Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 55

Thread: 2018 Audi A3 quattro - Can you enable ACC?

  1. #21
    Verified VCDS User Mattias Ekström's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    guys I have no idea what I'm doing here, can someone please guide me on where I an turn ACC on?

  2. #22
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,179
    Post Thanks / Like
    You can't. You have the hardware for it but you don't have the FeC codes in your car to enable it. And no way to get them officially.

    Options are to get a hacked radar or try the route Chinese are offering which is some way to fake the FeC codes. Latter option is risky as VAG will have ways in some time to counter this.

    Those are your options.

  3. Likes Uwe liked this post
  4. #23
    Verified VCDS User Mattias Ekström's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    What re FeC codes?

  5. #24
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    123
    Post Thanks / Like
    I think it stands for Feature enablement Code, it's a code that is used to... well, enable features in your car. But it can only be done by dealer and only if the feature you want to enable, is available to purchase. Which in this case is not, since manufacturer has decided to not offer ACC for your car as retrofit. So they can not enable it for you.

  6. Likes downtime, Uwe liked this post
  7. #25
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,179
    Post Thanks / Like
    Feature enable Code

    VW also calls these as a SWaP, Software as a Product because some FeC codes are sellable as aftermarket products. For example, driver fatigue detection on some VAG brands, driver profile selection etc. ACC as it's a safety feature and people can really f*ck up the installation, is not sold as SWaP.

    The beauty here is that the car might have all the required hardware for ACC, but you won't be able to enable it as you cannot obtain the FeC for it legally. So basically VAG would be able to make some more money by selling you the ACC as a SWaP and you would then be able to enable it through authorized service workshop.
    But, what if there's an accident due to ACC not working properly? And it would be found out that the reason was some glitch in the system due the system not originally been sold as ACC but as only front-assist? Think about the massive lawsuit VAG would face.

    Edit :

    Sorry, Mika was faster
    Last edited by downtime; 09-04-2018 at 02:16 AM.

  8. Likes Mika_M, Uwe liked this post
  9. #26
    Verified VCDS User Mattias Ekström's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    So is there a way to do this or not? I don't care about the finalities. Has anyone done this?

  10. #27
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,179
    Post Thanks / Like
    Search this forum. There’s already at least two successful ACC retrofits in a very short time and the other one wrote an excellent guide what is needed and how to do it.

  11. #28
    Verified VCDS User Mattias Ekström's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by downtime View Post
    Search this forum. There’s already at least two successful ACC retrofits in a very short time and the other one wrote an excellent guide what is needed and how to do it.
    Thank you for your assistance. I used a myriad of search criteria including "adaptive, cruise, control, 8V, A3" and was unable to locate the specific thread. Do you have a link or additional search variables I can try?

  12. #29
    Verified VCDS User Mattias Ekström's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Also I don't believe I will have to retro fit any hardware as I already the front radar sensor.

    Would these be the steps?

    https://translate.googleusercontent....0e6qC1TfwjjAaQ

  13. #30
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,179
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hhmm no. For the seventh time. You cannot just enable ACC even you have the front radar. You need to have a corresponding FeC enabled which is not possible. Your only option is to replace the radar unit with early MRR or LRR radar unit.
    I'll find the thread for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •