Brake issue

tomjv

Verified VCDS User
Verified
Reaction score
VCDS Serial number
C?ID=225496
Hello all, I'm new to Ross Tech, but not new to VWs. This is like my 5th one.

My question is: WHAT'S THE PROPER WAY TO USE ROSS TECH TO BLEED THE ABS, (EXACTLY!).

History: Last month I bought this 2003 Golf VR6 with 84K on the clock. The brakes were "weak" when I bought it. The pedal was firm, and consistent but the car didn't stop well. I thought it was cheesy pads(...seen it before).

When I got it home, first thing I did was change the pads and bed them. It didn't have any effect. I also noted the inboard side of both front rotors were a rusted mess so I changed them too(before the bedding).
Long story short, I've rebuilt the front calipers, installed SS Brake lines, Tyrolsport Metal bushings, new rotors, new pads and bled the system(several times). No soap.
I have vacuum and the master seems to hold pressure('til today). It's my best guess that either the fronts are really weak(pressure wise) or one circuit is out. Both backs look "textbook". Also, the car sort-of fishtails when you get on the brakes.

Today, thinking I had air in the ABS, I tried to use Ross Tech to bleed the ABS followed by a system bleed. In the end it's worse than ever. The pedal is mush and the car doesn't stop. It's basically undrivable now.
I guess I did it wrong somehow. I followed the directions, but they're pretty cryptic.
For instance:
When it says hold the pedal, then the system kicks in and the pedal drops . . . what do I do? (I was carful NEVER to drive the pedal to the floor).
When it says pump the pedal 10x, is that with two people opening and closing the valves? I had it set up with catch bottles and tubes into an inch of product. How fast and hard do I pump the pedal?
I kept getting mega air from the passenger side front(like LOTS of air). Why is that? After a while, it seemed to stop, but I guess not because it's a mess now.
That's all for now, THANKS!
TomJV

Jack@European_Parts