Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Change instrument cluster 2001 TT 225

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Change instrument cluster 2001 TT 225

    I want to change my instrument cluster on my 2001 TT 225 as the original does not work properly with dead pixels everywhere and even after changing the centre screen with a new one purchased from eBay it still pixilated after about 30secs.
    So I am hoping to use a second hand unit with approximately the same mileage on it and I'm hoping I can do this using my ross-tech vcds.
    Can anyone help me in layman's terms how to do this please?

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    There are companies who fix the clusters. This seems to be a common failure in Audi TT clusters.

    The cluster repair is around 200 euros. Check here https://totaltronics.com/instrument-...d-replacement/

  3. Likes Uwe, Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  4. #3
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    In order to swap clusters, you would need the immobilizer security ("PIN") codes, both for your car, and for the donor car.

    If you have them, the procedure is here:
    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...uster_Swapping

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  5. Likes Jack@European_Parts liked this post
  6. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you for your advice, how can I obtain the pin for my vehicle as I do not currently have it?

  7. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Get the cluster fixed. You save the hassle of swapping and you can’t be sure the new used cluster isn’t going to fail as well.

  8. Likes Uwe, Fredrick Awuor liked this post
  9. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Your right it's the best option cheers

  10. Likes downtime liked this post
  11. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Got it fixed at totaltronics.com, so professional fantastic service would recommend 100%

  12. Likes downtime, Uwe liked this post
  13. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    That is good to hear. And it probably was cheaper that sourcing a new used cluster, getting it coded and mileage corrected. And it still could fail. Now you know it won’t

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •