Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 79 of 79

Thread: Audi side assist canbus connection

  1. #71
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Just completed the loom by-pass test.
    Same warning light error message on both sides.
    I guess that confirms that it is the module(s).

    The correct part numbers for my car are 8T0 907 566b/568b but they seem to be in short supply.
    Can I use modules with similar numbers like 8U0 907 566 (i think from a Q3) or any other 8*0 907 566, either as they come or after re-programming if possible?

  2. #72
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    133
    Post Thanks / Like
    You sure it isnt 566 and 590 part number wise?
    Q7 272PS | ABT Tuned to 325PS / 680Nm | Tech Pack | Dynamic Pack | Matrix Lights | Pan Roof | Trailer | Drv+Pass Mem Seats | TV | N-Vision | BOSE | DVD Changer | Homelink | Soft Door Close | Heat+Sound Ins Glass | Priv Glass | Heated Windscreen | Heated Steer Wheel | Adv Key | Elec Boot Cover | Side Assist | Air Suspension | Ambient Lighting | Heated+Fold Mirrors | Park Assist Pack | Load Fix Kit | Black Turbine Alloys | Matte Black Wrap

  3. #73
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    8T0 907 566/568 are the correct numbers according to my online catalogue and Norwich Audi.
    8T0 907 590 isn't recognised as a valid part number.

  4. #74
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    133
    Post Thanks / Like
    Fair do's .. was a long shot. 566 and 590 are on the MLBEvo platform like Q7 4M etc.
    Q7 272PS | ABT Tuned to 325PS / 680Nm | Tech Pack | Dynamic Pack | Matrix Lights | Pan Roof | Trailer | Drv+Pass Mem Seats | TV | N-Vision | BOSE | DVD Changer | Homelink | Soft Door Close | Heat+Sound Ins Glass | Priv Glass | Heated Windscreen | Heated Steer Wheel | Adv Key | Elec Boot Cover | Side Assist | Air Suspension | Ambient Lighting | Heated+Fold Mirrors | Park Assist Pack | Load Fix Kit | Black Turbine Alloys | Matte Black Wrap

  5. #75
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    637
    Post Thanks / Like
    Can you try one thing to trick the modules, what if you add some more load to the led modules by using a resistor in parallel?

  6. #76
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    368
    Post Thanks / Like
    Dont these modules need parameterization?
    Current:
    2018 Tiguan AD Highline 2.0 BiTDI 240hp > Stage 1+ 328hp
    2016 Polo 6C Highline 1.0 TSI 105hp

  7. #77
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    637
    Post Thanks / Like
    If they are used modules they are parameterized already.

  8. #78
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sorry its been so long since I updated this thread but I've been away on holiday and frankly needed a break from Audi electrics!
    When I got back I once again went through the wiring to check for errors but couldn't find anything wrong.
    I decided it was time to admit defeat and take the car to an Audi retrofit expert and see if they could spot where i was going wrong.
    Today I drove down to HazzyDayz near St Albans and sure enough they identified my error.
    Its a little difficult to explain but here goes:
    According to the wiring diagram, there are both switched and permanent supplies to the modules. I took supply from two spare fuse positions in the dashboard fuse box, one switched and one permanent
    I had always wondered why the modules needed both switched and permanent but assumed the wiring diagram was correct.
    In fact the "permanent" supply originates from the modules and not as a separate supply from the fuse box. This wasn't how I interpreted the diagram as it refers to B310 as a "30" connection within the wiring harness which I thought was a permanent 12v and hence hooked it up to the fuse box. And because I connected the warning lights directly to a 12v source, the module generated the "short to positive" error.
    Cutting the supply to the warning lights got everything working as it should with no error messages.
    Tomorrow I'll go out for a drive and see if I'm going to need re-calibration of the radar modules but since they came off a 2015 SQ5 like mine I'm hoping they'll work straight out of the box.
    Thanks everyone for sticking with me on this long saga and for your help and interest, it was much appreciated.
    Russ

  9. Likes downtime, andyhud, myounus liked this post
  10. #79
    Verified VCDS User
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    637
    Post Thanks / Like
    Good that the problem was found and resolved.

    It's not admitting defeat what you showed, it's showing strength when you're able to admit that you cannot fix this. And sometimes it's a good thing to have a second pair of eyes take a look on what you've done. You easily get "blind" for your own work and overlook something

  11. Likes Uwe, myounus liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •