Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Speedo reading 30% fast (2007 Audi A4)

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like

    Speedo reading 30% fast (2007 Audi A4)

    2007 A4 Avant bought used. The speed shown in the digital information display after a reset is approximately correct, within a few %. I have read the blogs on the adaptation to adjust this but have not yet tried to "get it perfect". The speed shown for each wheel from the ABS module is also correct (about 3% low compared to GPS). However, the speed shown on the analog speedometer is approx 30% high.

    I have recently replaced the Canadian kph speedo backing plate with a mph/kph one from a USA unit, which involved having the speedo disconnected for an hour or so, but it was reading fast by the same amount before I did this. The position of the speeds on the two dials are the same.

    I found the coding for the instrument module to be curious. Digits 3 & 4 decode to an entry listed as:
    3. K-number (Rental cars)
    Is that correct or has someone swapped in a different unit? It would not allow me to re-code that. The speedo being so far out smells of a mismatched coding or type or a setting it just doesn't understand. This was not originally purchased as a rental car - I have the original log book and paperwork.

    If any other modules are relevant, i can post them. Haven't yet figured how to insert the full log file in the blog with a scroll bar...

    VIN: WAUKF78E07A112234 License Plate:
    Mileage: 169830km-105527mi Repair Order:

    Address 03: ABS Brakes Labels: 8E0-910-517.clb
    Part No SW: 8E0 910 517 J HW: 8E0 614 517 BH
    Component: ESP8 quattro H06 0140
    Revision: 00000000 Serial number: 00000000000000
    Coding: 0004528
    Shop #: WSC 06335 000 00000
    VCID: 2E05F3AFFC104F473CA-807A

    No fault code found.

    Address 17: Instruments Labels: 8E0-920-9xx-8EC.lbl
    Part No SW: 8E0 920 901 E HW: 8E0 920 901 E
    Component: KOMBI+WFS 4 H14 0120
    Revision: 0120 Serial number: 00000000000000
    Coding: 0023261
    Shop #: WSC 49857 512 00000
    VCID: 270B068BD3FA1E0FFFC-5184

    1 Fault Found:
    01176 - Key
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent

  2. #2
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,735
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't see any coding option that would explain what you describe.

    What does the vehicle speed in MVB 001.1 of the instrument cluster show?

    What happens when you do Output Tests on the instrument cluster? One of the tests in the sequence should do a full sweep of the speedometer, after which it should settle and remain at 100 km/h (62 mph) for a bit.

    -Uwe-
    Lock-down of sick people: Quarantine
    Lock-down of healthy people: Tyranny

  3. Likes jyoung8607, NZDubNurd, BobFisher liked this post
  4. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Uwe, it’s not the instrument that is malfunctioning, it’s the user. The backing plates are different and I saw what I wanted to see instead of what was there. The 12 o/clock position is 100 kph on the metric one and approx 100 mph on the dual one. Therefore, unless anyone knows that it is possible to flip a cluster between USA and Canada operation, I think I have to have the local dealer swap the cluster and re-register it. The one I got the backing plate from should be compatible: 2006 USA A4.

    There is a setting in the coding for Canada / USA but that just changed the default readout units (same as can be done from the wheel stalk) and did not change the sensitivity of the analog readout.

    Pretty sure that the incompatibility is very intentional by VAG to keep the markets separate.

  5. #4
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27,735
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BobFisher View Post
    Therefore, unless anyone knows that it is possible to flip a cluster between USA and Canada operation
    I do not think this is possible via the ordinary diagnostic APIs that VCDS uses.

    I suspect it's possible using methods, possibly by flashing different software into the cluster or by changing some tables in its EEPROM, but I'm not certain.

    -Uwe-
    Lock-down of sick people: Quarantine
    Lock-down of healthy people: Tyranny

  6. #5
    NostraJackAss Jack@European_Parts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    1001 State Route 17K Montgomery New York 12549
    Posts
    19,200
    Post Thanks / Like
    You could manually move the needle at base setting with using either a car next to you on highway, with cell call & while logging in VCDS or using the sound radar machine like the state police use to track speeds. This works the easiest when no maps are present for adaption.
    In some cases a resistor can be used with aid of decade box to interrupt the signal for calibration of speed sensor.
    European Parts Emporium/Performance / Immobilizer Solutions EPE
    Certified Master Trained NY/BAR/BAD 7076062/ASE/SAE/NASTF Legal Factory Authorized/Licensed GeKo/FaZit # 403738
    Specializing in Custom Services IE: "welding-fabrication" / EPA-SMOG Update or Pass-Thru-Programming / Data Transfer / Immobilizers & OEM Quality Parts
    Above Magic! No Written record, AUTO-SCAN or Appointment = NO HELP!
    www.FixMyEuro.com <<<<<CLICK HERE! or vwemporium@aol.com ( JPPSG & Unverified members need not PM me & Please don't email or call facility for free tech support...use the forum )
    Getting you CONTROL again of your property - TAKE IT! In Conjunction with.........

  7. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    I found a more straightforward solution. https://www.lockwoodinternational.co.../mph/audi.html
    have the appropriate custom backing plate to display a kph cluster readout in mph for 60 GBP and they ship worldwide. This will work for me since the backing plates are not difficult to swap. This may help others in the future.

  8. Likes Uwe, NZDubNurd, Jack@European_Parts liked this post

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •