Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: HEX-NET via NET vs USB experiences.

  1. #21
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Were you running this via USB or WiFi, and if WiFi, AP mode or Infrastructure mode?

    -Uwe-
    Wifi AP mode.

    USB works fine all along.

  2. #22
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,580
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    OK, so an old TDI ECU and a Win 8.1 tablet don't play nice together in AP mode, but are fine on USB, is that a correct summary?

    Remind me, what tablet you have.

    -Uwe-

  3. #23
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    OK, so an old TDI ECU and a Win 8.1 tablet don't play nice together in AP mode, but are fine on USB, is that a correct summary?

    Remind me, what tablet you have.

    -Uwe-
    I bought this Win8.1 tablet since the HEX-NET didn't do close to what I had expected through the VCDS mobile, I had hoped this device would help me simplify and make the gadget toolbox smaller (in every way) on the other hand it has only increased the hassle and added the need for additional devices so far!

    Same on the Eurovans the vehicles two completely different 1999 Eurovans (one mine one a customers) same on my 2002 Eurovan.

    It was on the 98 TDI ecu it did work pls see my post quote below:



    Quote Originally Posted by BaraJag View Post
    Unfortunately when I now finally had time and tried it on the same vehicle (EV 99) as I did when I started this thread all I get is no response from controller, restarted VCDS a number of time, even restarted the computer after the BETA update, and the HEX-NET of course also wanted it's SW updated so I did that too.

    Same thing happened on my 2002 Eurovan so I don't believe it is the vehicle.

    It did communicate with my 1998 TDI ECU (it's not in the 98 body any more) but did not once display any numbers in the fields at the top, where you have VAG number etc etc, only way I knew it was connected was I the fault codes and measure blocks became available to click on.

    Also an odd thing on the 98 TDI is that when using the WIN8.1 tablet and Hex-Net in NET mode the TDI timing will NOT show it shows just fine in USB mode.

    P.S. The little I tested VCDS mobile it however seemed faster after the sw update!

  4. #24
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    So I am going to post it in this same thread since it's basically the same topic as this thread started with.

    First off the tablet has the newest Beta VCDS software and the HEX NET was updated too recently (although that was a major major pain to get completed, took like 3-4 attempts)

    Anyhow so I have been using the cable 99% of the time since the wifi has been so unreliable and I really don't have time to fiddle around and gamble on the wifi when I am trying to fix a car (not trying to fix the VCDS...).

    So just today had a little more time on a 2004 T-reg that we were trying to calibrate the suspension level control, after five attempts using WIFI AP mode, and yeah it would lock up every single time, only once out of the five times did it even go beyond the "wait" status, but even that time it locked up.

    So now my question are:

    A) Is this something related to the chipset (as it seems you were able to reproduce the issues)
    http://forums.ross-tech.com/showthre...ull=1#post1092

    B) So in case this is a chipset related issue, has there been any progress in the past four months on this?

    C) Should I just look to buy a different tablet?

    After having read a couple other threads maybe it's not at all "my" end but the wifi inside the HEX-NET?

    http://forums.ross-tech.com/showthre...ull=1#post6341
    Last edited by BaraJag; 08-01-2014 at 01:08 AM.

  5. #25
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,580
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BaraJag View Post
    A) Is this something related to the chipset (as it seems you were able to reproduce the issues)
    http://forums.ross-tech.com/showthre...ull=1#post1092
    That was primarily an issue with certain older WiFi chips in devices and should not be a problem with a Venue 8 Pro.

    Quote Originally Posted by BaraJag View Post
    After having read a couple other threads maybe it's not at all "my" end but the wifi inside the HEX-NET?
    http://forums.ross-tech.com/showthre...ull=1#post6341
    Correct, there are still some WiFi issues. We are working with our vendor, and they are working with the WiFi module vendor. At this point, that's the biggest reason why the HEX-NET isn't out of Beta yet, at least as an interface for VCDS running on a PC.

    -Uwe-

  6. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  7. #26
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    That was primarily an issue with certain older WiFi chips in devices and should not be a problem with a Venue 8 Pro.


    Correct, there are still some WiFi issues. We are working with our vendor, and they are working with the WiFi module vendor. At this point, that's the biggest reason why the HEX-NET isn't out of Beta yet, at least as an interface for VCDS running on a PC.

    -Uwe-
    So I was just going to post on here yesterday that it seems it is much more stable now, was even able to fully log a car over WIFI and the Dell Venue Pro 8.

    However right after that I was curious to see how it would look on my new iPhone 6+ whereby I got this message, maybe this belongs in another thread? Maybe there is one already (will go looking after I post this).

    I tried multiple times to turn off and on the WIFI and pull out the VCDS module and back in, nothing, still the same message


  8. #27
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by BaraJag View Post
    However right after that I was curious to see how it would look on my new iPhone 6+ whereby I got this message, maybe this belongs in another thread? Maybe there is one already (will go looking after I post this).

    I tried multiple times to turn off and on the WIFI and pull out the VCDS module and back in, nothing, still the same message


    Scratch that just tested it on my own car and works just fine.

    The car giving me issues with the iP6+ yesterday allthough communicating just fine with the Dell Venue pro, also had issues communicating with an ECU reader/flasher device so who knows...

    I'll just leave the iP6 comment up here "out there" just in case someone else has the same weirdness, step one try in another car

  9. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  10. #28
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    24,580
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    In principle, whatever might be up with that car shouldn't affect your ability to connect to the HEX-NET via WiFi. With older versions of the HEX-NET firmware, only one client could connect to it when it was in AP mode, and when another one tried, it wouldn't be able to. However, that shouldn't be the case anymore, assuming your HEX-NET is fully up-to-date?

    -Uwe-

  11. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  12. #29
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    82
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    In principle, whatever might be up with that car shouldn't affect your ability to connect to the HEX-NET via WiFi.
    Yeah that did cross my mind after I typed that too that shouldn't have anything to do with the wifi part..

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    I
    With older versions of the HEX-NET firmware, only one client could connect to it when it was in AP mode, and when another one tried, it wouldn't be able to. However, that shouldn't be the case anymore, assuming your HEX-NET is fully up-to-date?

    -Uwe-
    I've not updated in a while, I think since the last one that it required to do, I'll have to check on that THANKS!

  13. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  14. #30
    Verified VCDS User Vairis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    The problem is solved?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •