Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Active Info Display (AID) Retrofit Guide for Golf Alltrack

  1. #11
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    I also had the passenger side air vent and headlight switch piece wrapped to match the rest of the interior trim (like in the R and GTI models) and I switched the storage bin lid from the "Alltrack" to the "4Motion" version.

    I've always felt the Alltrack should have come with the 4Motion badge instead, as in the 4Motion SportWagen and Golf R models. It is, after all, what's powering the car.

  2. #12
    Verified VCDS User @DRI@N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    @bbusato

    Hello

    I have some questions about your AID RETROFIT .
    1. The coding of DISCOVER PRO (5F) it was made of you personally with VCDS or only some of it ?
    2. I have an Passat B8 2.0 BiTDI which I done same Retrofit but unfortunately for me my AID do not show the map .

    My problem is related to the fact that at 5F at Byte 22 I have on :
    Bit 0 byte_22_Dashboard_Graphic_Variant,0=MOST / 1=via CAN
    Bit 1 byte _22_Dashboard_Text_Replacement,On
    Bit 2 byte_22_bap_sds_sd,On
    Bit 3 byte_22_bap_online_functions_secondary_display,On
    Bit 4 byte_22_Touch_Screen_Remote,On
    Bit 5 byte_22_Keypad_Rear Keys,Available
    The Only Bit found enabled Bit 0

    In ADAPTATION of 5F I found the channels of which you say :

    Dashboard_Display_Configuration-ability_switch_nav_maps ---> On (enables the toggle switch on the touch screen)
    Dashboard_Display_Configuration-call_picture ---> On
    Dashboard_Display_Configuration-fastlist_most ---> On
    Dashboard_Display_Configuration-navigation_map_compression_mode ---> H264
    Dashboard_Display_Configuration-navigation_map_transmission_mode ---> MOST_streaming

    but unfortunately for me and my car when I want to activate that channels I receive answer of VCDS "Functions NOT AVAILABLE" .

    I give you bellow a part of VCDS scan which contains the modules 5F and 17 with request to look at them and if you can help me with some advice for activating the map display on AID .

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 17: Instruments (J285) Labels:| 5G0-920-XXX-17.clb-SRI3
    Part No SW: 3G0 920 798 A HW: 3G0 920 798 A
    Component: KOMBI F15 0460
    Coding: 00F40019FFAC000801897E2B7003000000000000
    Shop #: WSC 00046 123 12345
    ASAM Dataset: EV_DashBoardVDDMQBAB 009041
    ROD: EV_DashBoardVDDMQBAB_VW48.rod
    VCID: 2E060675B0980C37D38-807A

    No fault code found.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 5F: Information Electr. (J794) Labels:| 5G0-035-MIB-HGH2.clb
    Part No SW: 3G0 035 044 HW: 3G0 035 044
    Component: MU-H-TN-EU H33 0199
    Serial number: A293G0EB001148
    Coding: 02840101FF0F000071110002000808101F0100A4C120A20FDF
    Shop #: WSC 12345 123 12345
    ASAM Dataset: EV_MUHig4CGen2HBAS 001001
    ROD: EV_MUHig4CGen2HBAS_VW37.rod
    VCID: 5AEE9AA59C9030975F0-800E

    Operating And Display Unit 1:
    Subsystem 1 - Part No SW: 5G0 919 606 HW: 5G0 919 606
    Component: ABT_High H61 0031
    Serial number: VWZ8Z9PS100J72

    Data medium:
    Subsystem 2 - Part No SW: V03 959 800 QT HW: -----------
    Component: ECE 2018/2019 --- 0169
    Serial number: --------------------

    Compact Disc Database:
    Subsystem 3 - Part No SW: V03 959 800 EG HW: -----------
    Component: Gracenote2 --- 1008
    Serial number: --------------------

    No fault code found.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Waiting Your Advice .
    Best regards .

  3. #13
    Verified VCDS User @DRI@N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Map view on Passat B8 2015 AID = Solved !

    But I have the last two questions for you @bbusato :

    1. Did you ever use ODIS, or just only VCDS for this retrofit ?
    2. If you use only VCDS, how you solved COMPONENT PROTECTION & IMMO with VCDS ?
    Last edited by @DRI@N; 09-05-2018 at 02:30 AM.

  4. Likes jyoung8607 liked this post
  5. #14
    Verified VCDS User Spacewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by @DRI@N View Post
    Map view on Passat B8 2015 AID = Solved !

    But I have the last two questions for you @bbusato :

    1. Did you ever use ODIS, or just only VCDS for this retrofit ?
    2. If you use only VCDS, how you solved COMPONENT PROTECTION & IMMO with VCDS ?
    always use both
    HOT HOT HOT VW Touran 2005 with ACC HOT HOT HOT

  6. #15
    Verified VCDS User Blade3562's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by bbusato View Post
    @Blade3562 - Any VW dealership can code a compatible cluster via ODIS to your vehicle using a VAS6150 scan tool. Mileage is done at the time of coding and can only be altered if the cluster has less than 100km. I used a brand new cluster, so changing the mileage wasn't an issue in my case. It's the very same procedure to code an AID as it is to code an analog cluster (say the one your car came with stopped working and needed replaced). Coding with ODIS will not change any of the long coding bytes in module 17 though, so you'll have to figure out what the correct settings are for your specific Golf model and use VCDS to fix them accordingly. Make sure module 5F (MIB2 headunit) is plugged in and take all of your keys with you when you take your car in.
    This may be more for Uwe, but I notice the mileage always seems to be a couple off with a VCDS scan. I'm mainly concerned about getting a number wrong and "bricking" a new display. Lol. I finally have the funds for this, super excited to knock it out. Staying MIB1 for a bit then upgrading to 2.5 discover pro over winter. Then once I get the kinks worked out on my Golf I'll upgrade the wagon. I drove an r with the AID and that was the final nail in the coffin!

  7. #16
    Benevolent Dictator Uwe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    22,983
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Blade3562 View Post
    This may be more for Uwe, but I notice the mileage always seems to be a couple off with a VCDS scan.
    The place VCDS fetches it from generally doesn't have the least significant digit of the mileage (which is actually in km).

    -Uwe-
    The engineering problems are likely insurmountable. It would be like proposing to land a rocket booster section on a barge floating in the middle of the ocean.

  8. #17
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by @DRI@N View Post
    Map view on Passat B8 2015 AID = Solved !
    For the benefit of others who might encounter your problem, can you explain how you solved the issue?

  9. #18
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Just as an FYI...

    Contrary to bbusato's instructions in his initial post,
    ENG122230-ENG142097-Dashboard_Display_Configuration-ability_switch_nav_maps needed to be set to OFF for NavMaps to work in my AID.

    Is this because my car's a 2015? Because it's a retrofit MIB2? I don't know.

  10. #19
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Nuje View Post
    Just as an FYI...

    Contrary to bbusato's instructions in his initial post,
    ENG122230-ENG142097-Dashboard_Display_Configuration-ability_switch_nav_maps needed to be set to OFF for NavMaps to work in my AID.

    Is this because my car's a 2015? Because it's a retrofit MIB2? I don't know.
    That's because you have Discover Pro rather than Discover Media; Discover Pro can display the map on both the infotainment display and the AID at the same time.

  11. #20
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by @DRI@N View Post
    Map view on Passat B8 2015 AID = Solved !

    But I have the last two questions for you @bbusato :

    1. Did you ever use ODIS, or just only VCDS for this retrofit ?
    2. If you use only VCDS, how you solved COMPONENT PROTECTION & IMMO with VCDS ?

    Hello @DRI@N,

    How you solved this problem I receive answer of VCDS "Functions NOT AVAILABLE" ? You change the MIB2 with PRO ? I have the same problem.....

    tnx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •