not match your requirements for example.

    Everything is localized in english when you open the Scripter from a non-german Windows OS.
    VCDS has to be installed to C:\Ross-Tech\VCDS

    Here you have a link to the english documentation:
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1F0...UqxfcTEooYJm4a

    Another feature is to compile a script to an stand-alone EXE one-click application in order to execute the script on PCs where VCDScripter is not present. (Compile script)
    Screenshot of security question before execution of EXE one-click:


    Scripts can be saved natively in .vsf file format.

    The capabilities are quite huge to establish general scripts for different model years for several purposes.

    There is a little tool in the ZIP that is named AdpmapToVCDScript.exe
    When you drop a CSV adaptation map of a control unit on the EXE file, it will create a script to batch-change adaptation channels. Assure that inplausible channels are removed. Retrofitters could love this when swapping MQB BCMs or MIB units.
    Screenshot of german version:



    VCDS has to be closed and your interface has to be connected to the car prior to run any script.

    Download-Link to the software and an extended description of everything is available in german on my blog:
    https://www.motor-talk.de/blogs/hade...-t6470357.html
    (scroll down to "Download Zip")

    Everything is tested by me on Version 18.9.0 of VCDS.
    Virus-scanners could bother you that the software is malware. Unfortunately this is normal! Please ignore it and/or define an exception!

    VCDScripter has a few limitations and restrictions:
    • Only vehicles are supported that support automatic detection of installed units ("Installed” tab on the control module overview)
    • Short / decimal type of coding is not supported
    • Adaptations based on channel numbers is not supported
    • Only the new interface generation is supported (HEX-V2 or HEX-NET)


    Have fun and tell me your thoughts (or problems)

    Cheers,
    hadez16

    (If you are interested in mending all the issues I got with my girlfriend during development phase, there is a little donation link beneath the download link................)
    Last edited by hadez16; 01-04-2019 at 10:59 AM.

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    402
    Post Thanks / Like
    Consider adding the ability to change the window size horizontally to solve the need to scroll with the mouse so much

    Also searching within the code text field with CTRL+F would be nice.
    Last edited by siLc; 01-04-2019 at 12:07 PM.

  3. Likes hadez16 liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    88
    Post Thanks / Like
    I get "VCDS installation not detected" error on start

  5. #4
    Verified VCDS User hadez16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by icardiag View Post
    I get "VCDS installation not detected" error on start
    Hey there,

    where do you have VCDS installed exactly?

  6. #5
    Verified VCDS User hadez16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by siLc View Post
    Consider adding the ability to change the window size horizontally to solve the need to scroll with the mouse so much

    Also searching within the code text field with CTRL+F would be nice.
    Thank you for your Input!
    You seem to have the plan to write quite huge scripts?

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    88
    Post Thanks / Like
    @hadez16:
    My VCDS is located at C:\MyData\OneDrive\CarDiag\VCDS as I'm synchronizing the same content to all of my 3 computers.

  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User hadez16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by icardiag View Post
    @hadez16:
    My VCDS is located at C:\MyData\OneDrive\CarDiag\VCDS as I'm synchronizing the same content to all of my 3 computers.
    So how does your VCDS work at all?
    See the quote in my opening post:
    VCDS has to be installed to C:\Ross-Tech\VCDS

  9. Likes icardiag liked this post
  10. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    402
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by hadez16 View Post
    Thank you for your Input!
    You seem to have the plan to write quite huge scripts?
    Well, I have a pretty high resolution computer monitor and would like to have a good overview of the whole code. The names of the adaptation channels tend be pretty long and the ends of the code lines aren't visible, like in the last picture in your first post. The user could manually scroll to right but it kind of interrupts the workflow.

    If you could implement being able to resize the VCDScripter program window horizontally and also add the button to maximise to full screen, it would improve the usability of your program tremendously. Even better, being able to have two VCDScripter windows side-by-side filling the whole screen is an advantage. Kind of like this snapping the browser to half-screen like presented here -> https://youtu.be/Bk8yTBLEj3c?t=39
    Last edited by siLc; 01-06-2019 at 12:37 PM.

  11. #9
    Verified VCDS User hadez16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by siLc View Post
    Well, I have a pretty high resolution computer monitor and would like to have a good overview of the whole code. The names of the adaptation channels tend be pretty long and the ends of the code lines aren't visible, like in the last picture in your first post. The user could manually scroll to right but it kind of interrupts the workflow.

    If you could implement being able to resize the VCDScripter program window horizontally and also add the button to maximise to full screen, it would improve the usability of your program tremendously. Even better, being able to have two VCDScripter windows side-by-side filling the whole screen is an advantage. Kind of like this snapping the browser to half-screen like presented here -> https://youtu.be/Bk8yTBLEj3c?t=39
    I'll keep this in my backlog for a next version.
    My first intention was it not to have such a big window as many VCDS users tend to use low res notebooks. As functionality came before GUI features, this is not yet implemented.

    Stay tuned and thanks

  12. Likes Uwe, PetrolDave liked this post
  13. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    502
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by hadez16 View Post
    I'll keep this in my backlog for a next version.
    My first intention was it not to have such a big window as many VCDS users tend to use low res notebooks. As functionality came before GUI features, this is not yet implemented.

    Stay tuned and thanks
    this has nothing to do with your work, I just wanted to add a side note. EVERY TIME I use VCDS I still wonder why the application windows cannot be maximized...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •