Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Memory Seats Retrofit S5 F5 B9 - SPORTBACK

  1. #1
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like

    Angry Memory Seats Retrofit S5 F5 B9 - SPORTBACK

    Hi All,

    Has anyone done a memory seat retrofit on a S5 Sportback?

    On the Coupe this is considerably easier as the memory seats module is in place already for the rear entry, on a Sportback though they leave it off, not something I realised till already installing the buttons and new trim!

    Is this just a case of putting the module in place, in its holder and changing the seat wiring loom for the new connections to the motors or am I missing anything

    Cheers, Andy

  2. #2
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    87
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have no idea how this ended https://forums.ross-tech.com/showthr...es-on-AutoScan
    But I am in the same boat. Luckily for me, I noticed in my scan that module 06 and 36 were missing.

  3. #3
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Haha That's my car he is talking about

  4. #4
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    87
    Post Thanks / Like
    Please keep this and maybe the other post updated. I'd like to know too. For me it's no so much the memory seats as the Easy Entry that is more interesting, as we are single driver household.

  5. #5
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yeah, the easy entry is a strange one as it was in the MMI on my S5 when I collected it even though it has no Seat Memory!

    Will keep you in the loop

  6. #6
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    First off the S5 should have memory modules even if you don't have the buttons on the door. This has been standard on most of the A5 coupes since the start of the B8's.

    As far as retrofitting into the Sport-back..

    Short answer is yes it can be done. I've done it on a B9 A4 which is just about the same vehicle.

    Long Answer:

    You will need the
    1) door trim
    2) memory switch
    3) Memory Switch plug
    4) 5 Pins I think for the memory plug and 3 for the door module plug. 2 others tap in.
    5) 2 wiring harnesses for the seat (as both the back and bottom are different)
    6) Can bus wire to run to the gateway from seat (comfort bus)
    7) 2 pins for the bottom existing plug for the can bus wire
    8) Module Holder
    9) Module
    10) Seat switch
    11) VCDS for coding

    extended info...

    The modules vary, but from what I can tell you need a module with no revision. as in no letter at the end. I know they make different modules based on years but I used a 4M0 module on car that should have 4M4 and it worked perfect.
    You need a used module.. Good Luck.. Took me forever to find one but it may be because of where I'm living now. Not everyone will ship here. You can get a new module but you need to find someone with a comparable car to take it into the dealer and get it loaded with parameters.
    Now I don't know the last for sure but it's a fairly good bet since Audi and VW are using parameters for just about all their modules now a days. There is no online protection for seat modules. No dealer trip needed.

    Seat harnesses.

    You can cheat here. The original harnesses are not that expensive, however. If you want to save some money and pain of replacing the rear seat harness you can simply cut the 1 plug that goes up into the back of the seat from your original harness and use it to replace the 2 plugs the new harness uses.
    Will require some cutting and soldering to do properly. You will be left with one extra wire on the old plug that that the new one doesn't use. If you choose to use a new harness no big deal. Just make sure you have lots of different sized trim tools and patients to get the old harness removed and the new one in its place.

    Good Luck.

    P.S. Coding.. If you get a used module that is opposite of your car I.E. RHD, LHD. It's fine but the coding is different and you will need to re code.
    If you want Easy entry and exit, enable it in the module and make sure you enable electric steering column in module 9. That will bring up the menu entry in the MIB and make the feature work. It will not cause any errors.

    Best Regards,

    David

  7. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  8. #7
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like
    @VAG_David - Thanks for the really useful post, will let you know how I get on when the controller mounting and seat harness arrive!

  9. #8
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    I just recalled. You do need both seat harnesses no matter what. Some of the wiring plugs into the module on a separate plug than the main base harness. You can either buy plugs and mess around or get the second harness and modify it using what I mentioned above so you don't need to replace the entire back harness.
    it will all make sense when you see the harness and module.

  10. #9
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Not sure what you mean by 'both' seat harnesses David?

    I have 8W0 971 366 EA on order which I believe is the seat wiring harness I need, is there a second one too?

  11. #10
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes there are 2. I didn't notice that at first either. But there is one for the seat back and one for the seat base.. You did order new seat switch controller as well I hope.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •