Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: update 14.10.0 ?

  1. #11
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,474
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by jakematic View Post
    Have run into the same thing with shortcuts - got ultra confused on this update versus the beta that was still installed
    Confused how? Betas and releases install in different folders by default. A beta shouldn't interfere with an existing release installation, and a new release installation shouldn't interfere with an existing beta installation.

    -Uwe-

  2. #12
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Confused how? Betas and releases install in different folders by default.
    The first thing I do is delete all the shortcuts.
    In Win8.1 it's easier to let it make them, which is not my SOP, because it puts tiles on the Start pane.

    However I had manually put the Beta there, and after the update clicked the shortcut and 14.9 showed up.
    Swapped the tiles and all was good.

    On the upside the auto-update popup isn't showing only on Start for the other screen when using RDP
    Last edited by jakematic; 11-05-2014 at 09:10 PM. Reason: typographical


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  3. #13
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    26,474
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    I guess I'll have to fiddle with 8.1 on the Venue at some point to see if I can reproduce that -- after I get back. ;-)

    -Uwe-

  4. #14
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    hmmmmm............. contemplating a full uninstall & re-install as the previous version seemed a little better but not as it was, seemed laggy & unresponsive at times & after carrying out basic settings i had to cycle the ignition because it knocked boost control out (was basic settings 120), could this be the firmware update as before it was perfect ??

  5. #15
    FoRT jyoung8607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,409
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Robski View Post
    hmmmmm............. contemplating a full uninstall & re-install as the previous version seemed a little better but not as it was, seemed laggy & unresponsive at times & after carrying out basic settings i had to cycle the ignition because it knocked boost control out (was basic settings 120), could this be the firmware update as before it was perfect ??
    Anything is possible, but if the FW update broke things, I would think there would be more complaints on the forum. It's been in the Betas for a couple months, and the older 12.12.3 release for several weeks. I've used my HUC interface with at least three cars, one CAN and two K-line without incident, and I'm on Windows 8.1 as well. Also, from what I understand, the FW update was issued primarily to fix a very specific K-line comms bug that shouldn't affect your CAN-based vehicle.

    I know it's not what you want to hear, but it seems likely to be something localized to your workstation. Did anything change there? Anything that hogs CPU, like a virus scanner, or anything that messes with power management/CPU state can affect the real-time responsiveness needed by the vehicle diagnostic protocols. If you were running on battery, if possible, try doing a scan with your laptop plugged into AC power from your house/garage. It can help prevent the CPU from aggressively throttling down to save power. My laptop definitely does better on AC power.

    Jason

  6. Likes Eric, Uwe liked this post
  7. #16
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by jyoung8607 View Post
    Anything is possible, but if the FW update broke things, I would think there would be more complaints on the forum. It's been in the Betas for a couple months, and the older 12.12.3 release for several weeks. I've used my HUC interface with at least three cars, one CAN and two K-line without incident, and I'm on Windows 8.1 as well. Also, from what I understand, the FW update was issued primarily to fix a very specific K-line comms bug that shouldn't affect your CAN-based vehicle.

    I know it's not what you want to hear, but it seems likely to be something localized to your workstation. Did anything change there? Anything that hogs CPU, like a virus scanner, or anything that messes with power management/CPU state can affect the real-time responsiveness needed by the vehicle diagnostic protocols. If you were running on battery, if possible, try doing a scan with your laptop plugged into AC power from your house/garage. It can help prevent the CPU from aggressively throttling down to save power. My laptop definitely does better on AC power.

    Jason
    Jason thanks for the reply, I have installed the latest version on another hard drive to give it a try.Nothing has changed (not by me anyway) before the update & firmware update, so I will see how it goes now ?

  8. #17
    Verified VCDS User Keithuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Stoke on Trent, England
    Posts
    674
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well when I had Win8.0 I installed Classic Shell because I hated having no Start button.
    New User Keith

    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB, 5 Door, Shadow Blue (P6/D5Q), Flat Tyre Indicator, Basic Protection Pack + VCDS.

  9. #18
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    NC USA
    Posts
    812
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by jyoung8607 View Post
    Anything that hogs CPU, like a virus scanner
    One thing I have noticed is Windows Defender goes a little crazy for some time after installing any new program or updates.

    Robski- I presume you didn't install the update and immediately try to use it? Keep us posted.


    2012 A8L 4.2 Oolong/Titanium. Premium, LED, Driver assist, Rear seat comfort, Dual pane, Alcantara, Panorama

  10. #19
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    One thing I have noticed is Windows Defender goes a little crazy for some time after installing any new program or updates.

    Robski- I presume you didn't install the update and immediately try to use it? Keep us posted.
    No Jake I didn't try right away, I don't have windows defender running neither, I will keep you posted when I next use it

  11. #20
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like
    It's been a while as I've not had much in the way of the VAG range.......... BUT on a 2005 Skoda Superb 2.5 TDI (EDC15) today it was very laggy & when trying to clear DTC's in 01 i was getting an error warning saying the module won't allow me to clear (did in OBD-II), also laggy going through MVB's, the egg timer was hanging about with the cursor & when closing VCDS down it went away. I am really wishing I never updated & left it at vers 12.X.X.

    Is there another update due out anytime soon as my user experience isn't what it used to be & my trust of the tool is wearing thin ?

    EDIT: this is another HDD to when I first opened this thread.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •